Don’t Worry, Be Happy

“Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”

– Matthew 6:34, King James Bible (Cambridge Edition)

I’m an atheist. I don’t believe in any kind of divine being, for a variety of reasons.

So why am I writing about a Bible verse?

Because it helps me out.

I suppose you could say that my life is much less stressful than that of a typical teenager. One of the reasons I don’t want to go to high school is that I think there’s so many stupid things to stress over. Depending on your situation, you might have to worry about being late for class, bullying, not being able to find your stuff in time for class, whether you should have a boyfriend/girlfriend just to stop people from asking when you’re ever going to get one, whether the person you want to ask out to prom is going to say “With you? Ew, no!”, and a whole bunch of other things.

I don’t have to worry about any of that. But there are still plenty of stressful things in my life: schoolwork, various writing challenges that I bring entirely on myself, procrastination, too many 4-H projects, feeling down in the dumps, and wondering if my future will be good.

I don’t remember how I found that quote from the Bible. It was probably from some other book that I’ve read. But when I’m having a tough day, I think of it. I can’t think of any other quote that is as true.

Because tomorrow really doesn’t matter. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t plan for the future, but at some point, you just have to stop worrying about it. Do your best today. If you try your best today, chances are you won’t even have as much trouble tomorrow. If you’re going to worry about something, worry about the present. There is no point in stressing over what the next day will bring, because you know what? You can’t hurry up time and make tomorrow arrive more quickly so that you can get something over with. Just relax and enjoy today – in all likelihood, everything will work itself out by tomorrow and if it doesn’t, then you can worry about it then. When I’m worried about how I will handle the next few days or weeks or months or even years, I just remind myself not to worry about tomorrow, for “Tomorrow will take care of itself.”

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t Worry, Be Happy

  1. Deep. I like it, and it really does seem like something to keep in mind. I’ll remember that.

  2. Mom says:

    On your list of what you *could* worry about in high school, you forgot “Not being able to open my locker.”

  3. kahoblossom says:

    This was a nice post to read, and encouraging too. I’m an atheist as well, although I admit the bible (and other religious books) has some good quotes in it. As a fellow homeschooler, I’d say that working at home doesn’t make life much less stressful. Then again, I guess it just depends on what you find stressful personally. Anyway, I liked how you included Bob Marley in here 🙂

  4. Pingback: Third Time’s A Charm | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

