A B See Photo Challenge: D Is For (Pointing The Camera) Downward

camera

Bleh. I don’t feel like doing this post because it involves uploading the photos I just took, and uploading the photos involves wrangling with the computer for usually at least half an hour because the stupid thing doesn’t have enough memory for me to download more photos, so I have to delete old files and hope I didn’t delete anything I’ll want later.

Sorry for that run-on sentence.

Anyway, it would be so much easier if D was for Dwarves and then I’d treat you to pictures of my five favorite dwarves. (Bofur! Thorin! Ori! Kili! And Dopey! Yes, I’m including Snow White’s seven dwarves.)

Unfortunately that wouldn’t get me any credit for Art.

Can you tell that I’m just rambling here as I wait for my photos to upload?

The other thing that stinks about the A B See Photo Challenge is that doing one photo post per week adds up over time to a lot of posts that could have been about something I like better. I like photography, but would much rather be posting musings about YA fiction or Good-Sinful Alliance stuff.

Oh, yes. The theme of this post is stuff on the ground / below knee level. In other words, I pointed the camera downward. Normally I take photos of things higher up because even though I’m short, I’m not that short. The only things on the ground that I sometimes take photos of are flowers and there aren’t any in January.

I promised some color photos in this post and I didn’t disappoint!

DSCN2667

Subject of photo: Rocks alongside a stream

Location of subject: Our backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white

Alright, this is actually just a ditch in our backyard, but “stream” sounds better, doesn’t it? I’m quite pleased with this picture. It’s pretty and yet it feels sort of melancholy, perhaps due to the dead leaves and crumpled grass.

DSCN2701

Subject of photo: Paving thingamajig stones

Location of subject: Our backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I don’t really know what these things are, but I noticed them stacked next to the house. I like how they’re both uniform (size, shape) and unique (texture).

DSCN2684

Subject of photo: Daffodil buds

Location of subject: Flowerbed

Techniques practiced: Close-up

Green! In January! I love the bright colors here.

DSCN2691

Subject of photo: Stone urn

Location of subject: Flowerbed

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like the detail and texture of the urn, and the contrast in colors between the white urn and the black stones. Actually they’re brown, but darker because it had rained and they were wet.

DSCN2678

Subject of photo: Pile of wood

Location of subject: Backyard

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like the lines and angles of this picture. Unfortunately the more I look at, the more it looks like a funeral pyre. NEVILLEGIRL STOP REREADING THE DEPRESSING PARTS OF LORD OF THE RINGS!

So I’m counting one color photo as “some color photos”. Deal with it. I know I keep saying “I’ll do that next time”, but this time I’ve already taken the photos for E and there’ll be more color. Promise.

…maybe.

Just kidding!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: D Is For (Pointing The Camera) Downward

  1. orphu44 says:

    You have stuff GROWING in your yard? O.O

  2. Charley R says:

    I like those higgledypiggeldy stone thingymajigs next to that wall! Very cool photo there. And don’t worry about the lack of colour – I’ve got a bit of a thing for black and white photos myself, though I’m no great photographer by any stretch of the imagination.

    Lovely post!

  3. Andrea says:

    Indeed, Dopey is pretty awesome.

    And I really like the thingymajigs-next-to-the-wall. They’re all the same object, but they’re stacked up a little ajar from each other, and it’s…cool. 🙂

  4. themagicviolinist says:

    COLOR! GREEN! THE BEGINNING OF SPRING! (I’m glad you added “some color pictures” to put it in your words. I was starting to feel depressed).

    My favorite photos were the daffodil buds (see above) and the pictures of the rocks near the “stream.” There was something sad, but inspiring in that picture. I can’t quite put my finger on it, though . . .

    I want more Good-Sinful alliance posts! Seriously. They’re hilarious. Maybe you could do a post about the members’ favorite songs or something.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

