A B See Photo Challenge: F Is For Farm

camera

I haven’t forgotten about photography, I promise! It’s just that when I was sick a week or so ago I didn’t take any pictures or even write here (so I couldn’t have posted pictures I’d already taken) and then I did get a bit distracted from photography this past week. But I haven’t abandoned it. I finally pulled out my camera today and downloaded a bunch of photos I took around two or three weeks ago. There’s an abandoned, derelict house at a farm a couple of miles away and I thought it might be a good subject for photos.

I’m sorry that there’s no color, but weathered things like a falling-down wooden barn look stupendous in black and white. It brings out the detail and makes everything look eerie or lonely.

DSCN2793

Subject of photo: Abandoned farmhouse

Location of subject: Farm

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I like all the lines and squares in this photo, and how the gutter is falling off the roof.

DSCN2801

Subject of photo: Barn

Location of subject: Farm

Techniques practiced: Black and white

You didn’t know they built see-through barns, did you? Ha ha. I like the shadows and it’s just a cool shot because it shows the “skeleton” of the barn.

DSCN2802

Subject of photo: Barn window

Location of subject: Farm

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I almost missed this picture. I was photographing something else and turned around to look for more subjects when I saw this out of the corner of my eye. This is what makes black and white photography so awesome – look how it brings out the weathered paint of the boards. I also like how the shutter is just barely held on by a hinge. It seems so lonely; you can tell no one cares about this place anymore. Can you tell that this is my favorite picture of this batch?

DSCN2798

Subject of photo: Falling-apart shed

Location of subject: Farm

Techniques practiced: Black and white

I assume this shed wasn’t always open to the elements like this because that would make it really cold in the winter, so it’s really fallen apart. I thought it was cool how it had fallen apart so much so as to show that open door. It’s kind of a creepy photo because the doorway is in shadow and it makes you wonder what could be lurking there. Mwahaha!

DSCN2794

Subject of photo: House window

Location of subject: Farm

Techniques practiced: Black and white

This is on the opposite side of the house as the first photo. Another eerie photo. Stop writing sentence fragments, nevillegirl! I like how the vines are slowly growing into the window, or at least they were. It’s kind of a sad photo, because first the house obviously has no one living in it and even the vines are dead.

Which photo is your favorite?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A B See Photo Challenge: F Is For Farm

  1. Amanda says:

    Nice pictures! And I agree about the black and white. 🙂

    I’m not sure which one is my favorite. I think I like the 2nd and 3rd ones best.

  2. Andrea says:

    I love the last one with all of the vines…it makes the window look like an entry to a prison in a weird, awesome way. 🙂

  3. Charley R says:

    Ooh, I like these! I like the window shots best, both house and barn – the impenetrable dark inside the house is really creepy and evocative . . . my imagination approves *grins*

  4. themagicviolinist says:

    (I’m starting to REALLY miss color, but I definitely see why you did black and white and am very glad for it. Do you mind if I could possibly use one of these pictures for the front of a book I’m writing?)

    I like the second one best, followed by the third one. In the second one I could just imagine either a creepy old woman walking through there (maybe a witch–?) or a scared girl exploring the farm. In the third one I like how you’re left with a feeling of mystery because you don’t know what’s behind there. 😉 I guess that’s why I like the fifth one, too.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Eep! Sorry! But I thought it would look better that way.

      I don’t mind as long as you’re not going to publish it with that cover…

      • themagicviolinist says:

        Ha ha no I’m glad you did it with black and white! 😀 Do you know what you’re doing for G yet? (Hint hint).

        LOL no I won’t publish it with that cover. XD ;P I’m not even sure what the book is about, really, I just know that there is going to be a creepy scene with these pictures as inspiration.

  5. wolfluv745 says:

    Nice! They give me the shivers but at the same time they’re beautiful photos.

  6. Wow, the black and white makes it look really awesome in a creepy way. (!) My favourite photo is the first one; I like the perspective you have taken there.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

