First Reactions To “The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug” Film Trailer

Earlier this afternoon, I was not writing. I was procrastinating by listening to music on YouTube. “What should I post today?” I wondered… just as I noticed that The Desolation of Smaug trailer had been released today. AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! Sorry. I’ve looked forward to the trailer and the film since I walked out of the theater after seeing An Unexpected Journey. If the video won’t load, here’s the link.

Warning: Spoilers ahead, so read/watch at your own risk!

0:04 – Erebor is so pretty! I wonder where the real mountain is. (Presumably somewhere in New Zealand, as everything else was filmed there…)

0:11 – I want to marry the scenery. Just saying.

0:20 – I thought Elrond was narrating and I couldn’t figure out why, since there’s no real reason for him to be the next two films. But it’s Thranduil…

0:22 – …and I’m really looking forward to this scene between he and Thorin. The dwarf is so snarky in the books. “What were you doing in the forest?” “Looking for food.” “Why were you looking for food?” “Because we’re starving.”

0:23 – This music had better make it into the score.

0:24 – THE BARRELS! Sorry, I know I must seem crazy to people who aren’t Middle-earth fans. But after Riddles In The Dark (introduction of Gollum), this is my favorite: the dwarves escape from the elves’ dungeons by hiding in barrels due to be sent down the river. It’s a goofy scene and I love it.

0:24 – I don’t remember this scene, but I feel like I should. Does Bilbo ever sit in a tree while butterflies flutter by?

0:30 – I am so confused. The dwarves are escaping in barrels, but elves are shooting arrows at them. I didn’t think they noticed the dwarves at all in the book (because they were so drunk from partying, yo).

0:34 – If you go with me to see Desolation of Smaug and you grab me during this scary scene with the gigantic Mirkwood spiders, I will shriek. And then hit you.

0:34 – Oh dear, Legolas or “Captain Obvious”.

0:39 – Split-second shot of a bear – is that Beorn?

0:44 – Apparently Laketown looks just like Diagon Alley in Harry Potter. Who knew?

0:48 – Some Tolkien purists don’t like that Peter Jackson added Tauriel the elf so there’d be a female character. I don’t mind, though. She seems cool, maybe a bit like Éowyn. The only thing I’m worried about is this rumor that she might be a love interest for one of the dwarves. I guess I don’t mind if she is, but I don’t want that to be all she is. I also think it will make the movie a little weird because The Hobbit is a children’s fantasy/adventure story, not romance.

0:50 – The scene where Bilbo slides into the gold-filled lair of Smaug didn’t particularly capture me in the book – but this is what I love about film adaptations. They show the majesty and beauty that was hard to imagine before. Just look at those piles of gold…

1:03 – Gosh, Thranduil, pluck your eyebrows. Really.

1:09 – I don’t like this subplot with Azog the Orc. I realize that it is canon (check the Appendices of Lord of the Rings) but it wasn’t in The Hobbit and it just makes the story confusing. I understand why they added the subplot with the Necromancer, because he’s Sauron. He is actually important later. Azog isn’t. Oh, I just had a horrible thought – what if he kills Thorin?

1:18 – Raise your hand if you imagined Bard as a dumpy, middle-aged guy instead of the handsome cross between Legolas and Éomer that he apparently is. Yeah. I thought so.

1:30 – Nothing especially great is happening now, so I’ll use the time to ask if anyone knows what mountain was used for Erebor.

1:38 – SANTA! I mean, BALIN!

1:48 – Finally, Smaug! I hope they make him more of a character than he was in the book. See, Tolkien is generally awesome but he has a few small problems, one of which is characterization. The Hobbit doesn’t go into detail for anyone besides Bilbo, Gandalf, and Thorin. Even then I think including Gandalf and Thorin is a bit of a stretch. Tolkien makes such a big deal about Smaug but when Bilbo actually meets him, it’s… not that interesting.

1:56 – What, we aren’t going to get to hear him speak yet? I’m going to have a sad.

2:02 – I still don’t know where Erebor was filmed, but I found this neat link showing where other places were shot.

