The Shine On Award!

shineonaward[1]Thanks, Gwendolyn! You’re quite awesome for giving me this award because of my “unabashed geekiness”. Also your name is cool.

Rules

  1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Post the badge on your blog.
  3. Answer the questions posed to you.
  4. Nominate five bloggers who shine a little light in your day and be sure to notify them.
  5. Issue ten questions you’d like them to answer.

Questions For Me

If you had to introduce yourself using only the title of a song, which song title would you choose? Crazy by Gnarls Barkley. No more needs to be said.

What was the last movie you watched? The Return of the King.

Where would you most like to have dinner tonight? Mr. Tumnus’s house in Narnia, but I don’t think that’s likely. We would invite the Beavers and the Pevensies over and bad-mouth the White Witch.

What’s your favorite book (or your most recent favorite book, if that’s a difficult question)? The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien. Noticing a theme here yet?

What’s your favorite tongue twister? Peter picked a peck of pickled peppers.

How many cows are in Canada? None. They were all eaten by the moose.

Where do you plan to go on your next trip? Minas Tirith by way of Hogsmeade and the Underland. Are we talking about fictional places here?

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when I say “quick fox”? Lazy dog. Lame, I know.

What’s the strangest place you’ve ever found your keys? In my desk? I think? I’m forever losing them.

A penguin just walked into the room, wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here? He is here because he’s Pete, a character from my 2011 NaNovel, Pete the Penguin and His Amazing Adventure. He says, “nevillegirl, get back to work on my story! Also, can I go to Spanish class with you? Pleeeeease? See, I’ve even wearing a sombrero. I promise I’ll be good this time and not throw erasers at people!”

Questions For You

What do your shoes look like?

What’s the strangest thing you’ve heard someone say lately?

What’s the strangest thing you’ve said lately?

What is your current computer wallpaper?

What do you remember about your very first day of school?

Who is your favorite character – that you’ve created?

What would your survival strategy be in the Hunger Games?

What song are you listening to right now?

What’s the scariest book you’ve ever read?

What’s behind you? (You can be literal or metaphorical.)

Nominees

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Shine On Award!

  1. Wren Ayola says:

    You referenced three of my fandoms in the same sentence. *faints*

  2. Leinad says:

    Wow, thanks!

    Just so you know, Leinad and Keras the Unkown are one and the same. I changed my WordPress display-name a couple of weeks ago to match my NaNoWriMo username, but I answer to either one.

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I know you just did an award, but I nominated you for another one. Bite me. http://miriamjoywrites.com/2013/02/02/sisterhood-of-the-world-blog-award/

  4. Miss Alexandrina says:

    Tehe, that penguin! And I also get ‘lazy dog’ when someone says ‘quick fox’. Seriously, I don’t even know the point of being taught that in Primary school!

  5. Charley R says:

    Ahehehe, you marvellous little human being! What fab answers *grins*

    Oh, and you’ve been tagged in an award on my blog too! Accept or do not, as you please to *grins*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you, although I’m not sure whether to take ‘little’ as a compliment. 😛 *realized thanks to LotR Wiki stuff that she is only two inches taller than the average dwarf*

      Haha, I’ve already done the post once AND gotten it from Miriam later.

  6. themagicviolinist says:

    MUST . . . LEAVE . . . COMMENT . . . !!!! These questions are bombarding my mind, making it impossible for me to think about anything else. I need to answer them!!!!

    (BTW, I would’ve nominated you for this award, too. XD 😉 ) And my favorite answer was the one about the penguin. (Did you base that answer off of something that actually happened to you . . .?) 😉

    If you had to introduce yourself using only the title of a song, which song title would you choose? Uh, I have no idea. XD Is there a song called nerd?

    What was the last movie you watched? I think it was The Hunger Games. I THINK.

    Where would you most like to have dinner tonight? At J. K. Rowling’s house.

    What’s your favorite book (or your most recent favorite book, if that’s a difficult question)? Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, closely followed by books 5, 4, 6, 3, 2, and 1.

    What’s your favorite tongue twister? Peter piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.
    (So basically, the same one as yours. 😉 )

    How many cows are in Canada? I haven’t the SLIGHTEST idea.

    Where do you plan to go on your next trip? I sure hope that place is Hogwarts and Hogsmeade.

    What’s the first thing that comes to mind when I say “quick fox”? A picture of a cartoon fox.

    What’s the strangest place you’ve ever found your keys? I don’t have keys . . . to anything, really. Well, locked diaries, but they were in my nightstand drawer or under the mattress of my bed. Not particularly STRANGE places.

    A penguin just walked into the room, wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here? He says that his name is Ralph and he’s here because Antarctica was way too cold and boring for him. He wants to shake things up in Mexico and start a tortilla war!

    What do your shoes look like? They look like pink converse, even though they’re a generic brand. (I chose pink because the only other color was either gray or lime green).

    What’s the strangest thing you’ve heard someone say lately? I have no idea. Nothing really STRANGE has been said around here. Maybe I need to find more strange friends . . .

    What’s the strangest thing you’ve said lately? Ugh. I don’t remember. I wish I did, though, because whatever I said was probably priceless! 😉

    What is your current computer wallpaper? A picture of my adorable dog, Scout, which was taken by me. She’s laying on our picnic table amongst multiple pumpkins. I’ll post it on my blog sometime.

    What do you remember about your very first day of school? I don’t remember much, but it was in a different house than we live in now, because we moved, and my mom and dad set up this whole schoolroom with a wipe-off board, desks, toys and books and all sorts of things! We had so much fun.

    Who is your favorite character – that you’ve created? Wow, that’s a hard one. I have to pick one?!?! I really like Cassandra Day and Cornelia Moonstone the unicorns. I created them to have personalities a lot like me and my best friend without realizing it! Cassandra was me and Cornelia was her.

    What would your survival strategy be in the Hunger Games? Grab as many supplies as I can that are right in front of me as I dash towards the woods to find a hiding spot. Then make alliance with people who walk by and stab them all in their sleep. I actually really like Foxface’s strategy, too, but I would read about poisonous berries and plants and made sure that they were safe before I went and ate them!

    What song are you listening to right now? Currently? Nothing. I WAS just listening to, however, Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol.

    What’s the scariest book you’ve ever read? Scariest book . . . hmmmm . . . I don’t usually read scary things, but the SCARRRRRIEST book would have to be The Hunger Games, even though I wasn’t really scared at all.

    What’s behind you? (You can be literal or metaphorical.) I don’t know, but I’m pretty sure it’s drooling on my shoulder and growling. *Squeals*

    • nevillegirl says:

      O_O You win the Longest Comment Award, I think.

      It’s a very good thing we’ll never be in the Hunger Games together. You sound a bit violent.

      • themagicviolinist says:

        LOL! XD

        Yeah, I make plans in my head but I don’t really think I’d be able to follow through. I’d probably just run and hide and hope some sponsor spends a bazillion dollars to get me out alive. XD ;P

  7. Aw, thank you! 😀
    *waves at Pete*
    Can I join you at Hogsmead?

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

