A Perfect Day

“Stan Fields: Miss Rhode Island, please describe your idea of a perfect date.                  Cheryl: That’s a tough one. I’d have to say April 25th. Because it’s not too hot, not too cold, all you need is a light jacket.”

Miss Congeniality

The weather today was lovely, by the way.

Well, I’m sorry. I intended to write either a sane post about why Miss Congeniality is a great movie and everyone should watch it, or a serious post about what makes a perfect day. But school, softball practice, and studying for my Spanish final got in the way and now I don’t have much time to write, so you get this insane thing.

10 Reasons Today Was Nearly Perfect (Because “Perfect” Is Hard To Achieve)

1. My brother laughed like a crazy duck. Multiple times. It’s one of his talents and it amuses me very much.

2. The first half of my Spanish final is tomorrow which means I’m slightly nervous but on the other hand, there’s not that much time left to worry about it! Yay! I can’t wait until it’s over!

3. I wrote about penguins in a story. Penguins are adorable and make great characters. (I should know; I wrote a whole novel with a penguin as the main character.)

4. My coaches said I did really well at softball practice.

5. I began learning to play this song on the piano.

6. My textbook for college writing class came in the mail and it looks really cool. (Sorry, I’m a nerd. I get excited about these things.)

7. When I drove to and from practice, my mom didn’t shriek or hold on to the car for dear life or any of the other things she usually does when I drive, so I must be getting better.

8. My mom announced that I can get a cell phone soon! Yippee!

9. Physics was actually kind of fun. Parallel and series circuits.

10. My very nice mother let me use the computer until late to write this.

But now she’s telling me to log off, so – bye!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Perfect Day

  1. Charley R says:

    Sounds like a very nice day you had there!

  2. Amanda says:

    I would get excited about textbooks, too. As a matter of fact, I do…I actually think I may be more excited than my mom when our curriculum gets here every year 😛

  3. Pingback: Shiny, Inspirationally Bloggy [Award] | Miss Alexandrina

  4. Artgirl says:

    Wow. Today and yesterday have both been nearly perfect for me as well.

  5. orphu44 says:

    I WANT YOUR WRITING TEXTBOOK BECAUSE THAT IS ACTUALLY REALLY EXCITING. *surreptitiously steals textbook*

  6. Mary says:

    I love so much that you posted that quote from Miss Congeniality! 😀 Is it just me, or did you not get why people thought Cheryl’s answer was strange the first time you heard it? Maybe I was just very young.

    Hope your Spanish final went well 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      No, I got it the first time. 😀 We watched that movie the other day and I… well… snorted a lot like Miss Congeniality because it was funny.

      I got an A! 🙂

      • Mary says:

        Congrats! By the way, is your new blog tagline from somewhere? I feel I’ve heard it before but can’t think where.

        PS: It’s an awesome tagline.

        • nevillegirl says:

          Thanks!

          It’s an Oscar Wilde quote. I’ve actually been trying to find a better quote by him, but haven’t found anything good yet. He has loads of great quotes, but I’m trying to find something related to this blog.

          • Mary says:

            Good old Oscar Wilde 🙂 The one you have now is pretty good, not that I’m trying to discourage you from changing it or anything. From what I’ve seen, you have pretty good taste in quotes.

            Have just realised my own blog tagline is still related to winter. I should probably change that.

    • nevillegirl says:

      He even has quotes about quoting! “Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone elses opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”

    • nevillegirl says:

      I need to review The Importance Of Being Earnest…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

