4-H Fair 2013: Aerospace, Music, And More

My county’s fair ended this past weekend and July will too, soon. Not that it bothers me – it’s just that this month seemed to be awfully long. For example, it seems like I was in Washington, D.C. (oops, I have yet to write about the trip) ages ago but no, I was there through the first week of this month. A lot happened in July and time seemed to stretch itself. I love that. I love how summer feels endless because one doesn’t have as many obligations. (Wait. I’m busy during the summer. So maybe it’s just the absence of school.) Whoa, there! I went all philosophical for a bit. I must return to my trademark inanity. Here are the results from my other 4-H projects.

In Aerospace, I received an A. No surprise there; my model rockets are usually made well but without many “extras”. Some kids apparently spend lots of time sanding and painting and whatnot until everything looks shiny and perfect. I just… build. I like the building process and as long as my rocket can fly once I’m done with it, I don’t worry about its looks.

In Holiday Ornaments, I got an A. I made a Christmas ornament using a pine cone and some other materials. It looks like a skier and my family laughed at it a bunch because the face looks like a six-year-old painted it. Hey, I can’t help it – I’m artistically challenged! Again, I just like the process of making it.

I’m disappointed that I didn’t do better in Foods & Nutrition – my blueberry pie got just an A. Personally, I think it looked better than most of the other pies because I fluted the edges of the crust. My brother said it tasted pretty good but maybe he’s not the best judge. He will eat anything you put in front of him.

For Music, I played “Rue’s Farewell” by James Newton Howard from The Hunger Games on the piano. (Here’s the original as well as a piano version. The latter is NOT my playing; it’s actually a video of the guy who wrote the arrangement I play.) It’s a beautiful song and really fun to play as well. I’m conflicted about what to exhibit next year. In Music one can either perform or show a poster, but not both. I hate that. I really want to learn more pieces from the Lord of the Rings movies and play those, but I also want to make a poster about music in movies.

I don’t know what grade I got in Junior Leaders because they don’t release the results until the fall.

In Shooting Sports – Archery, I received an A Honor for my poster about how to build a safe archery range at home.

Personality! My favorite after Photography! I earned an A Honor and Reserve Champion (second best in my division). My poster was about three careers I am interested in. I wrote about being an author, comedian, or photojournalist because “professional dork” isn’t socially acceptable.

I joined Genealogy on a whim thinking that it would be fun and easy. It is a lot of fun, but it’s also very hard to collect the necessary information about the three most recent generations of my family. I didn’t realize that I would need to list sources for everything, although that makes sense. After I dropped it off, I worried and worried about the end result, so you can imagine my surprise when it won an A Honor, Champion, and Grand Champion (best in the project). It’s at the Indiana State Fair now!

All in all, it was a decent 4-H year. I would like to have earned an A Honor or above in more of my projects instead of just an A. At the same time, I’m happy with the results because they could have been lower, considering that I worked on many of my projects at the last minute. As I am working on this post now. If there were a Procrastination project, I am sure that I would get top scores each and every year. I would be unbeatable.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4-H Fair 2013: Aerospace, Music, And More

  1. Tori says:

    Cool! But actually, what’s 4-H? (I don’t really read all that much, I just skim basically everything and go like…”oh” (That’s for everything, my own posts, other people’s posts, books I’ve never even actually wanted to read (King of those, TEXTBOOKS!)).)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