I love this trailer, but I think I loved the one for An Unexpected Journey more. Maybe that’s because it was the first of The Hobbit trilogy. Maybe it was because we saw Gollum – I wish he’d been in this trailer but there’s honestly no reason he should be. I don’t think he leaves his cave until a few years after the events of The Hobbit, if I remember the Appendices’ timeline correctly. Oh, well. I also wish we’d seen more of Tauriel, Gandalf, Thorin, and Mirkwood, but you can’t have everything.

What do you think about the trailer for The Desolation of Smaug? Are you a Tolkien nerd who will see the film on opening day?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to First Reactions To “The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug” Film Trailer

  1. Erin says:

    I just saw the trailer a couple hours ago and freaked out. I am so excited for movie; I will be one of those nerds waiting outside the theater in sunshine or snow for the midnight premiere. I attended An Unexpected Journey midnight, and so I will not miss this one. I can’t. I MUST GO.

    Okay, so please refresh my memory, fellow Tolkienite, since it’s been a while since I’ve read The Hobbit: is Thranduil actually in the book? I don’t remember him…And is Legolas (I don’t think so)? And this new elf lady (who looks kind of cool)…is she in the “Tolkien-verse” at all, or is she a completely new character that Peter Jackson created for the movie? I’m not really sure. I think I’ll go see if her name is in the Appendices.

    All in all, I really liked the trailer. Though the only thing it really didn’t include was the whole deal with the Necromancer, which I’m kind of curious about, since I’m not really sure how the movie is going to handle it. Also, have you seen the 2011 movie of The Three Musketeers? Because the actor who is playing Bard played Aramis in that movie. Yeah. He’s just slightly handsome…

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thranduil is in the book; he’s just called the Elvenking. He’s the one who gets all grumpy about dwarves being in his forest. Legolas is PRESUMABLY there since he’s Thranduil’s son, but he’s not mentioned. Tauriel is completely made up.

      It did have some of the Necromancer stuff – that’s what Gandalf and Radagast were doing. But yes, it didn’t have much of it.

  2. matttblack42 says:

    At reading 1:18 I raised my hand. I did not expect him to look like that.

  3. mom says:

    No need to post this but …
    “and I’m really looking forward to this scene between he and Thorin” in this part it should be “him and Thorin” grammar girl!! 😦

  4. orphu44 says:

    Oh my Gollum, that looks cool. Although I watched it without sound, so I dunno about the music or what Legolas said when you called him Captain Obvious.
    I love Tolkien, but I’m not going to see it on opening night. :/ I didn’t even see part one.

    • nevillegirl says:

      He said something like, “I’m gonna shoot you, dwarf, if you mess up my perfect hair.” Something along those lines.

      Egad! :O Part one is awesome!

      • orphu44 says:

        Did he, now. I can see I’m going to have to watch this with the sound on later.
        I know, I know … I’ll have to watch it eventually. But only if I can find a good LOTR fan to watch it with me, so it can be a proper Hobbit Partymoviethingamajig.

  5. Charley R says:

    I went absolutely barking when I saw this trailer, I tell you! Now a few things:

    Beorn is in his bear shape, yes, which is how he’s there. Tauriel is DEFINITELY going to have some romance in her story (the actress confirmed it, and also that it was not with Legolas. Therefore most guess it will be Kili. NOT HAPPY.).

    Also, Bard . . . dumpy middle aged man? Really? The guy who shoots a bow so hard that a single arrow pierces the single weak spot on Smaug the Terrible? Forgive me, but that sounds a slightly odd mental image. Then again, I also really liked the Azog storyline (although he didn’t actually exist at this time – he’d died several years previously in The Appendices. Also it is quite likely that he kills Thorin – dramatic moments and all that. Azog himself is looking to be slain by Dain Ironfoot, Thorin’s cousin, as happens in the Appendices, or else by Fili or Kili, or maybe even Bilbo).

