Hopes, Dreams, And Plans I Have Had For The Past 365 Days

Depending on how long you’ve been reading Musings From Neville’s Navel, you may or may not remember when I did the 30-Day Blogging Challenge. Way back then, it was really helpful because I wanted to blog regularly but had trouble thinking of ideas for posts. Now that’s not an issue, but I’m doing another post from the challenge.

See, one of the prompts was this:

  • Day 29: Hopes, dreams, and plans you have for the next 365 days.

A whole year has gone by since I listed them so here they are again, along with my comments (in bold) regarding whether or not something was accomplished.

Nevillegirl’s Hopes, Dreams, And Plans For April 15, 2012 – April 14, 2013

Hopes

  • Learn how to drive. And hopefully not be an idiot and crash into stuff. I took Driver’s Ed last summer and it was quite fun!
  • Get rid of my fear of heights. Hey, we’re going to New York City in August – lots of tall buildings there for me to practice with! Going to the top of Rockefeller Center was a fail. To quote the stereotypical teenage girl, I “totally freaked out”. But I was fine at the Empire State Building a few days later and that’s much higher. I admit that I held my mom’s hand very tightly up there because I was a little bit scared, but I actually enjoyed the view this time.
  • Hit 25,000 views on this blog. (As of right now, I have 12,651.) I am just a few hundred views away from 50,000.
  • Do another NaBloPoMo. However, if I don’t, that’s OK too. My NaNo/Camp NaNo/Screnzy writing is more important to me. I did not do this due to having plenty of blogging ideas already.
  • Read 350+ books. This shouldn’t be that hard. I think I read about 200, which didn’t meet my goal but it’s still not bad considering that I’ve read that the average person reads like four books a year.
  • Find some sort of nerdy competition to take part in, since I’m too old to do the Scripps Spelling Bee. (NaNo and all the related writing challenges don’t count, because you aren’t really competing against other people – you’re challenging yourself.) Does the Academic Bowl count?
  • Take a World Religions/Comparative Religion class, because it interests me. My brother and I are studying World Religions this semester. It’s fascinating.
  • Improve my photography. Especially my portraits of people. I started the A B See Photo Challenge and already have plenty of photos for my 4-H Photography project, but… portraits… um. Not really…

Dreams

  • Be 5’8″. However, since I am only 5’2″ and haven’t grown since I was 11, this seems highly unlikely. Nope.
  • World peace. I’m not sure that this is something I can achieve, but it would be awesome whether I did or not. Why can’t people just get along?! BEHAVE, ALL YOU STUPID LITTLE WORLD LEADERS.
  • Be a member of the Order of the Phoenix /Death Eaters. However, this would mean I’d have to make the Harry Potter world be real. As you can see, I’m not picky: I’d fight for good or evil. Just let me meet some wizards! I’m way too cool for either now. I’m part of the Rohirrim now. 
  • Visit the UK. Or Australia. Or Spain. Or Greece. Or Italy. Um, I went to Canada last summer. Does that count?
  • Have my own VW bug (bright blue, of course). Wouldn’t it be great if my license plate said NERDY or LUPIN or BOOKS? I don’t have one, but now my dad has one from 1965 and I’ve gotten to ride in it. It smells funny inside, the seats are held together with tape, and when we go around corners it feels like we’re going to fall out of the car.
  • Become a ninja. Totally accomplished.
  • Become a superhero (in case the ninja thing doesn’t work out). I can do a good Batman voice.
  • Make several Horcruxes. I’m not telling you what they are or where they’re hidden.
  • Become a famous actress, author, or chef. Pete the Penguin and His Amazing Adventure was self-published with the YWP NaNoWriMo CreateSpace offer, but I don’t think that counts.
  • Learn how to turn into a cat. (Then I could hang out with Professor McGonagall…) I’ve already accomplished the ‘sleeping most of the day’ part!
  • Own my own castle.
  • Become invisible for a day and scare people by creeping up behind them and grabbing them. Yes, precious, we did do that for a day! Those little Orcses never knew what was coming…
  • Be a Muppet. Or a Muppeteer. I look like Kermit the Frog now.
  • Become fluent in 25 languages. Does talking like Batman count?
  • Buy a broomstick at Quality Quidditch Supplies and fly to all those places I said earlier that I want to visit. Like I said, I’m one of the Rohirrim now. I don’t need a broomstick.
  • Have an award named after me. Alternately, win a Nobel Prize, a Newbery medal, and/or a Caldecott award. Do blog awards count?

