Doubt Not, Reepicheep (Narnia Letter-To-A-Character Link-Up)

tbclinkupbutton_zpsae04d02f“Where sky and water meet,
Where the waves grow sweet,
Doubt not, Reepicheep,
To find all you seek,
There is the utter East.”

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

First, an apology – I’m very busy with 4-H and a jazillion other things right now. Hence, posts might be a bit sporadic up until, I don’t know, the second or third week of July. We shall see.

Secondly, in an attempt to actually have stuff to post, I’m joining the Narnia Letter-To-A-Character link-up held over at The Book Chewers. And you should too, because you can write to anyone in the seven books and as far as I can tell, no one else has joined. Although that may just be my computer refusing to display things properly again. We shall see about that too.

-~-

Dear Reepicheep,

Here, let me hug you. I hope you didn’t mind that. You’re my favorite character and I’ve wanted to do that for a while. The Pevensies are fabulous, but no one holds a candle – or rather, a sword – to you. You have a big personality for someone so small.

For someone your size, you’re very brave. If I were a mouse – even the Narnian kind of mouse that’s much bigger than those in my world – I wouldn’t be brave enough to fight in battles. I would be snug at home, curled up with a book and a piece of cheese.

(Do mice in Narnia love cheese? I can’t remember any scenes where you ate some.)

I love your attitude. When people laugh at you, you whip out your sword and demand to know what they said. When Eustace was being a git, you called him out for it. You even stood up to Aslan and as a result, got back your tail! Most characters – and readers – expect a mouse to be meek but doubt not, Reepicheep – you stand out.

Well, that’s all I have time for now. I hope this letter finds you. In the meantime, I shall continue to find and crawl into wardrobes in the hope that one will be a passage into your country. Perhaps someday we can meet – although not where the waves grow sweet because that would be in the ocean where the sea serpent lives and it creeps me out.

Sincerely, nevillegirl

P.S. You have a very handsome tail!

-~-

In only slightly related news, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was published on June 26th, 1997. Harry Potter is sixteen years old as of yesterday! Gosh, those dark ages before the series must have been terrible. Not that I would know, as I wasn’t even one yet.

I have no idea where I was going with this. Goodbye, and have a good evening unless you’re in a time zone ahead of me and you’ve already gone to bed.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Doubt Not, Reepicheep (Narnia Letter-To-A-Character Link-Up)

  1. cait says:

    Thanks for linking up with us!! (And yes, you are the sole linker, but that’s okay. We’re still a baby blog. 😉
    AWESOME letter. I particularly like Reepicheep too, I mean, who else would have the guts to ask Aslan for a new tail AFTER Aslan had told you you were being vain? Arguing with Aslan? Woah! Brave mouse! Let me know how that hug goes down for you…or if you get your ears loped off. 😉

  2. Lily (Professor) says:

    One can never extol the virtues of Reepicheep enough, something too few people seem to appreciate — I hope you know how happy seeing this post made me. He has been my favorite literary character since I was 5 or 6, and I can recall multiple occasions where, on costume days at my elementary school, I came clad in mouse ears, a tail, a feathered band, and a sword at my hip. It was his influence also, I believe, that convinced me to begin fencing — and to approach my opponents with the honor that I do. (Okay, his and Inigo Montoya’s…)

    Again, seeing someone else appreciate a character for the values that have become so important in my life and the memories of my childhood is always a wonderful thing. I would, however, love to acknowledge a quote of his which has practically become my life’s philosophy. As they approach Ramandu’s table in The Voyage of the Dawn Treader and debate spending the night there to discover its mysteries, Reepicheep is appalled at everyone else’s preference to go back to the ship. His explanation as to why is one of the literary quotes that I actually use to shape my own decision making process: ” ‘Because,’ said the Mouse, ‘this is a very great adventure, and no danger seems to me so great as that of knowing when I get back to Narnia that I left a mystery behind me through fear.’ ”

    I remember sitting on the edge of a snorkeling boat in Hawaii, terrified out of my mind at the prospect of leaving its safety to a place where there was nothing but dozens of feet of open water below me, when this quote came to mind (perhaps rather aptly, considering the nautical connection). Would I return home wishing I hadn’t stayed on the ship? I decided not to let it happen, and it resulted in the closest encounter I have ever had with a beautiful marine creature — a sea turtle swam right next to me. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life — and I owe it all to a talking mouse.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m glad. ^_^ This definitely isn’t one of my better posts, but I’m glad it made you so happy. Is Dawn Treader your favorite book of the series? It is for me, and while The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe is great, I feel it’s overrated.

      That’s a great quote. 😀 I try to keep that sort of thing in mind, although it doesn’t always work. I just think, “OK, I’m here [usually somewhere far away from home]. When am I going to come back, if ever? I should go ahead and do X, even if it scares me a little. It’ll make memories.”

      • Lily (Professor) says:

        Yes, Dawn Treader’s been my favorite since I first read the books. I read it over and over again when I was little, more than any of the others — our copy’s falling apart at the seams now. I love it partially because of Reepicheep and partially because of Eustace’s story. He’s another of my favorite characters.

    • nevillegirl says:

      The cover has fallen off our copy of Dawn Treader. 🙂

      Edmund and Eustace are both great characters. They’re such jerks at the beginning of their respective stories, but they really improve.

  3. Lydia says:

    Reepicheep rules! Thanks for joining the linkup =)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

