Baby, You Can Drive My Car

“Asked a girl what she wanted to be
She said, ‘Baby, can’t you see
I wanna be famous, a star on the screen
But you can do something in between
Baby, you can drive my car.'”
The Beatles, “Drive My Car

Guess who got her driver’s license?!

Yes, that’s right. I completed Driver’s Ed, accumulated the fifty required hours of practice time, and even managed to pass the test at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles despite some trouble with parallel parking. I am now the proud owner of a Real And Official license, and everyone who’s seen it so far has said that I definitely look stoned in the picture on it. Oh, joy. I was trying not to look squinty because the BMV made me take my glasses off for some reason and glasses help to hide my hilariously appalling lack of photogenic-ness.

I still put my feet in the wrong shoes occasionally. How am I remotely smart and qualified enough to be in control of a few thousand pounds of metal?

It’s great to have such independence, to be in charge of getting myself somewhere. (Theoretically, at least. I’ve had my license for a week but have only driven alone once, due to worried parents. I can’t really blame them – see “putting my feet in the wrong shoes and other accounts of nevillegirl’s stupidity”.) I feel so grown up. On the other hand, I don’t want to feel that way.

Getting my driver’s license is an uncomfortable reminder that I’m almost done with this growing-up business. I’ll be an adult in a little over a year’s time. What? Why? Nooooo. How can it be so soon? I don’t want that. Part of that feeling comes from not wanting the responsibility. I feel like there’s so many adult things I don’t have much experience with, from boring stuff like taxes to exciting things like college. My reluctance to grow up and move on also comes from… I don’t know. I’ve spent all my life as a child – well, duh – so I’ve never known anything else. It just seems like there’s such a big world out there, big and confusing and exhilarating but also a bit scary.

At least I can drive around that big world now.

On a happier note, I shall now discuss my dream car. I don’t have the $30,000 or so needed to pay for it, so let’s just pretend that the money suddenly fell into my pocket. (Let’s also pretend that somehow my college tuition is already paid for because if I did find $30,000, I’d put it all towards my education.) I have dreamed of owning a blue Volkswagon Beetle (also known as the VW Bug) for the past few years.

2003-VW-New-Beetle-Rear-Shore-1280x960[1]Isn’t it gorgeous? Isn’t it adorable? Shouldn’t it be mine?

I am in no way a car aficionado – I can’t tell most cars apart by either make or model – but if you mention the Bug to me, my eyes will light up. I’ll probably need a car someday and I want mine to be cute. I don’t care about convertibles or sleek cars or cars with huge, powerful engines. I want the VW Bug because it’s cute. It looks like a bunch of colorful bubbles smushed together.

And speaking of color – yes, blue is important. It’s my favorite color and ideally my car would by sky blue because that’s my favorite shade. However, it appears that Beetles are either a dark blue as pictured above or else a baby blue. But Mini Coopers come in sky blue and they’re cute too… apparently someone near where I live owns such a model because they drive past my house occasionally. It’s like they’re taunting me.

What’s your dream car? Does anyone reading this own a Volkswagon Beetle?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baby, You Can Drive My Car

  1. Oooooh, shiny! 😀 I want one!

    I used to want a yellow VW bug, but then I realized that I want to have plenty of room for my spouse and kids (and my kids’ friends), so that would be too small. Then I thought, “Ooh! Yellow convertible!” Then, “Probably way too pricy.” So finally I settled on, “Yellow minivan!!!!!” (Do you sense a theme, yet)? Our family has a white minivan, which means we have three extra seats for whoever wants to rid with us to homeschooling activities. It’s the perfect setup!

    (Though we like to go with our handicap friend so we can get the best parking). 😉

    (Wow, who knew I could ramble on this much about cars)?

  2. Fancy says:

    Unfortunately, I don’t own a Beetle, but my apparently they’re the bane of my friend’s existence. This makes me sad because they’re so cute. 😦

  3. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2013 – An Abundance Of Books, Doctor Who, Film Scores, And More! | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: Two Thousand And Thirteen In Review | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

