Four Hundred

A happy day!

Forth, and fear no darkness! Arise! Arise, Readers of Nevillegirl! Screens shall be shaken, keyboards shall be splintered! A blog day… a purple day… ere the sun rises! Write now!… Write now!… write! Write to ruin and the world’s ending! Words! WORDS! Forth, blogglings!

I’m so very sorry about that. I was trying to find a happy picture for such a happy occasion and when I see Lord of the Rings pictures, I have this need to quote from it.

It’s not my blog’s third anniversary yet – that’s still about four months away – but this marks my four hundredth post. Wow. I can’t believe I’ve actually written that many posts. I began by babbling in a super-short introduction post. I still babble, but now my posts are longer, more serious, and more sophisticated. (I hope! People say that my writing has really improved.)

Ten Things I’ve Learned (Because I’m Smart That Way)

1. Mess around on WordPress (or whatever blogging platform you use). Click around. Find pages on the site and have a mad when you’re trying to get back there later but can’t remember how. Just explore and experiment. When I started this blog, I had no idea what I was doing. I’ve had to teach myself everything. You will too, if you haven’t already.

2. Post whatever you want. Followers are important to most bloggers, but it seems like many write for themselves. I know I do. So post what you want. If you like writing posts about hairy blue squids that wear striped pants with suspenders, go ahead. This is your blog. If you don’t write anything at all because you love photography and you post your pictures instead, that’s OK too. It’s your blog. Do what you want with it.

3. Comment on other blogs. Duh. You get more followers that way. “But how do I find other blogs that I’ll like?” you ask. Just read the point below.

4. Be patient. I like to think of it as, “If you build it, they will come.” If you post fairly regularly on your blog, eventually some people will find it. I remember when my blogroll had a whopping three links because I hadn’t found many blogs that I liked. Now I have two blogrolls (one for regular blogs and one for author blogs) with over thirty links total. So don’t give up; eventually you’ll find all kinds of wacky bloggers. For example, through The Aviculture Obsessed Homeschooler I found the NaNoWriMo YWP, which led to This Page Intentionally Left Blank which led to Teens Can Write, Too! which led to Miriam Joy Writes which led to The Quiet Voice.

5. It is possible to turn chocolate into ashes if you heat it too long. I’m sorry; I don’t know why I wrote that. That wasn’t related to blogging. But it is something I’ve learned from experience!

6. Don’t get too hung up on your number of followers. I read great blogs with about one hundred and twenty followers. I read great blogs with over a thousand followers. The amount shouldn’t matter.

7. Try commenting on an author’s blog because sometimes (if they’re really nice!) they’ll comment on yours, making you shriek with glee. Thanks, Lev AC Rosen.

8. Participate in a blog chain (like Teens Can Write, Too!) or blog party at least once. Just for the fun of it. You’ll probably find more blogs that way, too.

9. To paraphrase a line from Bill Bryson (one of my favorite authors who has never commented here), “Never promise a list of ten items if you can’t remember the tenth.” Very important.

10.

Have a lovely day and remember to comment, else I may have to hunt you down! Or something.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Four Hundred

  1. Congratulations on four hundred posts! I liked your list of tips, especially number ten. It truly is the single best piece of advice you can give.

  2. Charley R says:

    Awww, lovely post Nevillegirl! 🙂

  3. Thomas says:

    I love this post, I can relate to so many of these tidbits! I tried to relate number five to blogging on a metaphorical level for about five minutes, ha ha. You’re right that it’s important to write for yourself and to not care about the number of followers you have, because then you get stuck on what doesn’t really matter!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

