My Dad Is Better Than Yours (Especially If Your Name Is Luke Skywalker)

What Dad says he thinks he looks like.

What Dad says he thinks he looks like.

Guess what today is!

It’s the anniversary of the day that Frodo and Sam cast the One Ring into Mount Doom and Gollum and Sauron died and it’s the start of the New Year in Middle-earth and-

Shut up, me. Hooray for nerdy knowledge and all that, but it’s also Dad’s birthday and that’s more important. Because he’s cool. Why is he cool? Let me list some reasons. What he’s like, things he can do, et cetera.

My dad is very easy to get along with. He’s nice, smart, and funny. In particular, I like his sense of humor. It’s weird like mine. I think I have a weird sense of humor because of my parents. I like that he’s goofy and that we play off of silly things the other says. I’d die of boredom if either of my parents were serious all the time.

He helps me with a lot of things. He’s helped me quite a bit with 4-H projects such as Rockets, Home Environment, and Photography. If it weren’t for his advice, I doubt some of my projects would have turned out as well as they did, if even been completed.

What Dad actually looks like.

What Dad actually looks like.

My dad is a great cook. I like food. Hence, I appreciate how he makes all kinds of food. Within the past two weeks we’ve had Thai, Indian, Chinese, and probably several other things I’m forgetting. I like to make food with him. Usually we’ve picked something really complex, like a four-layer triple-coconut cake or… some French dish with loads of meat whose name I can’t remember. Anyway, I think my dad’s interest in food is cool even when we’re on vacation and he drags us along to Chinatown to get weird ingredients and buy a wok.

I think my dad is smart, in part, because he’s good at building things. You’re probably thinking, “Yeah, so?” but I think it’s cool because my knowledge of carpentry is limited to, like, hammering a nail. It’s cool to see his projects slowly come together, and they don’t fall apart like mine would. I was looking around my room the other day and noticed how many things in it my dad has either made or refinished: desk, dresser, shelves, bookcases, lamp, and more. How does he remember all that stuff about how pieces fit together?

I was going to write more but my mom is telling me to shut the computer off so we can play a game since it’s Dad’s birthday, so I’ll cut this short.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Dad Is Better Than Yours (Especially If Your Name Is Luke Skywalker)

  1. Jenny Li says:

    Haha I just wanted to say that the title of this post is seriously awesome. 😛 And happy birthday to your dad! (Although I feel awkward saying that, since I don’t really know you… or him…..)

  2. Aw, I loved this post! 😀 Your dad sounds awesome!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

