“Pass The Parcel” Blog Tag

bookparty_zpsaff53714[1]

If you think I talk about books too much, you should see the Notebook Sisters’ blog. Lately they’ve had a ton of YA author interviews and other book-related posts as part of their book blog party. I’m doing their YA books blog tag because it looks fun.*

*Actually I’m doing it because it’s a way to get more entries for their book giveaway thing, but let’s pretend I’m not quite so opportunistic, shall we?

1. Name your top 5 favorite YA authors!

Suzanne Collins, Maggie Stiefvater, Kirsten Miller, Eoin Colfer, and J.K. Rowling.

2. What’s the last YA book you read and what did you think of it?

It was The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth and it was very good in the way that books can be when you think about a hundred pages should’ve been cut. No really, it was good but Danforth needed to edit a bit.

3. What’s your favorite YA genre (Dystopian, romance, sci-fi, contemporary, etc.)?

Science fiction and dystopian! I love everything from the Hunger Games trilogy and The Giver to Divergent and pretty much anything by Margaret Peterson Haddix (Turnabout, Double Identity, Running out of Time, Escape from Memory, the Shadow Children series, and more).

4. Let’s talk characters! Pick a character you love and tell us why?

I think I’m supposed to put a YA character here.

I love Blue from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. She’s not afraid to be smart and quirky. She’s also very sensible (which she doesn’t like to be told but I admire it anyway) so when a boy likes her and she likes him back, she doesn’t spend every waking hour thinking about him like Bella Swan would. This is a very good thing.

5. Top YA villain?

Probably Bellatrix Lestrange from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I think she’s pretty cool.

I have this problem where I like villains.

6. Top YA couple?

Haymitch & alcohol! Um, sorry. For real, it’s Gregor & Luxa from the Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins. I love how they deal with coming from two very different cultures, and how their love story plays out nice and slowly over the course of five books.

I don’t have many favorite couples from YA, though. I read a lot of YA but most of my favorite couples come from adult stuff like All Men of Genius or Lord of the Rings. There aren’t even many couples in those books and I still prefer them to most of the YA stuff, perhaps because YA romance tends to be, “Ohmigod my boyfriend’s so sparkly and handsome ohmigod I can’t even!”

7. With dystopian on the decline, what do you think will be the next hot trend in YA?

I’d like it to be either steampunk or really good high fantasy (not Tolkien ripoffs like Paolini’s Inheritance series), but who knows? I hope it’s not romance but it does look like it’s going that way, doesn’t it?

8. What’s the next YA book on your to-be-read pile?

  • Kiki Strike: The Darkness Dwellers by Kirsten Miller
  • The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller
  • All You Desire by Kirsten Miller
  • Probably some books not by Kirsten Miller

9. What’s the fastest time you’ve ever finished reading a book in? (And what was the book?!)

The Hunger GamesΒ by Suzanne Collins and The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien each took me around two or three hours. I’ve read some books more quickly but they were also much shorter, so I chose those two because they’re long which I like.

10. (And now for the burning question!) Do you think books should be sorted according to colour or title? (This matters.)

Neither. Doesn’t everyone sort by genre, including a shelf for all-time favorite books?

And no, I don’t know why they called it “Pass the parcel”.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to “Pass The Parcel” Blog Tag

  1. Ha! Beat you to it.

    Gregor and Luxa would have been a brilliant couple had Collins not committed suicide and contrived a reason not to let them stay together. Logically, Gregor and his family should have moved underground, but does Collins ever think logically? No!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I think you’re really wrong there. I loved the ending to Code of Claw exactly because it’s so ambiguous. That’s one of my favorite kinds of endings. Collins never says whether Gregor’s family moves to Virginia, stays in NYC (perhaps continuing to visit the Underland, but maybe not), or moves to the Underland permanently. Personally, I’ve always chosen to believe that Gregor went back down (followed by his family, but not right away) and eventually married Luxa and they lived happily ever after and maybe went up to NYC every so often for pizza. πŸ˜€ I have it all worked out in my head.

      But anyway, I LOVED the ending. I can’t describe how much I love that kind.

      • That’s called being too lazy to tie up loose ends.

        • nevillegirl says:

          No it’s not, Mr. Judgmental. True, some authors are too lazy to tie up loose ends, but it’s quite nice when others tie things up just enough so that the readers can decide what happens. Lois Lowry’s The Giver is another excellent example of this.