Plans

  • Take at least one and possibly two classes at PNC (the local college). I want to take a Spanish class, preferably with lots of speaking practice, so I could maybe do an exchange program to Spain. Maybe I could even visit my friend Ainhoa! I’d also like to take a writing class. Mom thought college writing might be too hard for me as a sophomore, but the admissions person said that my 730 score on the reading portion of the SAT was amazing, so maybe I can do college writing. I took Spanish 101 last semester and I’m doing Spanish 102 now. This summer I’ll be taking Comp 101.
  • Run a mile. I don’t want to do any races, like 5Ks, but I’d like to be able to run a mile. I’m good at sprinting short distances, but I’m terrible at longer distances. I’m doing this right now. I mean, not right now because actually I’m sitting here typing, but I have been running lately.
  • Hit a home run in softball. I didn’t do this last season and I haven’t so far this season.
  • Complete Screnzy 2012. I did.
  • Get all 12 of my 4-H projects done by the end of May, so I can do Camp NaNoWriMo in June. (Are you OK there, Mom? I thought I saw you just pass out at the thought of me actually working on them and not procrastinating!) I didn’t get them all done by May but I did make more progress earlier than I usually do.
  • Complete Camp NaNo in June. I want to do a 50,000-word novel, and I already have my idea. I did this because I’m awesome.
  • Complete Camp NaNo in August. Again, a 50,000-word novel. This will be the sequel to my novel from June. Accomplished! But I ended up finishing the novel from June instead of writing its sequel.
  • Win Grand Champion in one of my 4-H projects and/or have a project be exhibited at State Fair. I refinished a century-old bedframe for Home Environment and it won Grand Champion. It qualified for the State Fair too, but I declined that because I didn’t want it to get damaged during transportation.
  • Complete NaNoWrimo in November. This novel (50,000 words) will be the last book in my trilogy that I’ll start in June. I did this and haven’t looked at my novel since. Just now I almost forgot what it was even about.
  • Complete Screnzy 2013. Due to Screnzy being canceled, this is no longer possible, but I’m making very slow progress on this month’s session of Camp NaNoWriMo.
  • Take the PSAT. I took it in October, scoring in the 99th percentile for both Reading and Writing, and in the 80s for Math. The whole thing was ridiculously easy.
  • Read The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Actually, this is the only thing on here that I want to complete earlier than April 14, 2013. I want to finish these 4 books by December 31 (this makes me actually get around to reading them earlier). The Hobbit movie is out in December; it would be fun to go see it then and actually understand what is going on. I want to read these books because I’ve tried to many times before and have always given up. As the Tolkien references throughout this post show, I did this.
  • Have some of my writing published again. (I don’t mean just publishing my NaNovel through CreateSpace.) Actually, I’ve had some of my writing published before, in Secular Homeschooling Magazine, but I want some published elsewhere too. (And, sadly, SHM is no longer being published.) I was the teen correspondent for Mindful Homeschooler, an online magazine. I quit it because I didn’t have enough time.
  • Write to more authors. On my list: Kirsten Miller, Suzanne Collins, Linda Newbery, J.K. Rowling (a girl can dream, can’t she?), and Eoin Colfer. Does emailing Lev AC Rosen multiple times count? I’m sorry for my weirdness, Mr. Rosen.
  • Do some acting. I really, really want to act, but I haven’t at all yet. Maybe I could be in a play, or do that College Improv thing at PNC. I tried College Improv, but didn’t like it much.
  • Take an AP class. If I don’t do a college writing class, I want to take an AP English class/exam. If I do, then I’d still like to try another class (maybe history or science). I’m studying for the SAT II English test in May, which is kind of the same as AP but not really.
  • Learn how to play some more stuff on the piano: I’m thinking Beethoven, Mozart, or pieces from the Harry Potter movies. I learned plenty of new stuff, but from The Hunger Games or Lord of the Rings instead. 
  • Become President of my 4-H club. I already put my name down on the list to run for that office! I did run for President, but someone else won. Cue ranting and raving about how the girl who won was President the year before, doesn’t really participate in club activities despite being the leader’s daughter, and is not very smart. Oh, well. I signed up to run this year.
  • Do the library’s summer reading/winter reading programs. I did the summer program but completely forgot about the winter one.
  • Job shadow someone. I haven’t decided yet if I want to job shadow a chef or someone else.
  • Get a part-time job. Preferably at a restaurant. I’ve been working at a local cafe since June. I like earning money for college but I hate washing dishes – it’s so gross!

I hereby dub myself a “Harry Potter of productivity”. I neither did everything on my list as Hermione would, nor did I forget about it all as Ron would.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hopes, Dreams, And Plans I Have Had For The Past 365 Days

  1. Charley R says:

    This made my day – you’re hilarious! And congratulations on the career swap. The Rohirrim do dental care, wizarding professions notably do not. Want to come riding with me sometime? I’ve got a spare mace . . . we could play polo with orc heads!

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    What is NaBloPoMo?

    As for the horcruxes, this beloved Harry Potter book looks VERRRRY suspicious . . . *readies basilisk fang with a malicious grin*

    My mom and dad sent a letter for me to J. K. Rowling, including copies of “Harry Potter 8,” “Harry Potter 9,” and “Harry Potter 10” (books I wrote when I was 7 or 8 to eliminate the Malfoys). They did it as a surprise for me, because they were hoping she could sign a birthday card for me. (I got an automated response back with a copy of her signature, but, unfortunately, she was too busy to sign the card).

    • nevillegirl says:

      National Blog Posting Month. It’s like the 30-Day Blogging Challenge, but you don’t know the prompts ahead of time.

      *gasp* Why would you want to eliminate the Malfoys?! They’re some of the most fascinating characters in the series.

  3. euphrasie2 says:

    You are unnervingly productive.

  4. Great idea with the hopes, dreams and plans. I think I’ll do that for my fourteenth year of existence (my birthday is coming up), so thanks for the idea- you don’t mind, do you?
    Congrats on the accomplishments! And I agree that world religions is fascinating.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

