Dear Mr. President

Dear Mr. Barack Hussein Obama, forty-fourth President of the United States,

Congratulations. I have plenty that I want to say to you, but mostly I want to congratulate you. Please forgive me if I fall asleep partway through this letter or flail about like the hyper teenage girl I am.

You see, when I was eight years old I went with my parents when they voted in the 2004 election. I learned that one didn’t have to hold some official office to work at the polls – any citizen could help out on Election Day. I was disappointed that one has to be at least sixteen to do that, however. Remember, I was eight then – I would have to wait another eight years, as long as I’d been alive. That’s pretty much unbearable for an eight-year-old. But this year I was just barely old enough, so I signed up to be a poll clerk for the Democrats in my precinct. I was so excited – finally, I could help! Working at the polls doesn’t involve campaigning for any candidate but I loved knowing that I was still working for democracy by helping people to vote.

So I woke up at four in the morning in order to be at the polls by five. I didn’t leave until seven. At times I thought the day would never end. It seems like sitting all day would be easy and relaxing, but it’s not. It got a bit annoying because I wanted to get up and walk around instead of checking off voters’ names from a list. But did I enjoy Election Day? Absolutely. It was very cool to participate in something so big, a national election. When I got home I was tired but I ended up watching the news with my parents. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep anyway because I would be anxious about the results. I cheered for the candidates in several smaller races, but my mind was mostly on the presidential election.

At first, Romney had a slight lead. Then I watched as you won battleground state after battleground state. When you won Ohio, my dad said, “It’s all over. That’s it.” and went to bed shortly afterwards because he knew the election was essentially decided. I knew that too but as the paranoid person that I am, I wanted to make sure of that. I stayed up until nearly one in the morning. Mitt Romney waited a long time before giving his concession speech and I wished that things would speed up. Your speech was good and it was wonderful to hear how enthusiastic the audience was. However, at that point I’d been awake for twenty-one hours. I’m sure that as President you’ve had responsibilities and problems that kept you awake for much longer, but partially because I’m not the President, I don’t often stay up so late. I was tired. I shut off the television because I thought your speech would go on for at least another fifteen minutes. I watched the rest of your speech today and laughed to find that your speech ended three minutes after I shut off the television.Your words make so much more sense when one is not sleep-deprived, by the way.

And that’s why I might fall asleep partway through this letter which, by the way, is first being posted on my blog and then printed out to mail to you.

And why would I act like a hyper teenage girl? Because I am ridiculously happy that you were reelected. I’m a happy person; it doesn’t take much to make me happy. Fuzzy blankets, cute kittens, and books make me happy. However, you are far more awesome than fuzzy blankets, cute kittens, or even books. I can’t even describe how happy I am; I’ve been walking on air all day. You’re on my chest right now – sorry, did that sound weird? What I meant is that to celebrate your victory, I wore my Obama T-shirt.

My dad was right – the best part of your speech last night was the ending. Not because you stopped speaking, though. Ha ha. No, it was amazing because of the message you said: we need to work together. The main reason that I was worried about a possible Romney/Ryan victory is that I don’t think that’s what they stand for. We need to cooperate; we need to be accepting of each other; we need to realize that America is a country for all people. We need to look past what makes us different. Some kids have told me, “The President’s middle name is Hussein. He’s a terrorist.” That’s one of the stupidest things I have ever heard. Just because my middle name is Joy doesn’t mean that I’m always a bundle of it. We need to quit assuming the worst of people and realize that our citizens don’t hate the country. We may have different ideas about how our problems should be solved, but we all want the best for this country.

That’s why I wanted you to be reelected. In 2008 I supported you mainly because my parents supported you; this time I supported you because I was becoming more interested in politics and in my future. As a young woman, I want a president who cares about women and the young. I want a president who will solve our problems relating to finance and war. I want a president who knows that although we may be different, we are all the same deep down and no one is better than anyone else. And you are that president.

Your 2008 campaign slogan was, “Yes we can.” Afterwards, I saw signs that said, “Yes we did.” Now it is, “Yes we did – a second time.” So again, congratulations. I wish you and your family the best of luck in your next term!

Sincerely,

nevillegirl

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dear Mr. President

  1. Hey there 🙂
    I’ve been blog-wandering and found yours, and I can’t help but comment on this. Obama for the win! I love finding young people who care about the future of their country! I wish I could’ve gone to volunteer like you did, but unfortunately I’m not American xD Despite that, I watched his speech yesterday too, and it moved me a lot as a person.
    Really, I just wanted to say yay for Obama 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! I just think that since I’ll be an adult in a little under two years, this is stuff that I need to understand and pay attention to.

      The ending was so good… he was really on a roll and the audience never stopped applauding during the last few minutes.

      • That’s true. I’m eighteen in a couple of months, and what with the Australian Prime Minister election next year I’ve suddenly found myself very much interested in all things politics.
        The ending was so good! So climatic, and I had to stop myself from clapping my hands off in front of the TV. That man has a gift with orating, I swear 🙂

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    I thought this was awesome! 😀 My brother and I wrote a letter to Obama about a week ago and we received letters back from him yesterday. XD He he. Perfect timing. 😉 Of course it was a letter that everyone got back, but still. It was autographed and I got an epic picture of him along with the letter! 😀 XD

  3. Just think. In the next presidential Election you’ll be able TO vote yourself! :}

    • nevillegirl says:

      OH, THE DECISIONS. xD

      I would really love to attend college abroad or live abroad, which sort of means I couldn’t vote. I suppose I’d just vote in that country. Or maybe I’ll go to college here… that seems most likely.

  4. Erin says:

    Hey there! Just thought I’d let you know that even though my beliefs are exactly the opposite as yours, I think it’s cool that you’re doing this. I like to see teens get involved in stuff like this even if we don’t all share the same political views. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! Although sometimes other teens’ ideas leave me shaking my head, it’s nice to see that there are other kids who care about this stuff. I get frustrated by the number of people who just don’t care. I mean, less than half the population votes…

      • Erin says:

        Exactly! I mean, people who don’t vote complain that the people they wanted in office weren’t elected, and you’re thinking to yourself, “Hello! You didn’t even vote, so you have no right to be complaining about that stuff!” It makes absolutely no sense to me…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

