A Unexpected Literary Dinner Party

Many months ago, I wrote a post for the August 2011 NaBloPoMo based on this prompt:

What character would you want to have over for dinner and what would you cook?”

It was a horrid post. It was one of those where you look at it later and think, “Gosh, I stank at writing back then!” So I’m redoing it. The first time I listed only Julia Child, who isn’t even fictional. The characters below aren’t necessarily my favorites from the books they’re in – I think they would just be very interesting to talk to.

Kate at The Magic Violinist did a post with the same idea the other day, so I’m stealing the list she used because otherwise my post wasn’t very organized. As a thank-you, I’m going to promote her guest post about Luna Lovegood because it was very cool. So check it out, because it’s very cool.

1. One character who likes to cook. I pick Peeta Mellark from Suzanne Collin’s Hunger Games trilogy. I’d give him specific instructions to make all kinds of things, because not even fictional characters can live on bread and frosted items alone.

2. One character who has money to fund the party. Edmund Pevensie from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis is presumably loaded at least in Narnia, as he’s one of the kings. I love how sarcastic he is. I think I’d have all the sarcastic people sit next to one another and we’d have lots of fun.

3. One character who might cause a scene. Pippin and Merry from the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien are inseparable, so I choose both. They would sit on either side of me so I could keep an eye on them. I would also inform them that there is to be no drunken dancing on tables – just because they did that throughout the first and second films doesn’t mean they can at my party.

4. One character who is amusing. Ripred from the Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins has a very sarcastic sense of humor. I’m sure he could tell us some great stories about fighting in the Underland. Also, I’m pretty sure he would love me forever for making his favorite food (see below).

5. One character who is super social or popular. That would be Ashton Adams from All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen. He’s quite a bit more social than his sister, Violet, who would just lock herself in the laboratory. He’s also a writer and people who write are awesome and automatically get a place at my table.

6. One villain. I choose The Joker from Batman. Better keep the knives away from him! (Although I’m sure if he really wanted to he could find a way to cut people with spoons.) There are other villains I find more interesting but I’m trying to not choose more than one character from the same book/movie/thing.

7. One couple (doesn’t have to be romantic). I would invite Khal Drogo and his wife Daenerys Targaryen from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. Dany would be fascinating to talk to, but I’d be much more interested in watching Drogo eat because I’m pretty sure the Dothraki don’t use silverware. It would be amusing to see this important leader guy make a big mess all over the table. 

8. One hero/heroine. I’d have to say Miss Marple from Agatha Christie’s mysteries because she’s such a strange old lady. She would probably continually tell us weird things about each other because she sees clues no one else does. She’d probably think I asked her there to solve a mystery and would tell me that Ripred, The Joker, Dany and Drogo, and Éowyn have all killed people, to which I’d say, “Yep, and can you check on Peeta? I can’t remember if he killed anyone in the Games. Maybe he beat them to death with a breadstick.”

9. One underappreciated character. Narcissa Malfoy from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling does not usually get her due. She’s a really interesting character; I like how she’s conflicted between staying loyal to her husband who’s a Death Eater, and trying to protect her son whom she doesn’t want to be a Death Eater.

10. One character of your own choosing. OK, so I lied. I already chose characters from Lord of the Rings and I said I’d try not to, but I have to have Éowyn and she doesn’t fit anywhere else on this list! She kicks butt. We could talk about how annoying it is when people think there’s no women in Middle-earth. Also, I changed my mind about babysitting the hobbits – I’ll have her do that instead because she likes them so much.

The Menu

  • Shrimp in cream sauce for Ripred.
  • Those little sausages that Daenerys like.
  • Jell-O for the Khal because I refuse to let him eat horsemeat. (Also, have you ever tried to eat Jell-O with your hands? Very, very amusing.)
  • Muffins for Ashton.
  • Pears for Peeta.
  • Stew for Éowyn.
  • Chocolate Frogs for Narcissa.
  • Raw meat because that seems like something The Joker would eat.
  • Turkish Delight for Edmund.
  • Tea for Miss Marple.
  • I’m fairly sure that hobbits will eat anything so Pippin and Merry may take their pick from any of the above.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to see if we have any tea and pears. What color should the Jell-O be?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, I am a French Chef!, NaBloPoMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Unexpected Literary Dinner Party

  1. Artgirl says:

    I would definately come to this dinner party. I love that you invited Ripred, mostly because I’m happy when people include references to The Underland Chronicles because I think they’re just as good as THG. Also he’s an awesome character. *starts plotting a fiendish plan to sneak into the dinner party* Fiendish plan is one of my current favorite phrases.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Mostly I just want to watch him stick his whole snout in a bowl of shrimp in cream sauce. I want to eat that some time, just to see if it’s any good.

      This seems to give the impression that I have this weird fascination with watching people eat. xD That is not the case…

  2. orphu44 says:

    What’s the end of the last sentence about Ripreeeed? *hasn’t actually finished the post but is really curious* *goes back to read the rest*

  3. Charley R says:

    Oh my stars, what I wouldn’t give to be present at this party! Eowyn, Dany and Drogo would totally bond instantly over horses, just saying. Oh my stars, this would be the most epic dinner party ever!

  4. Oh, I’d love to go to that dinner party. Excuse me while I sneak in.

  5. Pingback: The Award that Tells You That I Am Inspiring | Avon's Babbles

  6. matttblack42 says:

    May I come to this dinner party? Warning: If you say no I will be forced to sneak in using the invisibility cloak I stole from Harry Potter.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Sure. Wanna sit next to… I think you would get on very well with Drogo.

      • matttblack42 says:

        I don’t know. He made fun of mys shoes once and we haven’t talked since.

        Also, may I bring my date Katniss Everdeen? She won’t cause any trouble as long as there’s no roasted pigs with apples in their mouths.

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’ve read ASOIAF? 😀

      I suppose. How’d you get her to break up with Peeta?

      • matttblack42 says:

        I haven’t read it, but I’m planning to. I actually know nothing about the character of Drogo other than what you wrote about him in this post. 😦 But he still did make fun of my shoes that one time.

        Katniss never broke up with Peeta. Peeta died in a tragic cake accident (the cake randomly exploded, killing everyone in District 12 but Katniss).

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ah. That’s probably because he’s too cool for shoes.

      But he was reincarnated for my dinner party? Neat.

  7. themagicviolinist says:

    Red jello. It’s a classic. 😉

    Pears for Peeta . . . am I forgetting something in the book?

    You’re completely right. Narcissa Malfoy is VERY under-appreciated (under-appreciated or underappreciated?). I bet she has a whole interesting backstory there somewhere.

    Ha ha! XD Pippin and Merry would cause QUITE a scene.

    Awesome party! 😀 Can I come? 😉

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

