Happy Father’s Day! (Because I Can’t Think Of A Better Title)

Strangely enough, parents don’t feature much in the books I read (or write). Oh, they’re in there, definitely, but they’re not around for very long. Either they die or the kids are busy having adventures while the parents pretty much leave them alone. Sometimes I’ve killed my parent characters so their kids can go off and do their own thing. (Also, I like making my characters sad.) But when parents stick around I usually love them, so I’ve managed to find a few who don’t die.

Using my favorite fictional fathers (and awesome alliteration), I’m going to compile a list of qualities I like in dads. Feel free to use these when writing stories or when pointing out that if your dad wanted to be really cool, he should be more like [fill-in-the-blank].

Mr-Weasley-arthur-weasley-10180648-400-306[1]“Now Harry, you must know all about Muggles. Tell me, what exactly is the function of a rubber duck?”

It makes me very happy that Arthur Weasley did not die at the end of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I was sure he would (then again, I was sure half the Weasley family would die because there’s so many of them) but apparently J.K. Rowling kept him because she wanted some of the dads alive at the end.

Mr. Weasley’s best qualities are his enthusiasm and his individuality. He loves Muggle things like rubber ducks and “eckeltricity” – and he is openly excited about these things. Most wizards would never admit to having an interest in such things because, well, they’re for Muggles. Weasley is an flying-car-building, Muggle-loving, plug-collecting oddball, but he doesn’t care. He is his own person, even when that becomes dangerous. He encourages his many children to be that way as well.

tumblr_lsvviyIcNb1qe8j7lo1_1280[1]“War was easier than daughters…”

Eddard Stark (from George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series) is more like the fictional parents I’m used to: he dies. Sad, sad. This is directly related to his best attribute: he always tries to do the right thing (and tries to teach his children this). When Ned discovers that something is rotten in the state of Westeros*, naturally he decides to make the truth known.

Unfortunately, most people in his country aren’t as honorable as he is and will do anything, including killing innocent people, to save their own lives. I find it interesting how after his death, his children switch between trying to be good people (which doesn’t always pay off) and playing dirty (which sometimes gets you farther).

*Hey, I’m not going to spoil the series’ greatest plot twist.

ch890730“It builds character, Calvin.”

And now for something completely different! We now journey from the serious to the goofy. Calvin’s dad in Bill Watterson’s amazing Calvin and Hobbes comic strip is known only as that – Calvin’s dad. He doesn’t have a real name but that doesn’t stop him from being a great guy. I love his patience. Admittedly, sometimes he loses his cool, turns into Big Bad Dad, and yells at Calvin.

However, considering what a handful Calvin is, his dad does quite well. He keeps Calvin amused (and out of trouble!) by reading him Hamster Huey and the Gooey Kablooey night after night and giving ridiculous explanations about how the world works. And in return, Calvin shows his love by building twisted, demented snowmen saluting his dad as he walks home from work. Would that we all had such a relationship with our fathers.

Do any of these characters remind you of your own dad? What is your favorite thing about your dad?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Father’s Day! (Because I Can’t Think Of A Better Title)

  1. orphu44 says:

    I’m so happy Calvin’s dad made it onto this list. I’ve always wondered about his stories – obviously, other parents sometimes tell kids things that aren’t necessarily true, but then Calvin’s dad consistently answers Calvin’s questions with elaborate explanation that he’s just made up on the spot. No, Calvin, the WORLD used to be in black and white, and painters used then-monochromatic paint to create future-colourful paintings, and trees sneeze, and the sun is the size of a quarter. 100% TRUE.
    Although if I were to choose from the list, I’d probably choose Mr. Weasley instead, for the somewhat shallow reason that he’s very laid back. “Oh, you stole the car and semi-kidnapped your friend? Cool, how’d it go?”

    • nevillegirl says:

      I wanted to include some goofier dads because they remind me of my own. I mean, Ned doesn’t really talk about sneezing trees, does he? 🙂

      Mr. Weasley is most like my dad. My dad likes Mr. Weasley…

  2. Amanda says:

    Let’s see…of all these I’m not sure which is most like my dad. xD I’m not sure I have a “favorite thing” about mine, but I really enjoy his sense of humor and his love of learning/teaching. If we kids ask him about something, he’ll probably know the answer and he’ll be glad to tell you about it (unless it’s what a word means. Then I get told to “look it up! In an actual dictionary, mind you!”). Which is awesome for my curiosity and the love of learning I inherited. 😉

  3. Calvin and Hobbes–bless. I haven’t read that in years, and I’d forgotten about all the ridiculous explanations he comes up with. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. tinkerirock says:

    Loved this post, especially the Harry Potter reference! Keep up the good blogging!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

