Love And Other Mushy Things

love_hands_by_sarahbarah93[1]Happy Valentine’s Day! Here are some of my favorite quotes about love, since I’m a nerdy freak who spends too much time reading and therefore gets crushes on fictional characters.

But I did promise “mushy things” because it’s the title that popped into my head first, so let’s talk about oatmeal. It’s mushy. And just like love stories, it can get disgusting if you have too much of it. Moving on now…

“If you live to be one hundred, I hope I live to be one hundred minus one day, so I never have to live without you.”

– Winnie-the-Pooh in The Complete Tales of Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne

Winnie-the-Pooh is awesome and not just for little kids, so you should read it too. It’s sweet and cute and has some very profound quotes like the one above. This quote doesn’t even have to be about romantic snoggy love; it can be about friendship-love-thing too. I know some great people who obviously aren’t going to be around forever since no one lives forever, but I hope that I wouldn’t have to have too many days without them.

“We are all a little weird and life is a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.”

– Dr. Seuss

This makes me think of my parents. They’re two of the strangest people I’ve ever met and that’s why they’re great for one another. They’re both nerdy and have an odd sense of humor. I hope I fall in mutual weirdness someday.

“Where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

– The Bible, Matthew 6:21

I feel even more nerdy than I usually do because I’ve never read this quote in the Bible; it was quoted on the Dumbledore family headstone in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. RowlingThe “treasures” most important to me aren’t things. They’re people.

892d35f2e7bb4294860abcf3d52eb1af[1]“[Violet] had always thought that people were like gears: one could spin alone and accomplish something minor, but when two gears fit perfectly and rotated in time, they could do so much more. And gears did not have genders. They either fit or they didn’t.”

All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen

This book has such good quotes that if I included all my favorites, I would end up quoting the entire thing! I love it because – oh, bleh, I’m tired and don’t feel like thinking any more. I love it because it’s so eloquent and witty and fits in with all the gears mentioned in the book.

I’m sorry if this post jumps around from topic to topic or is incoherent or whatever. This is my fifth day with the flu and my brain has sort of turned into mush. Hey, it’s the third mushy thing I’ve mentioned in this post!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Love And Other Mushy Things

  1. Erin says:

    Ha ha! I love your oatmeal/love story analogy. 🙂

    And Winnie-the-Pooh is the best. I’ve read the book more than once and you’re right – there’s just something about it that everyone, not just children, can enjoy.

    Hope you feel better soon! I don’t think I’ve ever had the flu, but it sounds bloody awful.

    • nevillegirl says:

      AND THE ILLUSTRATIONS. The Disney version doesn’t look like anything compared to the original pictures!

      It is bloody awful. I’ve never had it before until now… bleh. On the plus side I spent the whole day in my pajamas. 😀

      • Erin says:

        Yes! I once painted Pooh and Piglet (from the book) on a cupcake with food coloring. Unfortunately, it didn’t turn out as wonderful as the original illustrations…

        Oh, fun! But wait…aren’t homeschoolers ALWAYS in their pajamas?!?!?! *gasps*

  2. Wren Ayola says:

    So that’s what you needed the AMoG quote for! I’ve been meaning to read the book but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  3. orphu44 says:

    *echoes Wren’s sentiments* So that’s what it was for! I approve of your choices of quotes. I’ve got the Winnie the Pooh quote in a frame somewhere around here.
    P.S. Wren, if you don’t read AMoG at the next opportunity, we’ll be forced to set the automatons on you, and you won’t know how to defend against them.

  4. cait says:

    I love the Doctor Seuss one! He says so many things that are handy to quote. Hope you get better from that flu. A brain impersonating mush isn’t fun. :/

  5. Charley R says:

    Ehehehe, fabulous quotes! And here I was braced to put on the Armour of Cynicism and wade on resolutely through to the bottom if it killed me. Lot more fun to romp through these, sans armour!

  6. Mary says:

    Great choice of quotes! Not too mushy, either 😀 And I love so much that you included a Winnie the Pooh quote.

  7. Happy Valentine’s Day! 😀 (I know I’m two days late). ;P

    I loved the Winnie the Pooh one best. So sweet!

  8. Ah! I love these quotes! *huggles quotes*

  9. magicfishy says:

    *hugs those quotes forever* D’awwww…. Darn it Neville, you’ve unlocked the hopeless romantic in me! Now I’ll never get it to shut up!

    I -really- need to read All Men of Genius.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

