I Take Veritaserum And Truthfully Answer A Bunch Of “Harry Potter” Questions

hogwarts-crest2[1]

I’m stealing this meme from The Magic Violinist. Enjoy!

Would you rather go to prom with Harry, Draco, or Ron?

Luna. (Someone was not thinking clearly when they wrote these questions…) If I could choose any woman from the series I would pick Tonks, but I think the idea is to choose a student. I don’t find the female students particularly interesting or even pretty (although Emma Watson in real life is a different matter). They’re cool as characters but as dates we would drive each other insane. I would start arguing with Hermione about how there’s more to life than books and even with Luna, I’d probably dump her halfway through because I was sick of being lectured on Nargles.

If I had to choose a guy, it would be Harry. He’s not perfect but he is pretty great all the same. Harry is brave, hardworking (except in Divination!), friendly, reasonably intelligent, and selfless. I would probably have the biggest crush on him if I liked guys. But I’m not, so I don’t.

Finally, I would like to point out that I couldn’t go to prom with anyone because Hogwarts doesn’t have proms. The closest thing it has is the Yule Ball and that’s not even held every year. Sorry to rain on your parade, Original Question-Writer, but it’s true.

Would you rather be sorted into Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, or Slytherin?

I’m smart, sneaky, and ambitious, so definitely Slytherin. Pottermore sorted me into Ravenclaw but it doesn’t know what it’s talking about. Stupid website.

Would you rather explore the Forbidden Forest or the halls of Hogwarts?

Call me a wimp, but I don’t want to go into that forest. There could be all sorts of things that want to rip my throat out in there. Besides, I love history and Hogwarts is full of it: books, statues, portraits that talk to you.

Would you rather enroll in Potions, Charms, Divination, or Defense Against The Dark Arts?

Oh, this is hard. I want to know how to brew Felix Felicis and Veritaserum, and wouldn’t mind Snape’s nasty moods as long as I was learning something. But Defense Against the Dark Arts ultimately seems more useful, especially if someone similar to Voldemort took power again. And the class is taught by Lupin, one of my favorite characters of all time.

Would you rather buy an owl, cat, rat, or toad? 

An owl. Muggle mail is so boring; I want to have my packages flown to my window!

Would you rather have in possession: the Elder Wand, the Resurrection Stone, or the Cloak of Invisibility?

The Elder Wand holds no interest for me at all and I’d be worried of someone murdering me to get it. The Resurrection Stone would bring back my loved ones – but there’s no point in having it now, as no one I love has died. (I’m really lucky that way.) Besides, using it too often will only drive you mad because the people you bring back aren’t really alive. They aren’t really there for you.

With the Cloak of Invisibility I could hide from, well everything. Anything from the law (if I decide to pursue evildoing as a career) to Death.

Would you rather be tutored by Luna Lovegood or Hermione Granger?

Although I like Luna more, I choose Hermione. Luna would be fun to hang out with but not good for tutoring – we’d start talking about Snorkacks and never get any studying done! Hermione’s bossiness would be a good thing in this situation because I’d actually do my homework. She might even let me copy her answers.

Would you rather, in the final battle, fight against Nagini or Bellatrix?

Would I rather, whilst answering these questions, rephrase them because they sound funny? Yes, I’d love to. But I won’t, because I don’t have time. Now where was I?

I know we’re not supposed to like the villains but Bellatrix has always fascinated me. Nagini’s just a snake – booooring! I want to see just how crazy Bellatrix is. I want to let her go so she can terrorize the United Kingdom. The Wizarding world needs a little chaos to keep it interesting, no?

Would you rather fight a basilisk or a dragon?

Fighting a dragon would be easier but I have spent way too much time working out how one would go about defeating a basilisk. I think it would be cool simply because it’s so challenging – you can’t look into its eyes or you’ll die!

Would you rather be a part of the Malfoy family or Weasley family? 

Both are great for very different reasons. The Weasleys are one big happy family, a bunch of eccentrics. They fight hard for what they believe is right. They’re goofy in good times and loyal in bad times. There’s so many of them that even if I disliked a few, I would always have someone to talk to. And I would live at the Burrow – if you don’t think it’s one of the best houses ever, then you’re crazy.

On the other hand, the Malfoys make much more fascinating characters. The Weasleys are fairly straightforward but Lucius, Narcissa, and Draco are more conflicted. They’ve become more involved in the Dark Arts than I think they ever expected to be, and that realization makes them uncomfortable. They would not be much fun to live with; there would be too much tension and pressure from everyone.

The Malfoys rank much higher on my list of favorite HP characters but I choose to live with the Weasley family.

Would you rather have a butterbeer or pumpkin juice?

Pumpkin juice sounds disgusting. I imagine butterbeer to be slightly buttery root beer, which is kind of weird but not nearly as gross. So I guess I’ll have a butterbeer.

Would you rather fly on a broomstick, Hagrid’s motorbike, or Buckbeak?

Isn’t it Sirius’ motorbike? Whatever. I would like to fly on Hagrid’s/Sirius’ motorbike with Sirius at night when London is all lit up.

Would you rather have a conversation with Daniel Radcliffe or J.K. Rowling?

J.K. Rowling, duh. Radcliffe wouldn’t be famous if Rowling hadn’t created Harry in the first place. I’d ask her what it was like to find herself in the midst of such a literary phenomenon.

I think the Veritaserum is wearing off, finally.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Take Veritaserum And Truthfully Answer A Bunch Of “Harry Potter” Questions

  1. Tori says:

    Genius. You are a genius. You are simply a genius-comedian! But I’m not sure if those people exist, so let’s just say you’re a genius. Sounds better that way too.

  2. boredlandia says:

    I’m obsessed with your blog! When I arrived and saw it was all things HP I clicked and began stalking! Love this meme!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Wow, thanks!

      It doesn’t actually have much HP stuff anymore. (It probably will when I start rereading HP sometime this summer…) It’s mostly Lord of the Rings and other high fantasy stuff now. In addition to a million other things. But when I write about books, it’s not generally HP anymore…

  3. LM Preston says:

    I’d take Ron…I got a thing for redheads 😀

  4. Have you ever tried homemade Butterbeer? There are several recipes online, but I like to mix random amounts of cream soda, butterscotch flavoring, and vanilla ice cream. That’s how my library did it too, when we had a Harry Potter mini-con.

  5. wolfluv745 says:

    I’ve made Butterbeer before, but we used ginger ale, not soda. It was pretty good.

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2013 – An Abundance Of Books, Doctor Who, Film Scores, And More! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

