A Day In The Life Of A Homeschooled Teenager

I can’t believe I’ve never done a post like this before, so I’m doing it now. I think a lot of non-homeschoolers are probably confused about what it is that homeschoolers do all day. Do we follow a strict schedule? Do we get up at noon? Do we ever leave the house?

Following is what I did two days ago on Wednesday, March 27th. I wouldn’t have been able to remember everything accurately so I carried a pen and small notebook with me all day and jotted things down when I had time.

6:10 AM – I wake up way too early, so I roll over and go back to sleep.

6:50 AM – Mom wakes me up to let me know that I need to be up and dressed in about half an hour so we can run. Because I stayed up too late the previous night reading, I accidentally fall asleep again.

7:20 AM – I wake up for a third time, then get dressed and brush my hair.

7:30 AM – I go outside and walk with my mom to warm up first, then run 3/4 mile for PE. I’m slowly working up to three miles so I can run a 5K in June.

7:45 AM – I’m back. The cat is whining at me – a really loud, persistent meow that usually wakes me up in the mornings – so I feed him. Then I eat breakfast and read what are, according to me, the best sections of the newspaper – the comics and the letters to the editor.

8:00 AM – I practice the piano. At the moment I’m learning “In Dreams”, which actually resembles the original piece, and “Healing Katniss”, which doesn’t. Ha ha. I need to work on that more. I also play other stuff from movies.

8:20 AM – I get distracted by a book.

8:30 AM – I finish up some Spanish homework that I need to bring in today. It’s a review for the test we’ll have on Friday.

8:50 – I do some Physics problems relating to Coulomb’s Law and correct a few of yesterday’s problems with my mom.

9:30 AM – We drive to college.

9:50 AM – I wait outside the classroom and add more stuff to this list of what I’ve done today.

10:00 AM – In class, the teachers checks the homework and I’ve gotten almost everything right. We do a bit more review for the test – vocabulary, preterite vs. imperative, the subjunctive, and more.

10:50 AM – Class ends and we go home.

11:10 AM – We’re back. I get distracted by a book.

11:20 AM – My brother, Mom, and I discuss the answers to questions from our recent World Religions assignments on Islam. After that, because we’ve finished studying Islam, I make a page in my notebook of general facts about Islam using my previous notes.

11:50 AM – I check email. Yay!

12:00 PM – Lunch.

12:20 PM – At the computer, I work a bit on another article for Mindful Homeschooler magazine.

1:00 PM – Math. In Precalculus today I’m doing problems with interval notation and solving inequalities.

1:30 PM – I have a doctor’s appointment today because I’ve been coughing a lot for about two months now, so we drive there. Actually, I drive there. Which means I can’t read in the car. Darn.

2:00 PM – Our appointment was supposed to be at this time but we end up waiting for a long time so I finish my math and start reading stuff for Classical Mythology. I read pages from Mythology by Edith Hamilton about the gods and the creation stories.

2:30 PM – At my appointment, it turns out I have the bubonic plague. Just kidding.

3:00 PM – We run assorted errands, including the grocery store (boring!) and the library (yay!). At the library I get a bunch of books by Kirsten Miller and Maggie Stiefvater and then walk up and down the rows of shelves picking out books based on whether they have cool covers.

5:00 PM – Finally, we’re back home. I read some of Ovid’s Metamophosis and take notes on all the mythology I’ve read today because I stupidly forgot to bring my notebook along this afternoon.

5:50 PM – I work through about thirty pages of a prep book for the SAT II Literature test, going over literary terms.

6:10 PM – I check email again and work on some writing.

6:30 PM – Dinner.

7:00 PM – I do a bit of Spanish homework online and then write some more.

8:15 PM – I intend to start reading the new Kiki Strike book but instead I get distracted rereading The Raven Boys.

9:00 PM – I take a shower and get ready for bed.

9:20 PM – Oops, I still have laundry I’m supposed to fold.

9:50 PM – I start reading Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel, one of the books I got at the library today.

10:30 PM – Bed.

Well, that was more or less a normal day for me. Some days I read, use the computer, or procrastinate more. This day was a bit different because I don’t usually finish school quite so late. I’m usually done sometime between two and four in the afternoon, although within the past two weeks I have finished as early as eleven AM. Also, on Tuesdays and Thursdays I don’t have Spanish and World Religions because I have Home Ec instead, where we’re learning how to sew now.

If anyone wants to steal this idea, I don’t mind. What are your days like?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Day In The Life Of A Homeschooled Teenager

  1. orphu44 says:

    I don’t know exactly why, but this day just seems so much more productive than mine. Ah, well. Hope you recover from not-Bubonic-plague.
    Also, I love this idea for a post.

  2. euphrasie2 says:

    I need motivation to get anything done, but the standards of public school are ridiculous. :/

  3. cait says:

    Love it! When I was still doing school, my days pretty much resembled this. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Except the cat part. Ahhh! Maggie Stiefvater!! Her books are SO awesome.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *momentarily confused* Ohhhh, you’re Cait, the older one. ๐Ÿ˜› I was like, “I thought she was still in school…”

      Miriam Joy got me interested in them. ๐Ÿ˜€ I really like Stiefvater’s kind of fantasy and how she has romance but it’s not the main focus.

  4. Mary says:

    I find it (through experience) very easy to procrastinate reading Kiki Strike books. They sit on your bookshelf or wherever you keep your books for about a month and then you actually get around to reading them and wonder why on earth you procrastinated it for so long because it was an enjoyable and fun read, much more enjoyable and fun than the books you procrastinated it with. (Actually, sometimes the books you chose to procrastinate it with were rather good, but still, Kiki Strike books are cool.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      EEEEEE YES I HARDLY KNOW ANYONE WHO’S READ THE KIKI STRIKE BOOKS.

      So, do you think The Darkness Dwellers is any good? I still haven’t started reading it yet.

      • Mary says:

        No, but my friend got an ARC of it because of some picture she took and edited to make it look like the Irregulars logo, and she said that it was really fun, though not as good as the other two. She still gave it four stars on Goodreads, so I’m really excited to read it. (Even though I will ultimately procrastinate reading it, as usual. D:)

  5. averythorne says:

    Wake up far too early.
    Go to school.
    Study/sleep in class.
    Go home.
    Sleep some more.
    Attempt to write and quickly end up blogging because I know no teen writers except my friend who hardly writes anymore.
    Envy the homeschooled.
    More sleep. Cos I’m a cat. :3

  6. You seem much more productive than me. Half of my day would probably alternate between ‘procrastinate’ and ‘sleep’.

    The bubonic plague?! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

  7. Miss Alexandrina says:

    Hi! I got distracted by your blog (again!). xD You’re reading the Metamorphoses? Awesome! I suspect it’s a different set to the one I’m reading (especially since you’re reading it in English, and I’m reading it in Latin), but which stories have you come across so far? I love Ovid’s works!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Um… lately I’ve been reading stuff about Semele, I think. He’s OK. I prefer Edith Hamilton’s mythology stuff. (I know, I know, she’s not one of the original writers like Ovid and Apollodorus, but I like her retellings.)

  8. Pingback: A Day In The Life Of A Homeschooled Junior | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

