It’s Greek To Me

DSC_0023

On Thursday I participated in a high school Academic Bowl as part of a homeschoolers’ team. This year’s theme was “The Glory That Was Greece” – sorry for the silly post title. I just couldn’t help myself.

I didn’t really have any readers last March so most of you probably don’t remember that I was in the competition in 2012 as well.

There were six areas of competition: English, Social Studies, Fine Arts, Science, Math, and Interdisciplinary (any combination of the above). I was on the English, Social Studies, and Interdisciplinary teams. This year we had twelve students participating, five more than what we had last year. We competed against six other schools, most of which had students who were juniors or seniors. In contrast, our team had three eighth-graders, five freshmen, three sophomores, and one senior.

To prepare for the competition, I read the assigned books about Ancient Greece. Some were pretty cool, but I hated others. There was one called Lord of the Sea that’s basically several hundred pages of some guy blabbering on about the Athenian navy. After a while, I wanted to grab him by the shoulders, shake him, and say, “Dude. Calm down. They’re just boats.” Actually, what I really wanted to do was bash him over the head with an oar… Moving on…

I had a lot of fun at the Academic Bowl. I hung out with my friends and talked (quietly!) when it wasn’t our round. We snickered at how uptight the Score Nazi was – she kept score last year too and is really strict. “The scores weren’t added up correctly by the proctors! Sit up straight! Don’t mispronounce that Greek name!” Oh yes, and I had fun actually answering the questions, too.

So how well did we do? Let’s start with the worst first. My friend McKenzie and I were the English team. We’re both bookworms. And our team tied for last place. Um. Yeah. Don’t really know what happened there. In Math, we were somewhere in the middle; they only announce the top three so we’re not sure where we ended up. We placed third in Interdisciplinary and second in Science.

I think we were all amazed when it was announced that the homeschoolers had won Fine Arts! One of those super-shiny trophies was ours! And then we won Social Studies. The Score Nazi and the lady in charge of the Academic Bowl calculated the cumulative scores for each team to see which school had the Champion Squad (best overall). We all went crazy when, despite our icky English score, we were first out of everyone!

I had so much fun at the Academic Bowl! If you ever have an opportunity to participate in one, I really recommend it.

P.S. We named our trophies after Greek guys. The Fine Arts trophy is Polyclitus, Social Studies is Themistocles (“Misty” for short), and Champion Squad is Zeus, Lord of the Trophies.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Greek To Me

  1. Jenny Li says:

    Congratulations!!! It sounds as if you had a lot of fun! (:

  2. Amanda says:

    Awesome!!!! 😀

  3. Mz Maralyn says:

    Awesome job! 😉

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. addercatter says:

    Congrats!!! 😀 Kat

  5. Pingback: Mom brag-Local homeschoolers win academic competition

  6. Charley R says:

    Ahaha, well done you guys! And congrats on those epic trophies too – I approve most highly of their names 😉

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

