A B See Photo Challenge: C Is For Circles And Curves

camera

Note to self: Don’t put off taking photos until the last minute, when you realize that you need five good photos. You see, it’s not as simple as just taking five pictures. You’ll need more because it takes a while to get a perfect shot.

Second note to self: Also, if you wait until the last minute you’ll probably end up taking photos of outdoor things when it’s freezing cold and you have to wear gloves. Gloves and photography do not mix. For example, your fingers are now big and bulky and instead of pressing the picture-taking-button, you accidentally press ‘Off’, thereby ruining your perfect picture.

DSCN2596

Subject of photo: Stone birdbath

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I just liked the angles and textures on this one.

DSCN2589

Subject of photo: Stack of wood

Location of subject: My backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

The only problem with this photo is that it doesn’t really have a distinct subject. Unless maybe it’s the big split log in the middle.

DSCN2608

Subject of photo: Log-candle-holder-thing that my dad made

Location of subject: Living room

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

I like how the knot in the wood looks like it has the hands of a clock.

DSCN2618

Subject of photo: Oranges in a basket

Location of subject: Kitchen

Techniques practiced: Black and white, still life, close-up

Let’s talk about oranges. I hate eating them, but they’re really quite awesome for pictures. They are just smooth enough to shine slightly in the light, but bumpy so they have an interesting texture. Photos of, say, apples don’t have the same look because apples are shiny but too smooth to have an eye-catching texture.

DSCN2616

Subject of photo: Fruit basket

Location of subject: Kitchen

Techniques practiced: Black and white, close-up

Yes, yes, this one is almost too angular to fit into C’s theme, but I really like all the shadows and angles. It looks like a fence, or maybe part of a weird building, if you don’t know what it is.

Final note to self: Stop taking so many black and white photos!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: C Is For Circles And Curves

  1. Mary says:

    Nice photos! My favourite is definitely the log candle holder thingy, although I love the look of the oranges and how the woven basket (it is a basket, right?) looks sort of ambiguous. As a critique (more of a suggestion really), can I just suggest that you try taking some pictures with a larger portion of kind of empty space? Like some sky or a wall or something in the background or above the main subject. Or you could try some low angles, which would also be cool. I think both could look really good.

    So when is D going up? I want to see it!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! Do you mean the basket just by itself or with the oranges?

      Thanks for the critique! I don’t mind getting them because I want to improve. I’ll try using empty space. I’ve actually tried to stay away from that before, because in 4-H the judges sometimes take off points if you have too much of it.

      I’m aiming for one photography post per week (read: my mother says that’s what I need to do for Art for school :P), so it’ll probably be Friday. I actually don’t have anything in mind for D yet, so any suggestions would be more than welcome.

      • Mom says:

        Divine, Devillish, Dark ,Daring, Dynamic, Droopy, Dangerous ,Dry,dazzling, dated, distant, drunk ,Darling,Dumb,Double,Dainty, Destroyed, Dirty, Drifting, Daunting, Delicious, Delicate, , devious, dreamy, dreary, deep, disgusting

      • Mary says:

        I meant the basket by itself, I think. You know how you said it could be a fence or anything? Yeah, I was referring to that.

        No problem! I didn’t know that about empty space. Maybe you could try just adding a bit more? That rule sounds a little unfair, although I wouldn’t really know. Maybe they just apply that rule if you’re got waaaay too much empty space. I think a bit of empty space focuses the photo a bit more, but that could just be me.

        Hmmm. I can’t really think of any specific suggestions. You’ll probably know best, as you know what materials and subjects you have available. I’m looking forward to seeing your next post 🙂

        • nevillegirl says:

          OK, that’s what I thought. I just wasn’t sure.

          I think the judges just want to know that you know how to compose a picture – you know, what’s the focus and stuff like that. And if there’s too much blank space then usually it’s harder to tell what the subject is. Sometimes 4-H Photography stinks. I do pictures from weird angles that my family and friends think are cool but I’m not sure if the judges got the point.

          • Mary says:

            I guess it’s pretty hard to judge photography. I mean, isn’t the whole nature of art to be subjective and personal? Rating art seems kind of counter-intuitive that way. At least your family, your friends, and most importantly you like your photos.

            Also, I know I said I wasn’t going to suggest any ideas for D, but how about “dramatic”? You could do dramatic angles, or photos of dramatic goings-on, or even ironic drama (like the dramatic chipmunk). I think that if something could be accompanied by a sound effect of “dun dun DUN”, it counts as dramatic.

            • nevillegirl says:

              I’d think so. It’s kind of fun to look at all the exhibits every summer and mutter to yourself, “Ooh, that’s cool so how’d it get a B? Ugh, how’d that win first place? I’d buy this one…”

              Ooh, that’s good! Between my mom and you, I have a whole bunch of ideas. Before, I was trying to think of objects that start with the letter D but I like the themes that are more like concepts anyway.

  2. Mom says:

    I like the stack of wood best. Howevver, I do agree with you that you need to not wait until the last minute. I know you can do better work…I’ve seen it. 🙂

  3. Wren Ayola says:

    I like the oranges the best, though I agree that they don’t taste good. Hmm…critiques? *is bad at giving critiques*. I know you love black and white, but you could do photos in color for a little variation. I really like the idea of doing “dramatic” for D.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I love their taste – what I don’t like is their texture. They’re too stringy. We had oranges as part of dinner tonight. -_- xD

      Yes, I was planning to. I need more practice on color. I do a lot of black and white because they look cool, but also because I get a sharper image on that setting. But I should learn to get that result with color, too.

      • Wren Ayola says:

        I never thought about it before, but you’re right. I dislike oranges, but their taste is rather good, just not their texture, as you said.

        The black and white photos do look good, I just couldn’t think of any other advice. Also, I don’t know that much about photography.

  4. I loved your photos (especially the oranges, the fruit basket, and the mountain of logs) but PLEASE. I’m longing for some color here! *Stares at purple blog background* *Sigh* So much better . . .

    But seriously. Awesome pictures! 😀

  5. Miss Alexandrina says:

    Cool pictures! I’d think about doing the AB See challenge, were I not still trying to upload and sort all of my photos from the 365 challenge I did two years ago (seriously)!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

