Bookish Pet Peeves

IMG_0052_zpsc86d3992Books make me happier than pretty much anything else in the world, with the possible exception of chocolate. And cute, fuzzy kittens. But I digress. Occasionally, books irritate even me, hence why I’m doing the weekly link-up from The Book Chewers:

“Book peeves. They’re like pet peeves, but they’re book related. What are yours?”

  • When people say, “Oh, I’ll just watch the movie” after you’ve just told them all about the book
  • When you’ve been looking forward to a movie based on a book and it turns out to be horrible
  • Authors who take forever to finish writing a book / series
  • Waiting for a sequel
  • When a book needs a sequel because it’s just that awesome, but there is no indication that there will ever be a sequel
  • When I can’t find a book with exactly the cover I want at the bookstore
  • Lord of the Rings rip-offs
  • When wonderful books are unknown so I discuss them with myself because no one else can
  • When I remember a character / quote /scene from a book, but I can’t remember what the book is
  • Authors who seem to think that YA books can only feature A) high school drama, B) romance, C) vampires, D) dystopias, or E) romantic dystopian high school drama with vampires
  • When blurbs trick you into thinking that the book isn’t about romantic dystopian high school drama with vampires but it is
  • When LGBTQ+ books don’t have blurbs saying what they’re actually about because someone somewhere might find that objectionable and the books will get banned – or something
  • Poorly written endings
  • When I read a scary book and then can’t sleep
  • When I read an awesome book and then can’t sleep because I have to spend the next five hours thinking about it
  • When librarians don’t let me check out more than ten books
  • People who interrupt me for no good reason while I’m reading
  • People who say, “Teenagers hate reading!”
  • When books have won awards and the stickers for those awards cover up a cool part of the book’s cover
  • Not being able to visit the places I read about
  • Library overdue fines
  • Paying so much in overdue fines on a certain book that I may as well buy the book
  • When terrible books are made into even more terrible movies
  • Authors who don’t describe their characters or settings well, causing me to stop reading because I have no idea how to imagine anything
  • How love triangles are nearly always about a girl and two boys, not any variation like a boy and two girls
  • People who won’t read classics because they think they’re boring
  • People who think classics are the only books worth reading
  • When the library is closed
  • The fact that I don’t work in a bookstore
  • When people assume that if any teenagers read, it’s only the girls
  • Authors who seem to think that YA protagonists can only be girls, presumably for the reason listed above
  • Books should have won awards but didn’t
  • Books that should not have won awards but did
  • Losing a favorite book
  • People who don’t think graphic novels count as real books
  • Not being able to find a book in perfect condition (corners not beat up, pages not dogeared) at a bookstore
  • Not having enough money to buy a book
  • Authors who can’t edit
  • Spilling a drink or messy food on a favorite book
  • Spilling a drink or messy food on a library book and having to pay to replace it
  • Not being read aloud to much anymore
  • Books that don’t have a good smell
  • People who think only little kids should read and love picture books

Well, that was entirely too much fun – I had to cut it off after a while because apparently I have a lot to complain about! What are your pet peeves when it comes to books?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Mom says:

    Ok, Ok…I’ll read a picture book aloud to you tonight. Pick one of your favorites!

  2. magicfishy says:

    I agree with basically all of these. The love triangle one did make me stop and think, though – I dislike love triangles on principle, but when’s the last time I’ve seen one with a boy and two girls? I know that they exist, but the only one that’s coming to mind is Les Misรฉrables, for some reason, and then I realized that is never considered that in terms of ‘love triangles before’. Maybe because it’s always obvious that Marius and Cosette will end up together or maybe because Les Mis is actually a /really good/ book. Anyways, I’m rambling. Let’s wrap this comment up before it becomes even more of a train wreck, shall we?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m wracking my brain right now for a boy-and-two-girls love triangle – I don’t know that I’ve read any books with that. Or at least any GOOD, MEMORABLE books.

  3. Lydia says:

    Love this post ๐Ÿ˜€ I especially like your point about love triangles. It’s ALWAYS a girl and two boys. And I too wish there were more male YA protagonists. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    And library fines! Oh goodness. They are the bane of my existence. I never realized how horrible I was at returning books until I grew up and my mother quit returning them for me ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s positively embarrassing.

    P.S. I still love picture books like Eloise and Lyle, Lyle Crocodile.

    • nevillegirl says:

      One of the few exceptions I can think of is the Harry Potter books – but even then, though Harry had multiple girlfriends, he was never in love with two (or more!) at once so he never had to choose.

      Same here! Sometimes my parents don’t let me get any more books for a while because I’m so bad about returning them.

      Have you read the books with Olivia the Pig? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Boquinha says:

    The love triangle one made me stop and think, too. You should write a unique one!

    For picture books, I highly recommend Mo Willems. We love pretty much anything he does.

    Library fines – altering our perspective on them has helped us not mind them. We try to return things on time and are pretty good most of the time, but when we do have fines, we like to look at them as “donations” to the library. The reality is that the library has saved us thousands of dollars, so giving them some now and then contributes to the good of society in general, right? Kind of like how we homeschoolers pay taxes for other kids to go to school – people ask if that bothers us. Nope, I like living in a society where people are educated. I’m glad we get to choose HOW to do that. I like homeschooling, but I don’t mind contributing to those who choose school as an option. There, does that help with that one?

    I love your list – so much good stuff!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hmmm… maybe I’ll try… but that would probably mean I’d have to write from the perspective of a boy and I never feel like I know how to do that.

      Willems wrote “Don’t Let The Pigeon Drive The Bus”, right? Love that book!

      That’s what I try telling my parents. They don’t buy it. ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. The Cogaroo says:

    What do they mean, teenagers don’t like to read? I LOVE to read! I have the same problem with not being able to remember the book that a scene was from. It drives me crazy (well, that is, crazier than I am now.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Charley R says:

    I do believe you just spelled out 90% of my personality. Well done!

  7. Shelumiel says:

    “Not being able to visit the places I read about”… I knoooow!

    And yeah, “losing a favorite book” is just tragic.

  8. Thomas says:

    I share so many of these with you! Especially about how people over-generalize the YA genre or ignore a book because of its movie.

    • nevillegirl says:

      It irritates me because people don’t generalize adult books. Teens may not be adults yet, but they’re people too. They’re not one mass of humanity; they’re all different so their genre has a lot of diversity too.

  9. I agree with just about all of these. One of the ones that most annoy me is the overabundance of sappy vampire-or-other-unnatural-sh*tbag romances. NO. NONONONONO. It seem that ever since Twilight *shudder* everyone’s writing about vampires. Blegh. And I can never seem to find a good YA mystery novel at my bookstore. To add to that, the male employees at the bookstore talk down to me (mainly cause I’m short enough to pass as an 11-year-old) for wanting mystery books. One of them even shoved a Twilight copy into my hands and walked away. Bah. Romance novels. Why can’t we have more sci-fi mystery action novels? The world would be a happier place.

    Also, Rick Riordan is the King of Cliffhangers.

  10. Tori says:

    Why didn’t anyone notice the “romantic dystopian high school drama with vampires”, I mean, it’s HILARIOUS.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

