A B See Photo Challenge: E Is For Elementary School

camera

I’ll try not to go off-topic and start talking about dwarves in this post like I did last time. Oh wait, I just did. Moving on.

I took these photos the same day I did the ones for D, but they didn’t really fit with that theme. We live very close to the elementary school I used to attend – I’ve always thought it’s funny how I can see the school from out my window as I do my homeschooling assignments. Its playground is very colorful and I’ve been trying to take more color photos, so I had the idea to take pictures there.

Teachers, I’m very sorry if I scared you because I’m obviously too old to be in elementary school anymore and I was walking around taking pictures. I know that school was out for the day and all, but it still might have been creepy. I wasn’t staking out the school, I promise.

One thing that was very cool about this theme was that I could climb all over the playground equipment to find unusual shots. That’s something you can’t do with most subjects. People tend to look at you strangely if you crawl all over them while you’re taking a portrait.

I did take some photos of the actual school which is why this theme is the school in general, but none of those photos were as interesting as the following.

DSCN2718

Subject of photo: Slide

Location of subject: Playground

Techniques practiced: Unusual perspective

I love how colorful this is! It’s like a pretty snake or worm. I like the repeating rings and circles on them.

DSCN2711

Subject of photo: Monkey bars

Location of subject: Playground

Techniques practiced: Black and white, unusual perspective

See what I mean about unusual shots? I have a few interesting photos of the monkey bars taken from ground level with the camera pointing up, but then I climbed up and was struck by how different the perspective was.

DSCN2702

Subject of photo: Ladder

Location of subject: Playground

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like the combination of horizontal and vertical lines here. It looks a little melancholy, though. I think the lack of color brings out the wet patches from the rain, and that just seems a little sad because if it’s raining, then kids probably won’t play there.

DSCN2714

Subject of photo: Inside of slide

Location of subject: Playground

Techniques practiced: Unusual perspective

I wondered if pointing the camera down the twisty slide might result in a cool shot. I like the pattern of small circles within bigger circles. The swirls remind me of the view down a gun barrel shown in the James Bond films.

DSCN2720

Subject of photo: Table with built-in chess board

Location of subject: Just outside the playground

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like the contrast of brightness and darkness here. The tabletop looks all faded and ghostly, and the reflection in the water below is cool.

One thing I could have done differently would be to take pictures of a kid or kids playing on the playground. I would have probably taken more color photos that way. I always think that using a playground as the background for a child’s portrait would be cool because it fits better with their age than those boring monochrome backgrounds you sometimes see in professionally-taken photos. Little kids are playful and colors would help to show that. You could also think of all sorts of interesting poses, like sitting at the bottom of a slide or looking down from a high place. I may have to wrangle me up some little kids and try out my ideas.

Hey, now that I’m done talking about photography, I can talk about dwarves! See, I have an even better idea for a photo. I’ll replace those little kids with dwarves. I wonder how many of them can fit on the slide…

If any of my blog readers who know me in real life would be willing to let me borrow their children /dwarves for a hour or so one day (when it’s not too cold – this might be postponed until the spring) so I can practice my portrait-taking skills, that would be much appreciated! I’d share all the good photos with you!

On second thought, if providing me with dwarves do not worry about the weather because they come with their own hats and furry coats and things.

Hey look, I went off-topic again!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: E Is For Elementary School

  1. Wren Ayola says:

    Nice bunch of photos! I think they’re my favorites so far. Sadly, I don’t have any dwarves you can borrow, but I could send my brother in the mail?

  2. Charley R says:

    Heh heh heh, I really wish I had some dwarves and / or children to lend you now! Would you settle for a few minions instead? I have an abundance of those xD

    • nevillegirl says:

      Certainly – as long as they’re photogenic. I don’t want any with missing noses or hunchbacks or anything like that.

      • Charley R says:

        Don’t be so discriminatory! I employ a full range of minions from all backgrounds, races, and physiologies!

        That said, I don’t know how many I have that like cameras xD

  3. I love the slide pictures the best. I think the monkey bars would be cool in color… presuming they would show up as green against brown. :}

    • nevillegirl says:

      I think the monkey bars are actually white or beige (I can’t remember, they’re some boring color). I used color for anything colorful, obviously, but for the nondescript stuff I used black and white.

  4. Andrea says:

    Love these pics! I wondered if I was the only one who really enjoys taking pictures of playground equipment…:D There are so many angles that one can use when taking playground pics (and so many options for color, as well)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

