A To Z Bookish Survey

I thought this would be fun so I stole it from Book Revels, who in turn got it from The Perpetual Page-Turner. I suppose it would be in the spirit of this post’s topic to wish you, “Happy reading!”

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Gertrude Chandler Warner, probably. When I was about nine, I adored her Boxcar Children mystery books, which now embarrasses me. The plots and characters are so simple that every book is essentially identical to the one preceding it, just with different settings and character names. Also, the kids are irritatingly well-behaved. They never ever got in trouble, never said anything rude… what annoying little jerks. But I loved them as a little girl.

Best Sequel Ever:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the third in J.K. Rowling’s series, but it’s the best. In my opinion. So much in that book is perfect – the best part is Harry himself. He’s not a little kid anymore but he doesn’t yet show the wizard angst of the later books.

Currently Reading:

Mainly, A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin but because it is a thousand pages long with what feels like nearly as many characters, it is a lot of work. I keep getting distracted by other, faster-paced books, so I’m also reading The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Ash by Malinda Lo, and Romeo and Juliet: The Graphic Novel by John McDonald and William Shakespeare.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Are you kidding me? I’m too stupid to hold a book and a cup at the same time. I’ll spill the drink both on myself and all over the book, which will then make me cry because I just ruined the pages.

E-reader or Physical Book?

I’d have to say physical book, for three reasons. First of all, I don’t really have access to an e-reader. My mom has a Kindle but when she isn’t reading it, my brother is. Hence, I don’t get to use it very often. Secondly, I hate reading large amounts of text on screens. I prefer typing my thoughts to writing them (mostly because it allows me to write a lot without getting hand cramps), so I already stare at screens quite often. I don’t need to do so any more than I already am. Finally, I prefer the heft and thereness of a real book. The physicality, I guess. I love holding an as-yet-unread book in my hands, stroking the pretty pictures on the cover and smelling the pages. It’s so personal. I don’t feel that way with a story on an e-reader.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Blue Sargent from Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys, definitely. She’s smart, eccentric, and bold. (And geeky-cute!) She combines the best qualities of the best characters ever, like Hermione Granger’s sensibility, Luna Lovegood’s oddness, and the intelligence of both. Even better, Blue manages to do this while still being her own person – it doesn’t feel like Stiefvater was copying anyone else.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

I read somewhere that Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison was awesome, but it sounded either really stupid or else inappropriate for fourteen-year-old me to read. It wasn’t. It is indeed awesome, and hilarious, and way more innocent than it sounds. It’s not “deep” by any means, but it will make you laugh until you cry.

Hidden Gem Book:

Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted is worth the hype but her The Two Princesses of Bamarre is also excellent. It doesn’t have the world’s most interesting title or an intriguing cover (seriously, it’s just two girls standing in fancy dresses) but I love the two (very different) princesses so much and the ending still makes me cry.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

When I was about eight, my mom was reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets aloud to my brother and I, but in my opinion we were progressing too slowly. I wanted to know what happened next! I finished it on my own, sped through its sequels, and have spent the years since continuing to adore fantasy stories of all kinds.

Just Finished:

Teen Cuisine: New Vegetarian by Matthew Locricchio. Yes, I read cookbooks. I’m weird that way. Looking at the pictures of food is like eating as much as you want without becoming uncomfortably full.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

If it’s written by Christopher Paolini or mentions paranormal romance, I will hurl it out a window. Poor window.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin has one thousand and nine pages in the American paperback edition, which is the one I read.

Major book hangover because of:

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. No one, even Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, can write mysteries quite like her. I gave up trying to figure out who the baddie was because every time I thought I knew who did it, the person was killed.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Six, with a total of of eleven shelves.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I have read All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen an embarrassing number of times. Probably ten or more. I can quote from it at length and have many useless bits of knowledge, such as how the thirtieth chapter begins: “Calvin Curio had never sought fame.” (Why do I even know that? I feel like such a nerd now.)

Preferred Place To Read:

I will read absolutely anywhere – when I bought a purse, my main criterion was that it needed to be large enough to fit at least two books so I can read anytime, anyplace, anywhere – but I best like reading in my room. I snuggle under a bunch of fuzzy blankets with music playing quietly and my cat keeping me company, and I’m the happiest girl in the world. Unless, of course, the book happens to be sad, which seems to occur more and more often in my readings.

