First Reactions To The “Catching Fire” Film Trailer

IT’S HERE! The trailer for Catching Fire!

If you don’t care to read yet more of my thoughts on Hunger Games, well, I’m sorry. But this is something I love, so I will continue to fangirl about it (although hopefully I won’t be as shallow as I was with the hot dwarves in The Hobbit‘s trailer). I’m usually rather pessimistic about book-to-film adaptations and will be the first to complain about the Harry Potter movies, but I was very impressed with The Hunger Games movie so naturally I’m excited for Catching Fire. It’s weird, though – when the first movie was just out I wasn’t much interested and now I am. Funny how things change.

0:06 – I know this is a weird thing to notice, but I like this opening part with the Lionsgate logo. The clouds look all dramatic. It’s more interesting than the Twentieth Century Fox kind of opening.

0:09 – That sounds like Cinna…

0:16 – …but it doesn’t look like him!

0:18 – OK, movie music nerd time. This bit here sounds a bit like “Deep Shadows”. Wait. You’re probably not as into music from The Hunger Games as I am, so I’ll explain. “Deep Shadows” is the trailer music for the original movie; it’s brilliant and fits the film so well. What I noticed here was that they seem to be reusing it, which is good, but redoing it, which is better. Same sounds, but now it sounds darker and more sad. That’s perfect, considering that Catching Fire is darker (more angsty?) than the first book/film.

0:40 – That must be Plutarch Heavensbee, but he looks different from what I expected. He’s not very attractive and actually a bit dorky, which is what I imagined. I thought, “He’s not one of those Gamemakers who likes to show off. He just wants to do his job, so he wouldn’t be fancy like Seneca Crane.” But movies generally make characters more attractive, so I’m surprised here.

0:47 – Whoa. A wall with “The odds are never in our favor” graffitied onto it. Why am I so impressed? Two reasons. First, it has a lot of meaning if you’ve read the trilogy – it shows the growing rebellion in Panem. Second, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t in the books and I’m very happy that they added something that actually works. (I feel the Harry Potter movies added all sorts of things that didn’t help the storyline.)

1:04 – What is Peeta doing with his face here?

1:16 – I’ve worn weird outfits, but nothing like that. God, Effie. But I do like how different Katniss’s dress is from her earlier clothes.

1:21 – THE PARTY! This is one of the scenes I’m really looking forward to. Ooh, and I know where this part was filmed; I recognize the house and now I’ll shut up because probably no one reading this is as interested in the non-acting aspects of films as I am.

1:39 – I think this is my favorite part of the trailer, after the guy breathing fire. I’m not a fan of Prim in the books because I think she’s a weak character – not physically weak, just not very fleshed out. I hope this is another instance where changing things slightly makes the movie better and not just confusing. See, the trailer shows Prim saying that Katniss not only gave her a chance to live, but a chance “to do something.” (Specifically, to become a nurse-medic-thing.) Catching Fire‘s Prim isn’t the crying little girl she was in the first movie; she’s come into her own. I’d like to see her have more depth.

1:44 – Oh God, I hope people don’t make a big deal out of that kiss. It’s not Twilight.

1:49 – Katniss sees Gale being whipped and screams “No!” while I scream “Yes!” I’m sorry. I don’t like Gale.

2:22 – You’d think they would have a ticking sound here (“Tick tock, this is a clock”) instead of Rue’s whistle, but… OK.

All in all, I thought it was an awesome trailer. It makes me feel better about the fact that there’s a new director. I thought the first guy obviously understood the book well because he did a great job, but the new person might have completely different ideas.

One thing the trailer obviously didn’t showcase was the score. Duh – that’s what trailer music is for. Anyway, the music for the first movie was what really made me fall in love with film scores so it’s what I’m most excited for. Catching Fire is my least favorite of the trilogy; I want to see its movie for the music and the design. And if the storyline is more interesting than that of the book, then that too.

I would’ve liked to see Cinna, Johanna, Finnick, or part of the scene when Katniss hangs Seneca Crane in effigy, but I think at least the first three will be featured in future trailers. I’m not complaining about the lack of arena scenes because there were very little in the trailers for The Hunger Games. This is great because it doesn’t give away all the big scenes. Why bother watching a movie when you’ve already seen all the most-anticipated scenes? Another thing the Harry Potter filmmakers could’ve considered. Whoops. A sentence fragment. Suzanne Collins, stop. Making me write. This. Way.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to First Reactions To The “Catching Fire” Film Trailer

  1. themagicviolinist says:

    LOVED the trailer! 😀 I’m SOOOOO excited! 😀

    1:16 Ugh, sorry, but I don’t like Katniss’s makeup. She looks WAY too much like Capitol folk and less like the girl from District 12. ;P But that’s just my opinion.

