NaNoWriMo 2012: Covering Up

In an earlier post I wrote that I think good titles are very important. I love reading and writing words, so I pay attention to titles. Titles can’t be too long or they won’t fit on the cover, so a good title manages to be intriguing and informative yet short.

But not everyone pays as much attention to words as I do. Lots of people care more about the picture(s) on the cover. Even I notice covers; I wouldn’t have found one of my all-time favorite books, All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen, if I hadn’t been intrigued by the cover. (I couldn’t tell if it showed a boy or a girl, but I was pretty sure it was a boy. Turns out it was a girl. Pretending to be a boy. Got that?) I even wrote a whole post about covers.

I didn’t bother to make or ask anyone to make a cover for my Screnzy 2012 script or the novel that I wrote during the two sessions of Camp NaNoWriMo 2012. There wasn’t any particular reason for that; I just sort of forgot. However, I wanted a cover forΒ The Strange Ones, which I have renamed The Thing About Magic. I originally changed the title to The Day The World Might Have Ended, but I think this third title fits my story better. Thanks to everyone who

I’ve gotten fairly good at editing images so I made a few of my own covers. However, there are also sections on both the adult site and the YWP where you can request images (mostly covers, but sometimes character drawings). It’s pretty simple; you just fill out a form that describes what you want your cover to look like. I asked a few NaNoers whom I “know” through blogging. However, in the end I decided to feature just one cover because it was so wonderful.

I actually made several covers, but this is the best one. Yes, I know that it says The Strange Ones. I’m an idiot; I deleted the original picture from My Pictures and later, in an attempt to get more memory so that I could save my progress to my NaNovel, I deleted the original from my computer. It turned out that I couldn’t find the original picture online, either. Argh! Anyway, I’m still looking for it. The updated version will be exactly the same save for a different title. I used PicMonkey to make all the covers because Microsoft Paint is stupid on my computer and won’t always let me save images. I don’t want this to sound like a plug for the website, but it’s free, doesn’t require an account, doesn’t involve downloading anything, and has some really cool fonts and effects. The lightning in/on the globe reminds me of magic, and I really like the whole concept of someone having the whole world at his fingertips – literally.

This cover was made by the amazing Hannah Rachel, who writes at Nearly Published and Tales of an Unpublished Writer in addition to posting artwork at Chocolate Milk and Penny Loafers. She actually made several covers for me and they were all nice, but this one was absolutely gorgeous. I really think it’s professional quality and when I publish my novel on CreateSpace again, I’m definitely using this cover. I love the background that looks watercolors or maybe a painting that was rained on. I love the contrast of the girl’s bright red shoes against all the greens, blues, and grays. I love how the umbrella blocks all the watercolor-stuff and shows the silhouette of the girl’s body. I think it’ll work well whether this novel ends up as a parody with fantasy or a fantasy with parody. I adore this cover. Thank you, Hannah Rachel! You’re awesome! If anyone needs a cover made, you should ask her.

Do you make or have others make covers for your books? Which of my covers do you like the best and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2012: Covering Up

  1. Aw, thank you! It was actually really fun making the covers, so I guess that it’s a win-win. πŸ˜€ I hope your November has gone smoothly thus far, and that you’re winning NaNo and everything. πŸ™‚

    (p.s. PicMonkey is really cool, and I like some of their fonts.)

  2. I requested a cover for my naNovel ;ast year, but what I got wasn’t as nice (okay I didn’t like it as much) as the one I made using ClipArt in Word – yup, that’s right, beign the word power user I am, I made the cover in word. *grins* It just worked out that way.

    I did a cover for this years naNovel as well, but didn’t request one. it’s strangly appropriate, even if it’s in brighter colors than the novel’s actual tone, he he. I think it’s just grown on me.

    I did actually pay a buddng artist from Protagonize to make cover art for my Phoenix Trilogy. he got my main character Sarah, spot on. her male counter part (Hason, formerly known as Jason) took one revision. HAven’t be able to put a title on it in a satisfactory manner yet though *sigh*

    As to my opinion on your covers – I think I like the lighting globe best, move it down a little so you have more room for your title… Still the other one is very cool, and I do like the picture. I guess I’d have to read the book to see if it fits though. :}

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes, some of the covers I got back were nice, but just not really what I had in mind. I guess that’s what I get for being a little vague. I think it’s more interesting when I just say, “Can my cover have something magical on the front?” because it’s neat to see what people come up with. Of course, sometimes I get something that’s not what I intended.

      Actually, I don’t know how to move the globe down. I just stuck the title on an image. πŸ™‚

  3. Tanya Cienfuegos says:

    those are gorgeous covers!

  4. The cover for The Thing About Magic is absolutely fantastic. I would read the book just for the cover. Congrats on all the NaNoWriMo (did I miss one?) – anyway – glad to see your accomplishments getting all polished up!

  5. Mary says:

    That is one heck of a gorgeous cover πŸ˜€ I really love how the writing looks sort of like typewriter ink that’s bled a little. Although everything else is completely beautiful, too. My younger sister has done my book cover for me, as I have zero talent in this area

  6. M.K. says:

    I’d like to talk to you about the artwork in the cover of The Thing About Magic. Could you please send me an email. Thanks!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