Quote that inspires you / gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end… because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing… this shadow. Even darkness must pass.”

Pardon me while I cry about Samwise Gamgee in The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Reading Regret:

I wish I’d persevered with Tolkien’s books as a little kid. I always got bored just a few chapters in and it wasn’t until last year that I sternly told myself to stick with it. I was going to finish The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy even if doing so would kill me from boredom. It was slow going at first but they turned out to be fantastic. I love them now but I wish I’d loved them earlier.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

I suppose I should finish Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles; I never got any further than the second book. They had decent writing and humor but I stopped reading his stuff out of sheer boredom with his ideas. All of his children’s books are about the same thing: ancient gods are real.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

In case you somehow entirely missed my earlier ramblings: The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling, and All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Roald Dahl. I have loved his books since age five. When I was little, my dad used to go on a lot of business trips and each time I would loan him one of my many Dahl books to read on the flight. I wanted everyone to read them so we could talk about their brilliance.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

I haven’t even finished the first five books of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series but I like it enough that I’m already excited for the final two, The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring. Perhaps they’ll be published by the time I finish college (I’m an incoming high school junior now). I’m not even kidding about that. Martin published A Game of Thrones a few months before I was born and you’d think he would be finished, but no. (A dawdler just like me!)

Worst Bookish Habit:

I constantly forget to renew or return library books so I accrue large overdue fines. I really need to stop because I’ve given the library enough money to pay for some of those books several times over. I should buy the books that I frequently reread instead…

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

I have a shelf just for favorite books so I used that and ended up with Girl, 17, Pants on Fire by Sue Limb. It’s a hilarious story about the misadventures of a teenage British girl.

Your latest book purchase:

Oh my Gollum, I can’t remember and that drives me crazy. I’m weird about buying books, though – I only buy them if I’ve already read and loved them. There are two reasons for that. Firstly, I put most of my money towards college so I don’t have much left over for fun stuff. Secondly, I don’t have room on my shelves for any more. I want to say that the last time I purchased something, I bought Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City and its sequel, Kiki Strike: The Empress’s Tomb, but that can’t be right. That was two years ago; certainly I’ve gotten something since then.

ZZZ-Snatcher Book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

I honestly don’t remember because instead of staying up late reading, I’ve lately been staying up late watching Doctor Who. The other night I was up until 2 AM rereading The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart, though.

I’m not sure how to end this post, so I’m going to bid you farewell and leave to work on shortening my to-read list.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A To Z Bookish Survey

  1. Thomas says:

    Love these questions and your responses! Six bookcases, I’m so jealous… and I can see the similarity between you and Blue, she was a great protagonist. I agree about the special physicality of a real book as opposed to an e-reader and it’s wonderful that the Harry Potter series has had such a lasting impact on your life.

  2. themagicviolinist says:

    I love that quote by Sam! 😀 It’s perfect!

    I’m jealous of the number of bookshelves you own. ;P I have one bookshelf just for me in my room, with only four shelves. We don’t have a lot of wall space in our house (way too many radiators and windows), but if we move, I’m requesting the bedroom with the most wall space so I can get another bookshelf.

    This prompt is awesome! 😀 I’m going to steal it from you. 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      Lord of the Rings is one gigantic good quote. 🙂

      I have the smallest bedroom in our house, but basically every available wall space is taken up with bookshelves. Maybe for my birthday I’ll ask for more shelves instead of more books. Like I need more of the latter.

  3. New follower here! Love this post. I can totally relate to staying up rereading Frankie Landau-Banks- one of my favourite books of all time- and I’m so glad I’m not the only one with an absurd number of bookshelves!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks for following! (How did you find my blog?)

      Eeee! I adore that book, and really any Lockhart book I’ve read. Frankie is just – beyond words. I can’t decide whether I want to be her, or be her girlfriend. I didn’t think Lockhart could write a character better than Sadye from Dramarama, but I was wrong.
      Have you read the Kiki Strike books by Kirsten Miller? They’re about smart, scheming girls who remind me of Frankie and have adventures underground and… yeah. Pretty awesome.

  4. Pingback: A Bookish A-Z | Bibliophiles Gone Wild!

  5. Pingback: Bibliophiles Gone Wild!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