    1:21. WHAT?!?! Tell me more about this house! I. Need. To. Know!!!!

    1:44 Here, here.

    1:49 I don’t like Gale either, but that’s just kind of mean . . .

    2:22 I wish they had put some preview about the arena in. ;P I was disappointed about that.

  2. matttblack42 says:

    I just watched the trailer and I must say I’m also impressed, and I agree with what you said about the wall with “The odds are never in our favor,” written on it. It fits so well.

    When it comes to my favorite book of the trilogy, Catching Fire is the one I keep changing my mind about. While I got bored of the love triangle after a couple chapters, I loved the build up towards the revolution, and I loved the cliffhanger ending.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I thought it took too long to get to the arena and then once the action was there, it wasn’t that great. It was stuff we’d already seen in THG. *actually likes Mockingjay way more*

      • matttblack42 says:

        I actually agree. I also like Mockingjay (I liked the depressing ending), but I feel like Catching Fire will make the best movie out of the three books.

        • nevillegirl says:

          Hmmm, I hope so but it could easily be too much like the book and be a repeat of the first arena. *impatient for the movie*

          • matttblack42 says:

            I thought the Arena in CF was a lot different than the arena in THG. THG’s arena was just a generic forest, sort of, while CF’s arena was an awesome clock with evil monkeys and poison gas and whatnot.

            • nevillegirl says:

              Physically, yes. But the arena plot was the same. I think the reason THG impresses me is that the idea is just so foreign and with CF… we’d already seen what the arena was like.

  3. Erin says:

    Loved the trailer!!! Ahh!!! So excited!!!

    Can I steal this idea for my blog? I think it would be fun to write my reaction to the trailer. 😛

  4. Charley R says:

    I’m sooooooo excited for this movie – even if you do dislike Gale (which i notably do not, and infinitely prefer him to Mr Pathetic Baker Man), you can’t deny that Katniss’ reaction shoves your heart into your throat and holds it there until the trailer ends.

    Can’t wait to see this film!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’d get on well with my mom – she hates Peeta. I can’t understand why. What could be better than a guy who’s sweet and will make you baked goods? (Well, super-awesome ninja skills come to mind, but… anyway…)

      • Charley R says:

        He’s boring, he’s basic, he’s passive, and he’s about as useful and helpful to Katniss as a wet flannel. That’s what I think of him anyway. At least Gale TRIED to help her out – he fed her family while she was in the Games ,he helped instigate the rebellions. Peeta just kind of tags along and gets captured and ends up being more hindrance than help most of the time.

        • nevillegirl says:

          But he’s sweet and good with words and snuggles with Katniss when she has nightmares and kept the Careers away from her and could frost people to death!

          • Charley R says:

            I will give him credit for that one line: “Yes, frosting! The final defence of the dying.”

            Other than that – WHAT GOOD IS SNUGGLING WHEN PEOPLE ARE DYING. D.Y.I.N.G. And then he nearly got her killed himself and . . . shut up Charley, you’ll not stop if you get started.

            • nevillegirl says:

              *is stubborn* I like snuggling. xD

              • Charley R says:

                I do, too, but it has a time and place. And arguably in the middle of a rebellion, when there are far more productive things one should be doing, is not one of them. Well, not to me at least. I guess the fact that I’m one of those horrible readers who put a lot of pressure on Katniss to be stronger than she probably is kind of plays into it.

                • nevillegirl says:

                  I would be like,”Forget about the rebellion! Let’s frost people instead!” Fighting = me no like.

                  • Charley R says:

                    I’m no fighter, either. I’d probably find the fastest way out of Panem, dig a hole, stockpile food and supplies, and wait until everything calmed down and I felt safe enough to risk my skin by going back for a looksee as to how things worked out.

                    Then again, I probably would have run away from Panem long before that. I’m a coward, yes, but not enough of a coward to stick around when I know there is every likelihood I’ll end up dead anyway. I’ll be brave enough to flee if it means I can be enough of a wuss to live.

      • Mom says:

        Peeta is just a shadow of a man…just made of flour and frosting….

      • nevillegirl says:

        The only place that terrifies me more than Panem is Westeros. Killer fluffy squirrels and tracker jackers > Cersei and pigs that rip you open.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

