What Would Harry Read?

IMG_0052_zpsc86d3992The Book Chewers have posted a new prompt for their weekly link-up:

“You’re running errands for a book character of your choice, and you’ll be picking up some books at the library for them. What books are on the list they gave you, and why did the character choose those specific books?”

I was at the library the other day and – as usual – checked out loads of books. But I really outdid myself this time, with twenty-five books. I barely managed to fit them all in my bookbag and they weighed so much that the strap of my bag broke. I found myself wishing that I had Hermione’s magic bag from Harry Potter. It wouldn’t do anything about the weight, but it expands to hold anything so at least I wouldn’t have to carry something so large and unwieldy. Take that, Doctor! Your TARDIS isn’t the only thing that’s bigger on the inside! I’m sorry – I watched about ten episodes of Doctor Who this past week.

Anyway. Where was I? Oh yes, Hermione has lots of room in that bag of hers so I’m going to modify the prompt slightly and write a list of books for “The Trio” to bring along as they travel and destroy Horcruxes. They already have The Tales of Beedle the Bard as well as spell books. What else would Harry, Ron, and Hermione read to soothe, amuse, inspire, and otherwise aid them in Deathly Hallows?

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank is a good choice for all three kids. Yes, Frank writes about despair and terrible times. But she also writes about finding happiness in the smallest of things when nothing seems good, and about her belief that deep down, people are good at heart. It’s just what The Trio needs to hear.

I would choose The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett for Hermione as classics seem like the sort of thing she would have read as a precocious, bookish little girl. (Ron didn’t grow up with Muggle books and I could maybe see Harry reading it if it were part of his pre-Hogwarts schooling, but ultimately Hermione would get the most out of it.) It would remind her of her childhood and the ending in which the main characters are transformed into better people from their time in the garden would make her happy.

The Way Things Work by David Macaulay is a perfect choice for Ron. It explains the mechanics of everyday machines, so he could learn more about the Muggle devices that his dad messes with and modifies. He might even use its diagrams to figure out how the Deluminator works.

The Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz seems like something Harry would read. Throughout his years at Hogwarts he solves many mysteries and that’s what these books are about. Reading about the titular character’s worldwide adventures as a spy would be a good distraction from matters like the locket. It’s a very guy kind of book, so I could see Ron reading it too – after Harry told him it was good. Ron doesn’t seem like he would read a lot unless the story was about guys narrowly escaping death and getting the girl and whatnot. (Does anyone else agree?)

Where the Sidewalk Ends and A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein is whimsical but because it’s dark, it’s not cutesy. That fits the mood of the Harry Potter series, doesn’t it? Harry and Hermione may have read it as small children and I think even Ron would appreciate its oddness.

Finally, the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien is another fine choice for all three characters. Surely, Harry could relate to Frodo’s life-changing experiences on the long, harrowing journey into Mordor. Ron and Hermione could see themselves reflected in Sam, Merry, and Pippin – the enemy would not have been defeated once and for all were it not for the sidekicks’ help! Last but not least, they would like the fantastical setting.

I just realized that the trunks in the Ministry of Magic’s cars in the fifth book (at least I think it’s the fifth book) are bigger than they appear. Also, Horace Slughorn manages to Transfigure his very large human self into a normal-sized chair. “Bigger on the inside” seems to be a recurring feature of the Wizarding world. What books would you recommend to The Trio? And do you know of anything else that’s bigger on the inside?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to What Would Harry Read?

  1. Lydia says:

    Ooh, twenty-five? Nice! I like your suggestions for the HP trio. Particularly liking “How Things Work” and Shel Silverstein . . . can’t go wrong with him.

  2. cait says:

    I can definitely see Hermoine with The Secret Garden! Great book choices! Loved your post as always. 😉

    Thanks for joining in our linkup!!

  3. I remember that the tents they used in GoF and DH were bigger on the inside.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh yes… good catch. 🙂 I wonder if J.K. Rowling is a Doctor Who fan, or if it’s just a coincidence because it would be pretty awesome to make things bigger.

      Do you think the Room of Requirement counts?

      • Yes, definitely. The Room is awesome, I tell you. You could live in it for years, with no need to worry about food. It could provide you with a tunnel to the kitchens! (I wonder if one could remove things the Room made, ie: you ask the room to make a copy of the Hobbit. Can you take it with you?)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Hmmm. I don’t know. Harry did take stuff out of there, like the tiara, but then again the Room hadn’t made that. I don’t know… maybe? If you needed it like you’d needed the Room?

      • The real question is, does the Room actually, physically, make things or is it all in your mind? If you think about it a certain way, the entire saga of the DA could have been everyone ‘sharing’ a ‘mind’ and theoretically learning the spells (and therefore believing they could cast them), which could give them the ability to cast those spells in real life.

