A B See Photo Challenge: B Is For Black And White

camera

You may remember that back in October I said I was going to do the A B See Photo Challenge to keep up on my photography assignments for school. It hasn’t, um, worked out well so far but I’m resuming it now! From now on there will probably be one of these per week.

My original idea for the letter B was ‘books’. But do you have any idea how hard it is to take five photos of books and have them all look different?! I quickly changed my mind and I’m cheating slightly. ‘Black and white’ is the easiest theme ever; I love taking that kind of photo.

DSCN2564

Subject of photo: Christmas ornament

Location of subject: Floor next to our Christmas tree

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I like the geometry of this photo – all the lines and angles are cool. I also like the distressed paint on the ornament.

DSCN2516

Subject of photo: A necklace of mine

Location of subject: On a book of Shakespeare’s plays

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

This is the only picture left over from my ‘B is for books’ idea. The page pictured is from A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The idea was that the text is Puck (a fairy) talking and the necklace has an image of a fairy… but a girl one, unfortunately. I still think this is kind of cool.

DSCN2550

Subject of photo: Teapot

Location of subject: Living room

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I tried to take this picture in color because I liked the blue of the teapot, but it wouldn’t turn out right so I tried black and white. I like the detail on the side of the teapot. The reason it’s on a blanket is that the background was distracting. It also adds some texture to the picture, some contrast to the smooth surfaces of the teapot.

DSCN2554

Subject of photo: Nutcracker

Location of subject: In our house somewhere

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I know this picture has a lot of white space. I still like it. Poor little Nutcracker looks lonely.

DSCN2425

Subject of photo: A rabbit

Location of subject: My friend’s backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up, animal portrait

Back in October (I know I’m behind on this photography thing!) we took care of my friend Alyssa’s pet rabbit, “Snickers”. I brought my camera with one day because I don’t usually get the opportunity to take pictures of animals other than cats and chickens. I think this photo looks very pretty and cute. Afterwards Snickers tried to run away and we ran madly around the backyard to get her/him back!

Which is your favorite photo?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: B Is For Black And White

  1. July says:

    I love the Nutcracker one! I personally think the white space added a nice touch……
    🙂 Love your photography!

  2. I envy you for your skill in photography. No matter how much I try it either comes out looking really blurry, really simple, or just plain bad. XD ;P Although I’m pretty good at getting some wicked cute pictures of my dog Scout. 😉 😀

    I love the one with Midsummer’s Night Dream and the necklace. Very mystical and magical. (Please excuse my alliteration. I do that a lot). Snickers is so cute, too, though! 😀

  3. I’m wavering between the Ornament and Puck. Even if it is a girl fairy in the necklace, it’s quite poetic. But the Ornament has something else it it’s hard lines, yet simple composition.

  4. Pingback: A B See Photo Challenge: M Is For Me | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

