Five Favorite Homeschooling Memories

During my eight years of homeschooling, I’ve gotten to do many cool things. Here are my five favorite homeschooling memories!

  • Scripps Spelling Bee. It was amazing to see how well I did in this. Wait. That sounds like I’m bragging. I’m not, just still quite pleased to have competed. I spent quite a bit of time in middle school studying for various spelling bees. If I were in school I’d probably have been too busy.
  • Spending a year studying World War II. If I remember correctly, I complained a lot about this at the time but looking back on it, it was actually pretty cool. My parents thought that we should spend a long time studying WWII because there’s so much to learn. Specifically, my favorite parts of studying that in history were all the books we read, especially the first-hand accounts.
  • Any of our vacations. We often take these in May. We couldn’t if my brother and I were in school. Even when we travel during the summer, most of the trip will still count as school. For example, we visited a ton of the Smithsonian museums when we went to Washington, D.C. On our California trip, we hiked a lot (PE) and completed several Junior Ranger programs. It’s fun to still being doing school, but different schoolwork than what we normally have.
  • NaNoWriMo. I think my parents thought I was a bit crazy for attempting National Novel Writing Month anyway, but there’s no way they would have let me do that if I were in school. It’s so much fun, but takes up a lot of time. I had a great time writing so much and creating plots/characters willy-nilly because, you see, I hadn’t really planned my novel first.
  • Oral History class. A local museum let a group of homeschoolers take this class last spring. We learned about the importance of oral history as well as how to interview people in preparation for interviewing an elderly person about their childhood. It was very interesting to hear what my interviewee’s childhood was like because I love to imagine what life was like a number of years ago and here someone was telling me what it was really like!

What are your favorite homeschooling memories?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Five Favorite Homeschooling Memories

  1. When I was 13 my parents took me out of school in London and I spent a ton of time on my own wandering around the Victoria & Albert Museum. To this day, I adore museums and I think stimulating your senses by surrounding yourself with art and history are more important than anything that could happen to you in middle school.

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    You pretty much hit the nail on the head (is that even a correct expression?) with NaNoWriMo. Along with reading books as a family (Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and more) NaNoWriMo has been the source of some of my favorite homeschooling memories. But I think my absolute favorite memories have come out of our homeschool group. My brother and I have so many friends from that and we all know each other so well, we could all be one big family.

    • nevillegirl says:

      We used to be really involved with our homeschool group too, but they don’t really have much stuff for high schoolers. :/

      My mom hasn’t read to us in a long time, but when we were little she read a ton of stuff to us for school. 😀

      • themagicviolinist says:

        Aww, that stinks. ;P

        My mom and dad are switching off with my brother and I and whenever we have time before we go to bed they’ll read to us. My mom and I just finished reading “Are you there, God? It’s me, Margaret.”

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