        It’s hard to explain, but that’s one theory I have for the Room.

        I think once you put something into the Room, it is ‘saved’, like data on a computer, and the Room can just generate it.

        The Room is interesting.

  4. Thomas says:

    Smart book choices! I love how you chose adventurous titles to fit Harry and the gang and slightly more “sophisticated” choices for Hermione – you know these characters well. (:

    (also, I’m glad that I finally finished this series so I can comment on posts like these without fear of spoilers)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks. It wasn’t that hard because I have friends who remind me of the characters so I thought of what they would like to read. And rereading HP far too many times certainly helps.

      (I usually put spoiler warnings for any book/movie/thingy if they’re necessary, anyway. Which book was your favorite?)

  5. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 15 | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

  6. Pingback: Charlie Bone Tabloids: Emails 5 | The Charlie Bone Blog

  7. Pingback: Left Behind, or a sidestory to Something Wicked This Way Comes | FanFiction Fridays

  8. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 15 | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

  9. Pingback: Ten Past Posts About “Harry Potter” + One About J.K. Rowling | Musings From Neville's Navel

  10. I’ve been following for a while but have never really seen your remark upon Doctor Who! Yay! I have met another Whovian! 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      I am indeed a Whovian! 🙂 A very new one, though. I only started watching around this time last year.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yep, I finished all seven series in like… two months? xD It was somewhat ridiculous how quickly I watched all the episodes. 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      DW is just that awesome, I guess. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      My favorite Doctor is Nine, and my favorite companion is Donna… followed closely by MARTHA! 😀 (And what about your faves?)

      • I like Ten and Nine equally, and my favorite companion is Donna as well! *high fives* 😀 I also love Martha and Sarah Jane Smith 🙂 I hate how Martha is underrated, though 😦 I loved her.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *high-five* You awesome Whovian, you. 😀 It irritates me when people hate on Martha… and Sarah Jane is pretty awesome too, although I’ve actually only seen her in New Who, not Classic Who. But I want to…
      (How much Classic Who have you seen?)

      • Aw, thanks 😀 I think the main problem with Martha wasn’t her character or her stories–those were just all fantastic–it was that she was living in the shadow of Rose. I don’t have a problem with Rose, I just dislike how she influences basically everything else. I like to call Series 3, “The One in Which The Doctor Mopes About Rose 24/7.” The writers should have given Martha another Series, or just had the Doctor GET. OVER. ROSE. ALREADY. I love Sarah Jane from what I’ve seen in New Who… I’ve seen a couple episodes of Classic Who, but ironically, not with Sarah Jane. I’m planning to, though 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Exactly! I think it didn’t help that the Doctor spent so much of that series missing Rose, and then I think most of the fans are weird about it. Like, get over it. Rose wasn’t the first companion, and she wouldn’t be the last, either. That’s not a fair reason to hate on Martha!

      I actually wrote a whole blog post about why Martha is awesome, if you’re interested in reading it: https://musingsfromnevillesnavel.wordpress.com/2013/11/19/why-i-admire-martha-jones-and-you-should-too/
      I like to talk about fictional characters, and I actually have a tag called defending-fictional-characters. And I intend to write about all the New Who companions (and possibly the Classic Who companions someday, but I’ll need to watch more Classic Who), but so far I’ve only written about Mickey and Martha. 🙂

      Yay! Classic Who is pretty cool, although I do think New Who is better. My favorite Classic Doctor is Three…

      • Oh my God, that’s fantastic. I literally left a post-lengthed comment on that thing because it is BRILLIANT. Yeah, it wasn’t Martha’s fault… I think the same thing sort of happened with Ten in the whole thing, too. If Eleven had come first, I think a lot more people would have had respect for him and liked him… I know a lot of people stopped watching with Eleven because he just wasn’t Ten, which was sad. 😦 Oh, you underrepresented fictional characters, you.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *blush* Thank you! That’s me – a failure at most things, but evidently very much able to write nerdy posts that analyze fictional characters. xD

      True, true. Really, though, what would have made a difference for me was if someone other than Moffat had written Eleven. I would’ve liked that Doctor more if he hadn’t acted like a petulant child so often.

      • I bet you’re not a failure at most things! And anywho, even if you were (which I am CERTAIN you are not!), you’d make an awesome journalist or writer! 😀

        Yeah… he is very childlike, and he displays none of the anger and complexity Nine and Ten showed. I think he had great potential at the beginning though… if only Moffat could have let RTD write some of him. *dramatic sigh*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, thanks, I guess. 😛

      *sighs* Let’s kick Moffat off the show. P

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

