The 2012-2013 School Year In Review

I don’t think it’s too early to do this post – we’ve always finished our homeschooling before the local public schools end their year. I have about two more weeks left of regular work and my second semester of college Spanish wraps up tomorrow after I take the final.

When my brother Quentin and I were younger one of our writing assignments towards the end of the year was to write about our favorite and least favorite parts of the school year, so I’m going to do that now.

The Good

1. Spanish 101 and 102 at college. Taking these classes gave me a lot of confidence. I now know that my Spanish skills are actually pretty good for my level. I learned so much vocabulary and feel like I’ve finally gotten the hang of conjugation. It’s also cool that other people there don’t think I’m only in high school. My 102 teacher found out just the other day that I’m only a sophomore and she was so impressed I thought she was going to fall out of her chair. 

2. Studying world religions. I’ll probably do a separate post of what I loved about this subject but I thought I should list it here anyway. I love learning about other cultures, including their religions. I’m an atheist but I think it’s fascinating how religion impacts the lives of others. Very frequently while reading/watching stuff for the course I’d go, “Oh, so that’s why they do/say that! That makes sense now!” Finally, I understand things like the difference between Sunni and Shia Islam or the Christian God-is-three-parts thing. 

3. Studying classical mythology as part of English. OK, so I’m not too fond of Ovid’s stuff. Also the lectures I watch as part of my coursework are a little weird because the teacher reads sexual symbolism into everything. But I get to read about Heracles! And Medea! And the Trojan War! And it all counts as school! My favorite part is probably the writing assignment – I have to write a short story using some of the characters/plots from my reading. I’m currently working on several because I keep changing my idea, but the final one will probably be about Heracles because he’s hilarious. He’s so strong and powerful but not very smart. 

The Bad

1. Physics. I like science but I prefer “squishier” science, as I call it – like biology. It’s easy for me to picture the parts of a cell or the insides of a frog but it’s much more difficult for me to imagine the forces acting on an object. I guess that’s because the forces themselves aren’t actually seen, just their effects. I am so happy that we have only one more chapter left!

2. Studying for the Academic Bowl. I enjoying participating in the actual Bowl but studying was a pain. The theme was “The Glory That Was Greece” and after a while all the names of places and people began to blur together in my head. (Why couldn’t they have had nice normal names like Bob and Joe? Far less confusing.) I don’t even want to write about this anymore. If only there were some way to know everything in the world without having to study it.

3. Civics. I like the subject itself, just not my textbook for it. Why can’t those horrid books be written like normal ones? I hate having to read the same sentence three times to understand what they’re saying. I could probably write better textbooks but they would probably be kind of funny and teachers would hate me because their students would be laughing too hard to take notes.

So my sophomore year is more or less finished. I can’t believe I’m already halfway through high school. I don’t know how I feel about that. My parents are starting to ask (read: pester) me more often about starting to look at colleges. Having attended college part-time, I’m not scared of it so on one hand I’m looking forward to seeing how I handle more classes when I attend full-time. I also just want to move out and see if I can live on my own without my mommy and daddy saving me from various things (read: myself).

But at the same time I’m slightly worried, not so much about college but about the thought that in three years I’ll independent. (Because of Indiana age cutoffs for school, I’ll be almost nineteen when I complete my senior year.) I mean, this is me you’re talking about. I’m the person who still loves picture books and often forgets which shoe is the left instead of the right.

And on that weird note, I’m going to end this post with a random song because I can’t think of a good way to wrap this up.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The 2012-2013 School Year In Review

  1. maridamikili says:

    Awww, I love physics but I don’t like biology because biology is just plain confusing (example: amines, epinephrine, dopamine, etc.) Also, Spanish is too mainstream for me, I’d rather take Chinese (actually I also grew up speaking Chinese so I could test out of a couple of courses pretty easily….. XD) Anyway, I’m still finishing up eighth grade and is dying to get into high school.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’d been studying Spanish off and on at home since about fourth or fifth grade, so that’s why I continued with it. 😀 I’d rather try Latin but the college doesn’t have it.

