Camp NaNoWriMo August 2012: How To Make Lots Of Progress On Your Novel

Are you having trouble meeting your daily wordcount goal? Do you never have enough time to write? Never fear! These tips have been proven to work by yours truely.

  • Dedicate your novel to me.
  • Plan out your novel ahead of time, even if all you do is jot down a few notes. Don’t start your month of writing without something in mind.
  • Ask someone to poke you/punch you/kick you/tickle you to death/hit you over the head with pillows/throw bananas at you/threaten you with all of the above if you haven’t met your goal for the day.
  • Have no more than 2 Internet tabs open. Maybe YouTube and the Camp NaNoWriMo site, so you can update your wordcount. If you open 11 tabs, you probably won’t be able to resist checking them, unless you are Supergirl/Superman.
  • Wear weird socks. This has been proven to increase your writing output by up to 85% if the socks are mismatched as well. The author of this post has not yet done enough research to explain why this is so.
  • Try to get as many of your Big, Important Things Which Must Be Done (in my case for June, completing my 4-H projects) before your month of noveling starts. This way, you can devote yourself to noveling (and eating, sleeping, going to the bathroom, etc. I’m not saying to ignore those things in favor of typing all day!), without worrying and yelling things like, “AUUUGGGHH! I SHOULD’VE WORKED ON MY 4-H PROJECTS BEFORE I STARTED THIS ‘CAUSE I HAVE 21 OF THEM AND THE DEADLINE IS IN THREE DAYS AND AUGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!”
  • While writing, if someone comes near you and you sense that they are about to ask you to do something for them, loudly exclaim, “Dang it! I forgot to buy platypus food again!” or something similarly insane. This will cause the other person to believe you are crazy and they will quickly walk away, not wanting to spend any more time with you. So you can continue your writing, undisturbed.
  • When you finish writing for the day, always stop in the middle of a sentence. I learned about this from reading an interview with Norton Juster, the author of The Phantom Tollbooth. It really does work. You can jump right in and you’re not sitting in front of the screen for 15 minutes while you try to think of something to write.
  • Don’t forget to make sound effects as you write. “AUGH!” “OH NOOOO!” “GADZOOKS!” “BOOM!” “SPLAT! …urgh.” “GRR!” It’s very fun; it gets you into the spirit of your story; it makes people leave you alone.
  • Don’t worry if you need a name for a character and you don’t really have the time to find a good one. You can always call him Bob for 50,000 words and then change him to Maurice Edgar de Hippopotamus-Fletcher during editing.
  • Eat happy food to make you feel happy about your novel, even when you’re behind by 25,000 words. The happiest foods are cupcakes, broccoli, baloney, pickles, cherry tomatoes, and cheese. These foods are either really yummy or they’re yummy and have happy names.
  • Face it – your novel is going to go off on weird tangents due to your lack of sleep and your desire to hit 50,000 words.
  • Throw stuff at anything that distracts you. Friends, family, that adorable bird sitting on the windowsill and chirping loudly, the TV, whatever. The bigger/harder/pointier the object, the better. It gets rid of your frustration.
  • Figure out when you can write. You’ll probably be busier on some days than on others, so write more on the days when you’re not as busy. Hey, I was just on a week-long vacation and I’m not behind on my wordcount! I wrote plenty ahead of time.
  • Create a shrine to your favorite author and pray at it. Be sure to throw in tons of compliments about their writing and general awesomeness.
  • I know this list is about what to do to write (“But half the suggestions are ridiculous!” “Shut up!” I could’ve been noveling right now, but I gave you some advice instead!), but remember to take a break from writing. Go for a walk, read a picture book, play with your cat/dog/bird/armadillo/chinchilla/gecko, spin around in circles until you get dizzy and fall over, or whatever. Just relax. You can’t make any progress if you’re burned out. And you’ll probably finish your novel. If not, the world won’t end. Instead, you will be punished by being crushed by a gigantic falling bookcase while your favorite author laughs in the background. Just kidding!

Now. Get to work, already! Write!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Camp NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Camp NaNoWriMo August 2012: How To Make Lots Of Progress On Your Novel

  1. Are you having trouble meeting your daily wordcount goal? Do you never have enough time to write? STOP WRITING BLOG POSTS! And copying Liam’s lists of tips never helps either, because only he can do those.
    You mentioned only having two tabs open for the internet. I deleted my internet icon from my desktop, so now I have to search all of my files to even find the darn thing. And if I start doing that before I reach the goal, I have enough time to talk myself out of it and get back to writing.
    Personally I can’t stop in the middle of a sentence, only at the end of a scene. That tip never worked for me when I heard it first, and it doesn’t now. So yah boo sucks to your tips.
    Now that you’re ahead of the game, are you just going to lie down and procrastinate until you’re behind again?

  2. thewhisperingbook says:

    *Hysterical laughter*

    I’m not taking part in the NaniWriMo this year so I’m not so stressed XD. I’ve also finished my novel, so I’m not so stressed about that either XD

    But this post is a keeper. 😀

    WEIRD SOCKS RULE!

  3. thewhisperingbook says:

    *NaNoWriMo. Oh god. I hate typos!

  4. rawrrmusic says:

    Awesome tips!! I really like the one about leaving off in the middle of a sentence, I think I’ll try it out today. I can totally imagine that working for me ha ha

  5. lynxchild says:

    These are some great tips! And funny ^^

    Also, that Liam guy is pretty hilarious. But for different reasons.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

