The 30-Day Blogging Challenge, Day 29: Hopes, Dreams, And Plans I Have For The Next 365 Days

  • Day 29: Hopes, dreams, and plans you have for the next 365 days.

I have many hopes, dreams, and plans. I’m very ambitious, though I sometimes don’t accomplish everything I want to. My ambition and smarts are the reasons I’m cursing what House I got on Pottermore (!)… or rather, what House I didn’t get. ūüė¶

Nevillegirl’s Hopes, Dreams, And Plans For April 15, 2012 – April 14, 2013

Hopes

  • Learn how to drive. And hopefully not be an idiot and crash into stuff.
  • Get rid of my fear of heights. Hey, we’re going to New York City¬†in August –¬†lots of tall buildings there for me to practice with!
  • Hit 25,000 views on this blog. (As of right now, I have 12,651.)
  • Do another NaBloPoMo. However, if I don’t, that’s OK too. My NaNo/Camp NaNo/Screnzy writing is more important to me.
  • Read 350+ books. This shouldn’t be that hard.
  • Find some sort of nerdy competition to take part in, since I’m too old to do the Scripps Spelling Bee. (NaNo and all the related writing challenges don’t count, because you aren’t really competing against other people – you’re challenging yourself.
  • Take a World Religions/Comparative Religion class, because it interests me.
  • Improve my photography. Especially my portraits of people.

Dreams

  • Be 5’8″. However, since I am only 5’2″ and haven’t grown since I was 11, this seems¬†highly unlikely.
  • World peace. I’m not sure that this is something I can achieve, but it would be awesome whether I did or not. Why can’t people just get along?!
  • Be¬†a member of¬†the Order of the Phoenix/Death Eaters. However, this would mean I’d have to make the Harry Potter world be real. As you can see, I’m not picky: I’d fight for good or evil. Just let me meet some wizards!
  • Visit the UK. Or Australia. Or Spain. Or Greece. Or Italy.
  • Have my own VW bug (bright blue, of course). Wouldn’t it be great if my liscense plate said NERDY or LUPIN or BOOKS?
  • Become a ninja.
  • Become a superhero (in case the ninja thing doesn’t work out).
  • Make several Horcruxes.
  • Become a famous actress, author, or chef.
  • Learn how to turn into a cat. (Then I could hang out with Professor McGonagall…)
  • Own my own castle.
  • Become invisible for a day and scare people by creeping up behind them and grabbing them.
  • Be a Muppet. Or a Muppeteer.
  • Become fluent in 25 languages.
  • Buy a broomstick at Quality Quidditch Supplies and fly to all those places I said earlier that I want to visit.
  • Have an award named after me. Alternately, win a Nobel Prize, a Newbery medal, and/or a Caldecott award.

Plans

  • Take at least one and possibly two classes at PNC (the local college). I want to take a Spanish class, preferably with lots of speaking practice, so I could maybe do an exchange program to Spain. Maybe I could even visit my friend Ainhoa! I’d also like to take a writing class. Mom thought college writing might be too hard for me as a sophomore, but the admissions person said that¬†my 730 score on the reading portion of the SAT was amazing, so maybe I can do college writing.
  • Run a mile. I don’t want to do any races, like 5Ks, but I’d like to be able to run a mile. I’m good at sprinting short distances, but I’m terrible at longer distances.
  • Hit a home run in softball.
  • Complete Screnzy 2012.
  • Get all 12 of my 4-H projects done by the end of May, so I can do Camp NaNoWriMo in June. (Are you OK there, Mom? I thought I saw you just pass out at the thought of me actually working on them and not procrastinating!)
  • Complete Camp NaNo in June. I want to do a 50,000-word novel, and I already have my idea.
  • Complete Camp NaNo in August. Again, a 50,000-word novel. This will be the sequel to my novel from June.
  • Win Grand Champion in one of my 4-H projects and/or have a project be exhibited at State Fair.
  • Complete NaNoWrimo in November. This novel (50,000 words) will be the last book in my trilogy that I’ll start in June.
  • Complete Screnzy 2013.
  • Take the PSAT.
  • Read The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Actually, this is the only thing on here that I want to complete earlier than April 14, 2013. I want to finish these 4 books by December 31 (this makes me actually get around to reading them earlier). The Hobbit movie is out in December; it would be fun to go see it then and actually understand what is going on. I want to read these books because I’ve tried to many times before and have always given up.
  • Have some of my writing published again. (I don’t mean just publishing my NaNovel through CreateSpace.) Actually, I’ve had some of my writing published before, in Secular Homeschooling Magazine, but I want some published elsewhere too. (And, sadly, SHM is no longer being published.)
  • Write to more authors. On my list: Kirsten Miller, Suzanne Collins, Linda Newbery, J.K. Rowling (a girl can dream, can’t she?), and Eoin Colfer.
  • Do some acting. I really, really want to act, but I haven’t at all yet. Maybe I could be in a play, or do that College Improv thing at PNC.
  • Take an AP class. If I don’t do a college writing class, I want to take an AP English class/exam. If I do, then I’d still like to try another class (maybe history or science).
  • Learn how to play some more stuff on the piano: I’m thinking Beethoven, Mozart, or pieces from the¬†Harry Potter movies.
  • Become President of my 4-H club. I already put my name down on the list to run for that office!
  • Do the library’s summer reading/winter reading programs.
  • Job shadow someone. I haven’t decided yet if I want to job shadow a chef or someone else.
  • Get a part-time job. Preferably at a restaurant.

Now let’s see if the Slytherin-at-heart can get everything accomplished in time!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in 30-Day Blogging Challenge, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 30-Day Blogging Challenge, Day 29: Hopes, Dreams, And Plans I Have For The Next 365 Days

  1. *stares* Merlin’s pants, your list is huge… I bet if the Sorting Hat read this, it’d transfer you to Slytherin straightaway. xD

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