    Then again, I confused Bard for Orlando Bloom playing a second character because he looks so much like Will Turner from PotC in this trailer. Sorry actor-person-whoever-you-are. Evidently my perception of all and sundry is somewhat squiffed too. Ehehehehehe!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I forgot that Beorn HAD a bear shape. I thought he just strongly resembled a bear. Well phooey! Of COURSE it’s going to be with Kili, because he’s the hot dwarf. *is sarcastic* Why can’t they mix things up for a change? What’s wrong with Ori?

      I dunno, maybe it was just that “Bard” sounds like an old guy’s name. Maybe it reminds me of “Lard”. Maybe I don’t know.

      I didn’t like the Azog storyline. I don’t mind PJ bringing in the Necromancer or even new female characters, but Azog wasn’t necessary to the plot. He showed up at otherwise great moments, making me go, “Oh, not THIS guy again, please… he’s so pointless…” But that’s just my opinonion!

      I knoweth not Will Turner nor this abbreviation “PotC”…

      • Charley R says:

        *sigh* Mass appeal, that’s what they’re after. Kili as widely regarded hottest dwarf + hot elf lady . . . you know how it is.

        Yep, he is an actually were-bear-beast! So cool!

        Really? I thought it make Thorin a bit more workable as a character. In the book he was always a bit single-minded and greedy and selfish, but adding Azog gives him a more emotional investment, which made him a lot more sympathetic to me. Also, it’s partly to do with the movie format – the lack of a single antagonist in The Hobbit could make the movie weaker, so having Azog as a prop-up not only adds a sort of urgency, but also helps keep the film more cohesive rather than the slightly episodic format of the book.

        Pirates Of The Caribbean? Heard of the films?

    • nevillegirl says:

      *grumps about* I think Fili looks better. Oh, well.

      I should’ve remembered that, as the Beorn scenes were some of my favorites in The Hobbit! Silly me.

      Now that you put it that way, it makes more sense.

      Oh, yes. I’ve never seen them, though.

      • Charley R says:

        Me too – and Dwalin! Got a bit of a thing for Dwalin.

        Don’t worry, the descriptions in the book never actually SHOW him changing shape, so it’s fair enough to forget that if you haven’t read the book in a while.

        Ehehe, I’m glad it makes sense now.

        Haven’t you? You should. They’re amazing.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Dwalin, the dwarf who looks like a biker? 😀 Dwalin’s one of my favorites. He was the first dwarf, besides Thorin, I was able to identify by face. (By now, I’ve seen way too many Hobbit things and can tell them all apart.) He’s great. I love that scene where he tries to get into the cookie jar. 🙂

      I love how each dwarf has a different personality. It wasn’t like that in the book.

      • Charley R says:

        Yes! Dwalin in the cookie jar was just awesome. And ‘Where’s the meat!?’ in Rivendell. I choked laughing.

        Yes, indeed. They’re a lot more recognisable (not all the sibling gangs have the same coloured beard, for example), and we actually have some discernable traits for most of them. I suspect we’ll get a few more in the next couple of movies, too. Looking forward to it!

  6. wolfluv745 says:

    Beautiful! Although I am SO disappointed that Tauriel is just there to add some romance to the story. I mean, it’s cool and all that they added her, but SERIOUSLY, why can’t they just have a strong female character that isn’t just there for the romance? It happens! (In real life at least…)
    And really, dwarf/elf relationships have been done way too many times before. It’s just not such a surprise anymore.
    Anyway, I am very excited for the movie. I’m also disappointed that I didn’t get to hear Smaug. Benedict Cumberbatch is a great actor with a rather… creepy… voice, perfect for a dragon. Him and Martin Freeman were great together in Sherlock, and I hope it goes just as well in The Hobbit.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I don’t think she’s JUST there to add romance. But I don’t like this idea that when you have a story with a guy and a girl, THERE MUST BE ROMANCE. Ergh. No.

      The other day I watched a little bit of Sherlock on YouTube to see what Cumberbatch’s voice sounds like. 🙂 It’ll sound cool for a dragon.

  7. Oh. My. Gollum.

    I’m speechless.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

