Some Plans For This Spring

Aside from school and, um, way too many 4-H projects, there’s three main things I’m working on this spring.

First, I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo again. Script Frenzy used to be in April but the program was cancelled so Camp was moved from June to April. But! Mom, before you groan, let me add that I’m not writing fifty thousand words this time. I’m doing, well, I haven’t quite decided yet. It’ll be between ten thousand and twenty thousand. I guess I could just say fifteen thousand, but I’m still thinking it over. I know that’s short, not even what I wrote for my first NaNoWriMo, but I want it to be a really really good first draft. It’ll be a short story.

About what? Er. I’m still working on that. I might write a mystery because I really like reading them, but I’m having trouble thinking of an interesting premise. What with all the J.R.R. Tolkien/George R.R. Martin/Gail Carson Levine I’ve been reading and rereading lately, I feel like writing a short fantasy story. So I might do that, knowing that I’ll try to make it serious but of course will end up making it silly because that’s just how I do things.

The third option is related to a school assignment. I’m studying classical mythology (that would be Greek and Roman) at the moment in English. One of my assignments for that is to take the stuff I’ve learned and write a short story using the gods, heroes, and other characters from the myths. I may just start that assignment early, looking up stuff as needed. You see, I’m supposed to write the story as I finish studying mythology and I’ve only just started. So. If I can’t choose between those three ideas or come up with another one, I guess I can always rewrite the entire Harry Potter series from the point of view of Dobby. Kidding, kidding.

Another spring project I’ve decided to take on is blogging a book. I’ve considered this before but recently a post from The Little Engine That Couldn’t reminded me again. Book blogging isn’t quite like reviewing, which I already do here. It’s more like taking a book (usually a long one) and writing your thoughts of and reactions to a particular chunk of the book. Blogging Twilight and The Last Muggle are good examples of what I mean. I think it would be cool because I could go far more in depth than in a review and it’ll be amusing later to see if I had totally the wrong idea of where the story was going or what a character would do.

I’ve narrowed it down to a few possibilities and wondered which you think I would like the most and/or which one you’d be most interested in my blogging about.

  • Mythology by Edith Hamilton. As I mentioned above, I’m studying classical mythology in school at the moment so I have to read this anyway.
  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo. This is really really long and blogging it might keep me motivated to read it.
  • The Once and Future King by T.H. White. This is also really long. My mom thought it was boring but I’ve been on a fantasy kick lately, so who knows? Maybe I’ll enjoy it.

So, what do you think? Even if you don’t comment here very often, let me know what you’d choose because I can’t decide.

The third is the A B See Photo Challenge. The next letter I’ll do is H so as you can see, I still have a ways to go. I want to really pick up the pace so that I have as many letters done as possible before the 4-H Fair because I’m doing the Challenge in part to get pictures for my Photography exhibits. Anyway, any suggestions for themes would be great!

And because I’m not quite sure how to wrap up this post, here is some epic music.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Camp NaNoWriMo, Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Some Plans For This Spring

  1. cait says:

    I haven’t read any of those books. But I recognize Les Misérables (of course ;]). Blogging a book sounds like a pretty fun idea!

  2. wolfluv745 says:

    Camp NaNo was moved to April? I’d better come up with an idea fast. 😛
    I’d love to hear about the Once and Future King! I’ve always wanted to read it, but never got around to it.

  3. I think you should do The Once and Future King. My teachers recommend it, which makes me instantly wary, but I think you should do that one.

    Rewriting the Potter books from Dobby’s POV is a brilliant idea! You could gather an army of writers who all add a chapter or so to the story and then you’d have The Chronicles of Mister Harry Potter Sir, by Dobby, a Free Elf.

  4. Ooh, do Les Miserables. Maybe I’ll also be motivated to read it if someone else was, too. 🙂

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    If you blog Les Mis you’ll still be blogging about it in a year’s time, so I guess it’d give you lots of posts…up to you really.

  6. euphrasie2 says:

    Hello. It’s Euphrasie from NaNo YWP. I haven’t seen you around for a while, so I thought I might check up once I saw one of your posts pop up again. ^-^ Maybe I’ll begin commenting as a regular thing?

  7. orphu44 says:

    Hm … I vote for Mythology.
    And Camp NaNo? Ugh. I can’t wrap my head around it being in April. Why would I go to camp in April?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Funny, while I had a hard time deciding which book to read, I was leaning more towards Mythology than any of the other books, but you’re the only person who’s voted for it. So.

      I know – I wish they’d at least put it in May.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

