How Do People Find My Blog? By Typing Weird Things Into Search Engines!

My favorite, favorite, favorite part of WordPress is the ‘Site Stats’ page.

It shows how many views my blog gets each day, or week, or month. As I write this, my blog has had exactly 1,275 views all-time, and 9 views today. I like to look at the Stats graph and when I’ve been getting 30 views a day and then it drops to 2 views per day, I say, “Oh no!” In a Neville voice, by the way.

But my favorite part of Site Stats isn’t the graph. It’s the Search Engine Terms section. I love reading the wacky search terms people have entered to find my blog (or maybe they weren’t looking for it, maybe they just stumbled upon it).

Some of the terms are what you’d expect:

musings from neville’s navel (8 views)

neville’s navel (11 views)

discoveries unlimited (5 views)

Quite a lot are about Wendy B. Lawrence:

capt. wendy lawrence

captian wendy lawrence [They should have searched ‘how to spell’.]

capt. wendy b. lawrence

im a little bit envious

does wendy lawrence do autographs [Well, I have her autograph. :)]

Because so many of my NaBloPoMo posts were about the Harry Potter series, a lot of the search terms are HP-related:

drawings in harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban chapter

harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban chapter art

harry potter gringotts wizarding bank sign

joanne k. rowling orden de phoenix [En espanol!]

"harry potter hallows art"

"harry potter hallows art"

"bellatrix lestrange the hunt begins"

"bellatrix lestrange the hunt begins"

 
 

For some reason, lots of people search ‘captain underpants’ and related terms:

super diaper baby 2 captain underpants

the adventures of captain underpants

And then, finally, there’s the ones I just don’t get:

sentences of navel

nevil travels

aluminum foil boats popsicles sticks duct tape [We made boats with these materials at a DU event, but I didn’t tag my post with these terms.]

harry potter dumbledore’s office door [Never mentioned it.]

dunk a nun pierogi fest

müzik neval nevil nevil neval [?]

dinosaur eating trees

france stinky cheese

navel of harry potter [?]

But this is my favorite one:

cool blogs

Yay!

Oh, look, people have searched ‘captain underpants books’ and ‘the adventures of captain underpants’ today! The other two terms are HP-related. Apparently my blog is for Harry Potter-loving people who also like potty humor. 🙂

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Harry Potter, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Do People Find My Blog? By Typing Weird Things Into Search Engines!

  1. Mom says:

    You make me laugh! 🙂

  2. avi says:

    haha. so funny. i do the same thing on my blogger blog. it even tells me what countries the people are in.

  3. Pingback: Some People Have Too Much Time On Their Hands | Musings from Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

