The Reader Appreciation Award!

reader-appreciation-award[1]

Yes, I know today was supposed to be D in the A B See Photo Challenge. I still need two photos so D is now scheduled for Sunday. I’m honestly quite sorry about that because for some reason people seem to think I know what I’m doing when it comes to photography.

So. Thanks, Matthew from The Little Engine That Couldn’t! I had no idea you even read my blog. Go check out his blog, people. He’s just started it and it’s quite good.

Rules

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Attach the icon to your site.
  3. Answer the attached questions.
  4. Nominate six bloggers who you feel deserve this award and notify them about their nominations.

Questions

1. What is your favorite color?

Blue.

2. What is your favorite animal?

A cat!

3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

I like how the assumption is that we’d all prefer to list an alcoholic drink. Anyway, my favorite drink is the hot chocolate served at the restaurant where I work. It’s so chocolatey and there’s whipped cream on top and it is deliciousness in a cup. When I go to work tomorrow, I will stare longingly at the hot chocolate.

4. What is your favorite number?

Four.

5. What is your favorite day of the week?

Friday.

6. What is your favorite flower?

Tiger lily. They’re so pretty.

7. What is your passion?

Reading!

8. Do you watch television?

A little, but not much. I prefer to read or write in my free time. When I do watch TV, it’s usually The Big Bang Theory.

9. Who is your favorite author?

That would have to be a three-way tie between J.R.R. Tolkien, Bill Bryson, and J.K. Rowling. They’re an unlikely combination. They’re all British and make me grin a ridiculous amount, but from there they get really different. One wrote completely serious high fantasy, one writes humor/travelogues and swears a lot, and one writes about kids at a magical school. It would be interesting if they (magically!) met, because I can see Tolkien & Rowling and Rowling & Bryson liking each other, but Tolkien would be like, “Who is this crazy man writing about fat people in the (American) Midwest, the history of the bathroom, and spilling food on himself in restaurants all across Europe?” about Bill Bryson. I’m getting off-topic. Moving on.

10. Do you like 80s movies?

This required me to do a little research since I wasn’t sure if any of the movies I liked were from the 80s. I like the Indiana Jones movies and they’re from the 80s, apparently.

11. How do you like your eggs?

Scrambled with cut-up peppers and bits of bacon and cheese.

12. When did you discover blogging?

Presumably, shortly before I made this blog.

13. Why do you like to blog?

Because I’m a villain and can use it as the first step in taking over the world! I have 182 minions – I mean, followers – at the moment. Heh heh heh.

Nominees

This is the Reader Appreciation award, after all, so the following will be people who I know read my blog because they post lovely/interesting/bizarre-yet-cool comments. I know some of these people don’t like blogging awards, but I’m recognizing them anyway.

I keep thinking about my favorite authors meeting each other. I think this will be a blog post someday – but with more than those three authors. Mwahaha!

Also, this is random but I was using Google Image Search just now and out of curiosity searched ‘musings from neville’s navel’. Most of the results are photos of Neville or myself, covers of books I’ve reviewed here, and blog badges. But front and center is that silly Boromir Valentine which isn’t even uploaded to my blog. I feel so stupid now. But it was interesting to see what sort of pictures I have the most of here.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Reader Appreciation Award!

  1. I need comment more. Not just on this blog, but on all other blogs that I like. It’s just that sometimes I get tongue-tied (Finger-tied? Type-tied?) and end up not being sure what to type. That shall change soon. Hopefully.
    Also, I need to check out this Bill Bryson guy, because I am very much interested in the history of the bathroom. And to a slightly lesser extent, fat people in the Midwest.

  2. Popping in to say no. I’ll take credit for it, but I won’t post it. Sorry!

  3. Mom says:

    Actually, Bill Bryson isn’t British. He’s an American living in Great Britian. (I believe his wife is British, though.)

  4. Wren Ayola says:

    I get to be a minion?

  5. Kate says:

    OMG YAY!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ MY SECOND AWARD! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you soooooo much! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I will make a post about this right about . . . NOW! XD ;P JK. I just put another post up so this will have to wait for a little while (sadly).

    I think “Bizarre-yet-cool comments” had to be my favorite description of the kinds of comments you get. Your blog is awesome.

  6. orphu44 says:

    Danke schรถn! (I’m going to keep doing this until it doesn’t look like a sneeze.)
    And I looked up my blog to see what images came up, and the first little bit is photos that actually appear on my blog, and after that it turns into photos from all the blogs I’ve ever interacted with. Especially yours. Which means that the Horn of Gondor is there.
    Just what I always wanted people to associate with my blog.

  7. Charley R says:

    Ahehehe, love your answers! As for your Google search – i get all sorts of weird things. A Boromir valentine could be a lot worse. I get pictures of scary people’s faces!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

