4-H Fair 2013: Color Photography

Part three of four.

Here’s the other part of my 4-H Photography post, brought to you this time in color! I submitted two entries: a poster of ten color photographs and a salon print (otherwise known as an 8 by 10 photo, matted to match one of the colors in the picture).

DSCN2898Date taken: June 2013

Subject of photo: Iris blossom

This was my salon print, as well as one of way too many flower pictures from 2013. I got a little carried away with those because if you spray plants with water they are much more interesting visually, so I walked around our backyard snapping pictures and draining the battery on my camera. This is the best of the batch; I love the delicateness, the veins, and the shade of purple.

DSCN2714Date taken: January 2013

Subject of photo: A slide at the local playground

This picture was actually selected as a possible entry for the 4-H calendar contest which surprised me because I thought out of all my photos, this was one that the judges wouldn’t “get” and therefore wouldn’t like. It’s a view down a curly slide, a very colorful, unique perspective, but I didn’t know if the judges would say, “What’s the point? It’s all one color and that’s boring.”

DSCN2816Date taken: June 2013

Subject of photo: Cedum buds

I love the amount of detail in this picture; you can see the tiny red freckles against the green leaves.

DSCN2857Date taken: March 2013

Subject of photo: A kid playing basketball at a local park

I am only moderately happy with this photo, but it ended up on my poster because I needed a tenth photo and I needed an action shot. It’s not as colorful or close-up as I would like but it’s still better than nothing.

DSCN2487Date taken: October 2012

Subject of photo: Gourds on my front porch

It’s not often that I stage photos – I don’t really know why; I guess I’m lazy – but I did for this shot. I spent half an hour arranging and rearranging the gourds into pretty setups before finally just smushing them in a pile and sticking a flower on top.

DSCN2888Date taken: May 2013

Subject of photo: Poppy

Possibly my favorite color picture of the year. It’s so colorful and filled with light.

DSCN2363Date taken: August 2012

Subject of photo: The Statue of Liberty in New York City

This is basically the only color picture from our New York vacation that I’m happy with – all the other good ones are in black and white. I do have a version of this in black and white but it feels like it’s missing something so I didn’t use it. The iconic green, I guess.

DSCN2481Date taken: October 2012

Subject of photo: A tree in my backyard

The leaves here look like fire, like the bottom part of the picture is burning up.

DSCN2444Date taken: October 2012

Subject of photo: A local barn

I’d forgotten about this photo until searching for more at the last minute. I’m glad I took the picture in the fall not just because the trees were vibrant, but because the people who live here painted the barn navy blue a few months ago and it looks really weird. It wouldn’t be a good subject for a photo now.

DSCN3024Date taken: July 2013

Subject of photo: Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial in Washington, D.C.

I just like taking photos of statues, OK? I love the pretty blue sky here. And how there are only two colors, white and blue. And how you can see the rough texture of the rock.

I received an A Honor on both the salon print and the poster. Additionally, the poster was the tenth grade Champion color poster. Apparently my color photography is better than that of anyone else in my grade (which is saying something, as Photography is super competitive with probably two hundred project members) and I think that’s funny because I don’t work too hard on my color entries. I spend much more time working in black and white!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 4-H Fair 2013: Color Photography

  1. Tori says:

    Did you know, the most unboring one is the one with the slide.

  2. The Lovely Llama says:

    The MLK statue… It looks like he’s actually going to come out of the rock. I mean, more than in Real Life. It almost has a sense of it actually moving out of the rock. I don’t know…
    And the slide! Fantastic! Fabulous!
    —Zombie from NaNo

    • nevillegirl says:

      That’s probably due to the angle at which I took it. Pictures of statues are boring if the camera is aimed straight at the statue. I was trying to give it some life.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. brookehoger says:

    I love the one of the tree with the fiery leaves – the composition is really interesting. Beautiful, beautiful shots!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

