NaNoWriMo 2012: My Soundtrack

I planned to write about my book covers (yes, I’ll have more than one) today, but it turns out that not all of them are finished yet. That’s OK. It was just a little weird because I thought I was going to write about covers and then realized that they’re not all finished. I was going to write about my noveling soundtrack anyway, so I might as well do it today. By the way, why do I call it a soundtrack and not a playlist? Because I don’t pick this stuff ahead of time. Some people create specific playlists, while I just listen to whatever inspires me, usually over and over until I cannot take it anymore. I suppose that soundtracks are chosen beforehand too, but playlist just makes me think that I’m making a list of what I can and can’t listen to.

I listened to a weird mix of music this month. I mean, I always do. Not just during writing months, but in general. As I wrote this, I listened to Taylor Swift and then Queen. Totally normal, huh? Anyway, this list is roughly organized by chronological order. The stuff at the end is what I listened to towards the end of NaNoWriMo, and so on.

We Can Make The World Stop– The Glitch Mob

I’ve mentioned my younger (yet taller) brother, Quentin, a couple times on this blog – this is the sort of music he listens to. I dislike most of it (he posts about it on his blog), but this was in a Hunger Games tribute video. Sorry for the pun. It really was about the tributes. Anyway, I liked the song and eventually figured out that it was the kind of stuff that Quentin likes. It has a cool melody, so I don’t mind how electronic it is.

Lullaby – The Cure

This is my favorite song by The Cure. I don’t pay too much attention to the lyrics because what I like is the music. It’s so pretty yet creepy. It fits the lyrics, really.

Just What I Needed – The Cars

This is my favorite song by The Cars; I love the beat and the sounds. It’s really kind of a stupid, shallow song, but I don’t care. I like it anyway.

More Than This – One Direction

Oh, shut up. Yes, I listen to One Direction, OK? I don’t like all of their stuff and to be honest, I can’t even name all the band members and I can only pick out Niall from a photo; I get the other ones confused. This is my favorite song by the band. It’s calmer than most of their other songs and I like how it’s sad for a change. Most of their stuff is so peppy that it makes your ears start to bleed after a while. Also, Niall sings! He doesn’t get to sing that much in most of the other One Direction songs I like…

Abraham’s Daughter from The Hunger Games – Arcade Fire

This song plays during the credits of The Hunger Games film and is supposed to be a Biblical allegory for the events of the popular trilogy. I wasn’t a huge fan of the song at first, but it grew on me. I’m still a little confused about the allegory, but I love the music. The beat, in particular, just “sounds” right for the movie.

Skyfall from Skyfall – Adele

I haven’t seen the new James Bond movie, Skyfall, but I really want to because the theme song is so amazing. Admittedly, I’ve only seen like two of the many Bond films, but I think it sounds perfect for the series. I really think this is one of Adele’s most brilliant songs. The main reason that I checked it out was because it was hers, not because I’m some big Bond fan.

Your Song – covered by Ellie Goulding, originally by Elton John

I can’t pick which version I love the most; both are awesome. Goulding’s is more thoughtful and prettier, I think. This is what I listen to when I need something a little quieter and not quite as obnoxious as The Cars because let’s face it, The Cars get obnoxious after a while.

Main Theme from Sherlock – David Arnold and Michael Price

Never mind that I haven’t watched the television show that this comes from – I find awesome movie scores from films I haven’t even watched, so it makes sense that I listen to this. Sort of. It’s mysterious and slightly creepy. It’s the perfect thing to listen to while writing some scenes where I have characters sneaking around.

Flying Theme from How To Train Your Dragon – John Powell

I have found loads of excellent pieces from film scores over time, especially within the past year or so, but this has to be one of the best. It just sounds so epic. I’m jealous that a movie for little kids got such a great composer. The Flying Theme makes me want to jump on the back of a dragon and fly away to some land like Narnia or Middle-earth or Discworld.

Main Theme from the Lord of the Rings films – Howard Shore

Predictably, the newly-minted Lord of the Rings fan is listening to this music a lot, and not just because it fits with the fantasy theme of her NaNovel. It’s so peaceful. Calming. And yet infuriating, because it makes me think of elfy partying in Rivendell, Galadriel and Lothlรณrien, Aragorn fighting, Legolas prancing about (oops, I meant to say searching for the hobbits), and countless other things that I REALLY WANT TO EXPERIENCE BUT NEVER CAN. Wah! I think that’s the mark of a good author or filmmaker. They make you have a minor temper tantrum because try as you might, even if you squeeze your eyes tight shut and wish as hard as you can to make Elrond appear before you, it’s not going to work and so you have a sad.

