Three New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year!

I made some New Year’s resolutions.

1. Work up to a 5K in running. Most of my PE for homeschooling this year has been running. I’ve gotten much better as time goes on but I want to run in a 5K (3.1 miles) sometime this year, preferably by the summer because I don’t like running when it’s cold. I don’t want to run in a race because I like running with other people or because I could actually place (I don’t expect to), but because I want to prove to myself that I can do it. Hopefully without having to walk part of the way.

2. Stop biting my fingernails. This has been one of my resolutions for several years in a row. So why will this time work when the others didn’t? Well, I really have no idea… but I’m determined to stop biting my nails! It’s not sanitary so I really need to stop. It’s kind of a nervous habit for me but I also do it when I’m just thinking or bored. Most of the time, I don’t even realize I’m doing it. I have two plans to help me stop. The first is to cut my nails more often so that I don’t really have enough nail to bite. (I don’t mind this because I like my nails short anyway.) The second is something that I read in some book: carry something small in your pocket like a marble so you mess with that and have something else to do with your hands.

3. Read at least one Stephen King book, even if it scares me. Weirdly and/or foolishly, most of the things that scare me are fictional. Only a few real things scare me, but give me a scary book and I’ll up all night wondering if monsters are real. I’m fine with the giant spiders, werewolves, and long-haired singing men in tights, but anything gory freaks me out. Nevertheless, I want to read a King book all the way through so I can form my own opinion on his writing. I’ve never finished any of his books because I thought they were too creepy, but I want to so I know if they’re as good as my mom says they are. If you’ve read any King (or King writing as Richard Bachman) books, which one would you recommend? If you’re my mommy and you’re reading this I don’t mind if you recommend something too. Suggest anything besides The Stand! I tried it a few years ago and it was a thousand pages of people with pus spewing out of their heads – not really to my tastes.

What are your New Year’s resolutions?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Three New Year’s Resolutions

  1. You know, biting your nails means that you’re an alien correspondent, sending coded messages unconsciously through the connection of your teeth and fingernails. It’s true.

  2. Mom says:

    Hmmm….Stephen King….”Carrie” is good, as is “It” and…oh, geez, just let me see which ones I have!

  3. As a huge Stephen King fan, I’d reccomend, “The Shining,” or “Carrie.” If you don’t like scary books, though, you could read “11/22/63,” which is great if the JFK assassination interests you. Then there’s the Running Man (a Bachman book, it’s sort of like The Hunger Games’ uncle) and The Green Mile, which I think is his best book ever.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’d kind of rather read one of his scary books because those are the ones my mom says are really good, and what most people think of when they think of King.

      I might try The Green Mile…

  4. hcfbutton says:

    Kudos on the running, keep us posted on how it goes. I know what you mean about the nail biting. I have this product which is a gel you brush on your nails to make them stronger (not a polish – you massage it into your nails and cuticles). I find that if I remember to do that when I feel the urge to bite, it changes my habits and strengthens them. Also, its crazy long and pretty darn creepy, but my fave SK book is the Stand. I read it when SARS broke out in Toronto and it scared the crap out of me. But he deals with apocalypse pretty well. My friend recommended the Dark Tower series, he loves SK and its his favorite, so that’s my next to tackle.

  5. Pingback: “Nothing changes on New Years Day” « An MK's Meandering Mind…

  6. Leinad says:

    I like running too; 5 k is a nice distance.

    Also, I was planning to insert that U2 song into my New Year’s post, but before I got around to it I read your post which had it in! Something of a coincidence.

  7. Mom says:

    Green Mile is good too. Movie made me cry also, so book would probably make YOU cry.

  8. Miriam Joy says:

    Read Misery. I’ve read about three Stephen King books but that was the only one I liked. Both times I read it, I stayed up until one in the morning just to find out if the guy lived. Both times. Also, he’s a writer. It’s great. There are typewriters. I spent a considerable period of time flinching when I imagined what he was feeling. I use it as inspiration for how to torture my characters. You know, all that.
    My New Year’s resolution is not to chicken out of taking steps towards publishing, but given that that’s happening imminently (just got an email asking for bios and photos) I’m now FREAKING OUT.

  9. The only Stephen King book I’ve ever read is Eyes of the Dragon. It’s not creepy—in fact, my dad read it to me and my siblings, and my little sister is only seven.

  10. Emily :D says:

    About nail biting: I used to bite my nails too. Apply clear polish to all of your nails and the horrible taste will make you stop. If that doesn’t work, tell your family you are resolving not to bite your nails. When they see you biting your nails, they get permission to slap you. xD

  11. I’m very active naturally with my home school group since we go to the park in the summer and the YMCA during the other seasons, but I pretty much stink at running for long periods of time. Short sprints that are less than a minute? Just try and catch me. Running for longer than a minute? I’m a sloth.

    OMG not biting my nails is also one of my resolutions! I’m not doing as well as I would like, but It’s progress. I have to keep them short or else they get in the way of my typing, violin, and piano but they’ve never gotten too out of control because I bite them. ;P I’ve learned that silly putty is a good way to stop myself from biting my nails when I’m reading or watching TV (because I use my feet to keep my book flat, is that weird?) and trying to accomplish one side of a Rubik’s cube is also helpful. I’ve gotten really good at it, too! 😀

    I’ve also learned that reading books about dogs is not a good thing to do before bed, because the dog always ends up dead and I cry. I think about things WAY too much before bed, too, so then dog books makes me think about MY dog and I cry some more and then my pillow is drenched and I can’t sleep and the next day I’m a zombie.

    Sorry for the long comment. I talk way too much. XD

  12. Pingback: Review: Misery | Musings From Neville's Navel

  13. Pingback: Two Thousand And Thirteen In Review | Musings From Neville's Navel

  14. Pingback: All Is Quiet On New Year’s Day | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

