4-H Fair 2013: Black And White Photography

Part two of a series.

I can’t believe I’ve been in the Photography project for four years already – and if I’d know how much fun it is, I would have joined earlier! This year I entered four exhibits, as I usually do. This post focuses only on the black and white entries, my favorite type of photography.

DSCN2516Date taken: February 2013

Subject of photo: Shakespeare book and fairy necklace

I think this is a pretty picture all on its own, with the shiny metal and the just-slightly-blurry text, but it’s even more cool when you realize what the text is. It’s a passage from A Midsummer Night’s Dream about the fairy Puck. Hence the necklace. I’m surprised it turned out as well as it did because my camera doesn’t usually handle extreme close-ups well.

DSCN2406Date taken: August 2012

Subject of photo: Cathedral in New York City

I can’t remember which one this is; does anyone know? I’m too lazy to look it up and all I know is that it is not St. John the Divine. Anyway, I love the contrast here. On the left there’s a building based on the very old Gothic style of architecture, looking like it was transported straight from the fourteenth century. On the right, there’s a modern, no-frills office building.

DSCN2270Date taken: August 2012

Subject of photo: Apartment in New York City

I really like the unusual perspective of the fire escape. Look up and you can get all kinds of neat photos.

DSCN2306Date taken: August 2012

Subject of photo: Statue in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City

This looks like a statue of Artemis, doesn’t it? I think it is but I’m not sure. I’m quite proud of myself for figuring out how to photograph statues. I don’t think one should take the photo looking dead at the subject. It’s just not interesting. It looks like a snapshot. But if you move around a bit and find a different angle, like from one side or from below, it gives the picture more life.

DSCN2181Date taken: July 2012

Subject of photo: Street performer in Toronto

This is my favorite photograph of the year. I love everything about it – the mood, the light and dark, the way his arm is slightly blurred from playing. This was also my salon print for 4-H, which means that I had it matted and displayed it on its own in addition to putting it on a poster.

DSCN1976Date taken: July 2012

Subject of photo: A boat on my grandparents’ lake

This scene is so melancholy – a boat with no one rowing it, a deck chair with no one sitting, a lake where no one is swimming and playing and splashing. It’s so different from what the place usually looks like on the day I took the photo – the Fourth of July – but by that time, everyone had packed up and gone home.

DSCN2802Date taken: February 2013

Subject of photo: A local barn

Weathered objects in black and white look fabulous.

DSCN2618Date taken: February 2013

Subject of photo: Oranges in a basket

Just a simple, classic still-life, but it looks great, especially with the details like the fruits’ texture and slight shininess.

DSCN2274Date taken: August 2012

Subject of photo: A church in New York City

I think this picture is very peaceful, with the pretty silhouette of a church and the delicate leaves above it.

DSCN2973Date taken: July 2013

Subject of photo: 4-Hers in Washington, D.C.

I took this picture just a few weeks ago when I went on a 4-H trip. I was frustrated because there were too many people in my photos, then I realized that I could use them to my advantage. Without the kids, it’s not a very interesting picture. With them, it’s a very nice picture of friends hanging out.

I received an A Honor on my poster of ten photos and an A on my salon print. Which pictures are your favorite, and why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 4-H Fair 2013: Black And White Photography

  1. Erin says:

    Cool pictures! And the cathedral is St. Patrick’s, I believe.

  2. Miss Alexandrina says:

    Lovely photos!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! Do you have a favorite?

      • Miss Alexandrina says:

        I was wondering that, actually. Trying to choose as a viewer and a photographer.
        I think probably the first; it was the first thing I saw about the post and I was going to comment about the fact you used Midsummer Night’s Dream, but, well, you beat me to it 😉 Plus I love using books or text as the background of a photo. Do you do any acting yourself?

  3. wolfluv745 says:

    Nice job! I really love the Midsummer Night’s Dream one.

  4. wolfluv745 says:

    Yep, I am. It’s sherlockian745 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