Main Theme from The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Howard Shore

I found this by accident and was delighted to discover that this was the amazing music that I’d heard and loved from the trailer. It’s reminiscent of the trilogy’s theme and yet still its own thing, which is nice. I had no idea if the theme would just be recycled. Well, it kind of is because you can hear In Dreams and Concerning Hobbits, but there’s a lot of new stuff. I thought it was wonderful that the beginning has the same tune asย Misty Mountains Cold, which the dwarves sing. That part sounds epic, but my favorite part is from 5:07 to the end. It’s much quieter than the rest of the song, but it’s by far the prettiest – and saddest – part. I don’t know enough about the music (yet) to know if it’s a previous theme or possibly a variation on one, so I’m not sure during what scene(s) that part will play. A sad scene, presumably, but I can’t be any more sure than that.

Do you like any of these songs? What have you listened to during this month while writing?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2012: My Soundtrack

  1. Hera says:

    I never listen to music when I write, but you’ve inspired me to start! ๐Ÿ™‚ The only song I’ve listened to from your soundtrack is “Skyfall” and you’re right; it is awesome!

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    These songs are awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€ I have listened to a whole bunch of music this year. XD And some of them are on your list! Though I haven’t heard many of these songs, I recognize some. I LOVE The Cars! ๐Ÿ˜€ I also love Skyfall, which gave me chills and made me want to go see the James Bond movie (but my dad didn’t let me). Abraham’s Daughter is really good, too, but I prefer other songs on the soundtrack, but it is one of my favorites!

    Mostly, I’ve listened to a whole bunch of Taylor Swift (mostly songs from her album, Red) and The Hunger Games soundtrack (which is really just songs inspired by the movie, but a few were played during the credits). But I also listened to a bunch of The Civil Wars, which quickly became my new favorite band after hearing Safe and Sound and Kingdom Come. But when I put my whole iPod on shuffle, U2, Queen, and Paula Abdul came up a whole bunch.

    I hear all sorts of music around my house with our whole family having iPods and iPod speakers, so it really introduces me to a lot of cool music. Some of the stuff I hear these days (*COUGH* Gangnam Style) makes me want to cry. Nickie Minaj?!?! Really?!?! I saw her talk on a music awards show. She’s really whiny and tawks like a baby. Half of her songs are bleeped out on the radio. One of her songs came up on my dad’s Pandora during vacation and within five seconds of the song everyone went, “WHOA! What just happened there?!?!” And Justin Bieber . . . He’s not even cute!!!! He’s a little cocky, if you ask me. I’ve seen him sing. Eh. He’s okay. But mostly all he can do is dance and grab the middle of his baggy pants.

    So, sorry for the long comment/rant/something else. Books and music. Two things that can get me talking for a LOOOONG time . . . ๐Ÿ˜‰ XD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay! *high-fives*

      Have you listened to The Hunger Games film score? I might’ve already asked you this, but it’s really good.

      We don’t have iPods, but we do have Pandora and we’ve found some pretty cool stuff on there. Haha, I like Gangnam Style just because it’s SO STUPID. I haven’t heard any of Minaj’s songs, but I did listen to Justin Bieber. For about five seconds. xD Your description of his dancing made me laugh!

      Don’t worry – that’s mostly what I write about on my blog! That, and writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • themagicviolinist says:

        No, I haven’t. I mean, I HAVE when I watched the movie, but I was mostly focusing on the movie, not the music, then. XD I should though. People say it’s really good.

        Oh, iPods are SOOOOO nice. SOOOO totally worth it. If you get one, and it’s an iPod touch, let me know if you have iMessage so we can text. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        LOL! XD Yeah, I know some people like that who love it because it’s stupid. I can’t take more than five seconds of Bieber, either. XP I really just don’t see what people see in him.

        Yay! I love your blog! ๐Ÿ˜€

        • nevillegirl says:

          Yes, you should! *pokes* xD This is the full score, if you’re interested: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvIl1gWLk5Q Rue’s Farewell has to be the saddest song ever…

          Haha, I doubt I’ll ever get one because A) I usually spend my money on books/ask for books as presents and B) my parents aren’t keen on my having a cell phone yet and anything that can text is probably too like a cell phone for them to agree…

          Yeah, I don’t know, either. He’s not particularly cute, just average-looking, and he has no talent.

  3. I’ve definitely been listening to Skyfall lately. Great song, and the perfect Bond theme. I also like the Lord of the Rings music a lot. My favorite from LotR is Rohan Fanfare, even though it’s not really a whole piece of music: Rohan. The basic melody is simple, but I find it’s powerful and fits perfectly.

    A little sampling of some other pieces I’ve been listening to lately: Those Eyes
    Remember Me
    Starvation
    United We Stand
    Chevaliers de Sangreal
    A Watchful Guardian
    Overpowering epicness: Archangel ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Music and Life « My Present Self

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