  2. Artgirl says:

    You should read Feed by M.T. Anderson. It gives perfect subtextual (if that wasn’t a word then it is now) evidence as to why having access to immesurable knowledge without actually learning it does not make you intelligent. Plus it’s part satire, but also serious. So, um, *coughs*.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve read that. I didn’t like it too much, but I think that was due to the author’s writing style rather than his ideas.

      • Artgirl says:

        Funny, we were just talking about that in English class today. We agreed that the writing style definately wasn’t for everyone

  3. Charley R says:

    Oh wow! I still have a good four or five weeks left until my exams are over, and my school term doesn’t end until early July – which is very early, for British schools!

    That said, I’m glad you seem to be enjoying your college stuff! And don’t be scared. I was looking around universities last year, and being hopeless at normal life i felt I’d die instantly there, but they’re really very nice places, and the courses are awesome, and the independence, I think, will come with time and practice. Then again, you still have the rest of high school to go – enjoy it, if you can! Enjoying school is always . . . interesting 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      Whoa! Here the public schools are usually done in early June. When does the next term start, though? Because they have to start again in August.

      I hope so. It’s just such a big decision… oh, why hasn’t my Hogwarts letter come?!?!

      • Charley R says:

        We start in early September, but this coming year they’re starting in August. Madness.

        I know, I know, tragic, eh? Must have got lost in lieu of the Battle of Hogwarts.

  4. Amanda says:

    I love Spanish. With my virtual school, I took the first highschool class of Spanish this year, so next year in 9th grade I’ll take their last one…:( Sad! I don’t know where I’m going to learn more! I’m of the mind that if you’ve taken all of middle school and your first year of highschool to learn a language, and you actually enjoyed it, you shouldn’t just drop it–end there.

    Anyway…

    This is an interesting post. Never thought of doing something like this before. Although, er, you have a typo in your title…heheh.

  5. Andrea says:

    I couldn’t agree more about Civics! I took a sort of group-homeschooler Civics class this year, and it has been torture thus far. I cannot wait until it’s over…:D

  6. Miriam Joy says:

    Our schools usually finish around the 20th July and we go back in the first week of September. Charley has a slightly longer holiday because she’s at private school. Seriously, though – my exams start next week, so I get some time out of lessons, but then I’m in school from 7th June until some time around ti

    • Miriam Joy says:

      Thanks, WordPress app, for posting my comment when I hadn’t finished it.
      Yeah, basically I have another two and a bit months before I break up for summer, which lasts six weeks. It sucks. It never ceases to amaze me how early you US people finish.

      • nevillegirl says:

        Ah, but then some of our schools start back up again as early as the first week of August! Even I usually do math during the summer (so I don’t forget it) and this year I’m also doing college writing starting sometime in June, I think. So I’m not technically “done”.
        Also, when else do you have breaks? I think we might not have as many throughout the year.

        • Miriam Joy says:

          I added all the weeks up with someone once. We still get less, though I don’t think it’s quite as much. We get a week in October, February and May (‘half term break’), two weeks at Christmas and Easter, and six weeks in the summer. That adds up to thirteen weeks of holiday per year.

          • Leinad says:

            All you northern hemisphere people are so weird, starting the school year in August! We all know all *sensible* people start school at the start of the year 😉

            But really, I think Australia is most similar to the UK, except that we start at a different time. We have seven weeks off from the middle of December till the start of February, and then we have two weeks off each in April, July and September.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hmmm. We get a week each of fall break and spring break, Thanksgiving weekend (four days total), two weeks at Christmas, and around ten in the summer. So I guess we do get more. Ha ha, I thought you guys got more. *can’t imagine getting two weeks off just for Easter*

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Easter is our Spring break. We just call it easter.
        So you get … fourteen, fifteen weeks?

        • nevillegirl says:

          About, yeah. I’d rather have a shorter summer break and more time off during the school year, though. Summer vacation always goes by too quickly… maybe that’s because after school is done I have 11 4-H projects to finish and by the time I’ve finished there’s only three weeks left. *hates her ambition sometimes*

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