          • themagicviolinist says:

            ACKKKKK DON’T TALK ABOUT THE ENDING!!!! XD ;P I tried not to read it (which I didn’t). If you like ambiguous endings though (okay, yes, I saw that part) and bizarre stuff (which you seem to like) you should read “Going Bovine” by the extremely odd author, Libba Bray. It’s hilarious! (A video-gaming, death-obsessed dwarf, a Norse god disguised as a garden gnome, a kid with mad-cow disease in its human form, a punk-rock angel, and hallucinations all tied together)! πŸ˜‰

  2. Leinad says:

    You read The Return of the King in 2 – 3 hours? *keels over backwards in surprise*

    I think I read it in about nine days the first time, but even if I read it in one sitting it would have taken me at the very least eight hours, and the Hunger Games would have taken at least six hours. You don’t know how I envy you πŸ˜‰

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, all the Gondor stuff was really interesting. The second, more hobbit-focused half of RotK took me longer… well… still only like two hours…

      • Leinad says:

        What I find so surprising is how you can read so quickly, not how you managed to stay focussed for 2 – 3 hours. I can read an interesting book for that long, I just can’t cover as many pages in that time.

        • nevillegirl says:

          If it’s something interesting, I kind of read in big chunks. For example, if I’m reading stuff for Physics (which I hate) then my brain starts to shut down from boredom and I have to really pay attention and read slowly. Otherwise I read like lightning. xD

  3. cait says:

    Thanks for doing the tag (even though you confessed to your true motives…hehe. I’ll forgive you). πŸ˜‰ Haymitch and alcohol?! YES. Never seen a love so true. I do hope fantasy is on the rise, too, only it feels like Tolkien did everything worth doing (and he did it with such epic flair too) that everything else seems, “Meh, it’s been done.” I just read “Seraphina” though, which was a fresh take on dragons! Woot!

  4. themagicviolinist says:

    Haymitch and alcohol. XD Okay I totally laughed out loud at that one.

    I think Suzanne Collins does an EXCELLENT job of putting just enough romance in her books to keep people happy while not overdoing it. These other books (like Divergent, Matched, and other dystopian romances) are good, but the romance is a bit too mushy and too–MUCH. Take note, future authors.

    I don’t really sort my books, but I do have a shelf for all-time favorites (except Harry Potter has its own special spot on my dresser complete with bookends, Fantastic Creatures and Where to Find Them, Quidditch Through the Ages, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard) and one for my library books so they don’t get mixed up with my regular books. (And, yes that has happened before. Not fun spending half of your day trying to find one particular book. In my house it’s like looking for a needle in a haystack).

    • themagicviolinist says:

      OH OH OH and Miriam Joy agreed to be interviewed on my blog!!!! πŸ˜€ YAY!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I still think Gregor & Luxa outdo Katniss & Peeta by a long shot, though.

      I have a section of one shelf just for “Harry Potter-related books that aren’t actually in the series” – the HP cookbook, sheet music from the movies, books about how they made the movies, both editions of HP & Philosophy, etc. πŸ˜€

      • themagicviolinist says:

        I need to get a move on with the Gregor books, then. πŸ˜‰

        I MUST get the HP cookbook! πŸ˜€ I forgot there was even such a thing. XD ;P

        • nevillegirl says:

          Eep, you haven’t read them? I thought you had. πŸ˜› I was totally uninterested in THG as the books were being published which is funny considering that Collins was already a favorite author and I was so excited when the last book came out.

          The recipe for treacle tart is delicous. πŸ˜€

          • themagicviolinist says:

            Well, I read the first two, because we own them, but the third one that I got from the library had to go back because our library got bedbugs. o.O But they got it all fixed up now so I’ll get it back soon. XD ;P

            Mmm, I’m hungry.

  5. Charley R says:

    Ehehe, yay Blue! She is a pretty cool character, though I feel she gets a bit too hung up on her curse sometimes. Nevertheless, she’s cool and I like her so there. Even if Ronan and Chainsaw the crow are the cutest things ever.

  6. Asdfghjklasdfkhgwogh, you read Return of the King in 2-3 HOURS?! *mulls over this factoid* That’s impressive! Some of us took quite a bit longer with that one. πŸ™‚

  7. Niamh says:

    This is interesting! I have so many ships I can’t keep track of them xD

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

