I’m Going To Attend Public School

Yes. I’ve decided that homeschooling is slowly but surely destroying my life. It isn’t helping me. It doesn’t give me opportunities.

I can’t wait to begin attending public high school so I can experience such lovely things as:

  • Getting up way too early to be at school on time
  • “Studying” subjects I already know
  • Teachers who pick favorites
  • Way too much homework
  • Bullying
  • Delicious school lunches filled with unidentifiable objects that are presumably food
  • Cliques
  • People looking at me like I’m a freak because I don’t have a boyfriend (also, people who don’t understand that hobbits would be excellent boyfriends but unfortunately they don’t really exist so that’s why I don’t have one)
  • The joys of standardized testing
  • Pressure to be like everyone else
  • Little or no free time

I’M SO EXCITED!

Happy April Fool’s Day, guys.

In other news, I’ve started Camp NaNoWriMo. I mentioned a few posts ago that I had three main ideas that came from things I’ve been reading. Well, I decided not to write something fantasy; instead I’m writing a mystery about Greek gods and goddesses. I’m combining my love of Agatha Christie’s mysteries with an assignment for Classical Mythology. I’ll get up a wordcount widget thing soon so you can see my progress, which isn’t very much right now anyway…

Also, I promise that in future you’ll get posts that will be far more awesome than this. I just need to finish them… but they will be of the sort wherein Nevillegirl Is Actually Serious (For Once) And Analyzes Books/Movies/Cool Stuff And Tries Very Hard Not To Dissolve Into Silliness.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I’m Going To Attend Public School

  1. I love your mystery with Greek gods and goddesses. Sounds amazing. Public high school had some really wonderful moments too, even if I agree that there are many pitfalls. Lots of people don’t have boyfriends in high school. There aren’t enough Hobbits to go around.

  2. Mary says:

    Public school isn’t actually that bad, you just have to find the right people (by this I mean the weird people who just do whatever they want like joining the Ultimate Frisbee team and the Library Club).

  3. Amanda says:

    I saw that title and had a heart attack but after I read the first sentence I got it. 😉

    And, yay! Another Camp NaNo-er this month!

  4. Charley R says:

    Ahehehe, you genuinely had me going there – well done! But srs, public school isn’t all that bad. I was bullied once, but it’s also cool. Lots of people to bounce ideas off, some awesome teachers who make the course great, friends to hang out with and terrorise the teachers you don’t like . . . but I can’t argue with the horrific early starts. I hate those.

    Good luck with Camp NaNo! 😀

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    So I thought you posted this on the third, and I told my mom because I wasn’t able to read the whole thing before lunch, and she said, “Is this something for April Fool’s Day?” Being the gullible person that I am I said, “I don’t think so, but maybe.” My mom said, “I don’t believe her.” So I came back and read the whole thing. I’m pretty sure I laughed out loud.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Don’t worry. Apparently I’m gullible too because a favorite author of mine… actually the guy who wrote All Men of Genius… posted on his blog that he was going to write a picture book about a swearing rabbit. But it seems like the sort of thing he actually WOULD write, and then I realized it was a joke.

  6. magicfishy says:

    Public school isn’t always that bad, you know. More importantly, SOME of us don’t have a choice.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

