This Post Will Not Have A Sequel

IMG_0052_zpsc86d3992I humbly present to thee my take on the latest link-up from those fair maidens at The Book Chewers:

“Answer ten questions about sequels! Interview yourself. Add pictures if you like. Have fun!”

I know not why I speaketh in faux-Shakespearean…

-~-

Best sequel you’ve ever read?

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling! The other day I was reading a post on The Little Engine That Couldn’t and the writer perfectly summed up why it’s such a good book: it’s tightly plotted. The earlier books spent too much time introducing things and the later books became bloated with subplots.

Worst sequel you’ve ever read?

That would be The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan, for a number of reasons. I found Tyson irritating. I didn’t think the book was as funny or creative as The Lightning Thief. I thought Percy’s quest was stupid.

Sequel that outshone the first book?

A Year Down Yonder, sequel to Richard Peck’s A Long Way From Chicago. Sorry, I’m writing in sentence fragments again. Like Suzanne Collins. Anyway. The books are about a brother and sister, with the brother narrating the first book and the sister the second. I thought the sister was a better-developed character.

Do you often read sequels or do you read the first book and move on?

Gah. This is a difficult question because so much depends on the first book. If I loved the first book then I’ll almost certainly read the sequels. If I didn’t, then I won’t bother. Sometimes I’m just not in the mood to search the library in order to find A) all the sequels and B) find them in order. Sometimes the library doesn’t even have all the sequels!

Basically, I leave the decision about continuing with a series until after I’ve read the first book.

What’s a sequel that really surprised you in a good or bad way? Why?

Any of the sequels to Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment by James Patterson were very surprising in a very bad way because they were so stupid. Patterson, dude, what were you thinking? You had an awesome idea and you managed to mess it up in every way possible. Sigh. I had high hopes for that series but now I haven’t even bothered to read the two most recent books because I don’t want to waste my time.

What’s the last sequel you read? Briefly, what did you think of it?

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin had a decent plot but the writing wasn’t as pretty as that in the first book.

What are three sequels you’re planning to read… eventually?

  • Son by Lois Lowry
  • Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator by Roald Dahl
  • Going Solo also by Roald Dahl (it’s the sequel to his autobiography because evidently other interesting events happened in his life after Boy)

What’s the first sequel you see when you look at your bookshelf?

The Bungalow Mystery by Carolyn Keene. It’s part of the Nancy Drew series and I’m not entirely sure why I still have it since I stopped being a fan at about age eleven.

Best sequel cover?

mockingjay[1]I read somewhere that blue is a calming color. That makes sense because when I see this cover, I feel very peaceful. I love the simple, pretty design.

What book(s) do you think desperately need a sequel, but don’t have one?

I want a sequel to Matilda by Roald Dahl where we, the readers, get to see her new life with Miss Honey. Maybe it would even show the mishaps of the rest of the Wormwood family. I’d also love to see a sequel to A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, although I’m not sure what it would be about since the characters I love most are dead.

Alas, alas, both Dahl and Dickens are dead so I’ll never get my sequels!

-~-

What about you, dear readers? What books do you wish had sequels?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to This Post Will Not Have A Sequel

  1. I’m considering doing this linkup myself, but I’m not sure. Either way, I won’t divulge the secrets of my sequels yet.

    Honestly, I wouldn’t classify Sea of Monsters as the worst sequel I’ve ever read, but it was definitely mediocre compared to the rest of the series.

    By the way, wouldn’t the title of this post mean that you’re shutting down the blog?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I thought it improved with the third book… The Titan’s Curse or some such title. *can’t really remember*

      Guess again. -_- I meant that I wouldn’t be writing, like, a follow-up post about sequels.

      • The third book was definitely good, though somehow I didn’t like it so much– though I wouldn’t classify it as my least favorite either. The fifth book was phenomenal, though.

        True. I’ll hold you to it.

  2. cait says:

    Yeah, it was kind of mean of Dhal and Dickens to go and DIE. I would have loved more Matilda too. OH I LOVED both Richard Peck’s books! They were hilarious. That Grandma…wheesh. Best granny ever.

    Thanks for joining in our linkup!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome!
      Neither of my grandmas are like the one in Peck’s books but if they were combined, they’d probably be close to her. πŸ˜€ I have weird family members.

  3. Lydia says:

    Ah, I like your “to-read” sequels.

  4. Leinad says:

    You should definitely read Going Solo by Roald Dahl. Was it you who recently did a post about wanting more good non-fiction (or perhaps part of a post was about that?). If so, then Going Solo is one of the best non-fiction books I have read. Some other good ones include the Rani Adventures about an American boy growing up in Peru, and the Ralph Moody stories about a boy growing up in Colorado (and also other places, I think, in the later books) at the turn of the century (that is 19th century to 20th century).

    I seem to remember sort of enjoying Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator. Not quite as good as the first one, I don’t think, and a little strange β€” but then, that’s Dahl πŸ˜‰

  5. Sunny Smith says:

    I agree, the cover for Mockingjay is super pretty. I enjoyed reading your post!

  6. I read all your posts with great interest, sadly I can’t comment on all since I’m in college most of the time when I do read them. And, I forget about it when I’m home.

    I really like the sequels you’ve chosen. (y)

    May I rip these questions from your blog?

  7. Taylor Lynn says:

    These are some cool questions! I didn’t know all of the books you were talking about, but the ones I did were pretty good picks. I don’t agree with you about The Sea of Monsters, though–I thoroughly enjoyed all of the Percy Jackson books! πŸ˜‰ Like you, however, I usually decide whether or not to continue reading a series based off of the first book. If I enjoy it, then I’m certainly going to be reading the next book(s), possibly even owning the whole series; but if it’s bad or even just okay, I honestly may end up just forgetting about the rest of the sequels.

    As for me, there aren’t many books that I wish had sequels; I think both series and standalones have their pros and cons, and usually if I read and enjoy a good standalone I don’t really have much desire to see it lengthened, because it’s so well contained on its own. If I had to choose one book, though, then I’d probably go with Bloomability by Sharon Creech. It’s a middle grade, but still an all-time favorite of mine, and I’d love to see how Dinnie’s next year unfolded. Hopefully, she’d stay at the American school in Switzerland and perhaps get together with Guthrie! *sigh* Might be time for a reread, methinks. ❀

  8. matttblack42 says:

    Thanks for mentioning me!

    And I completely agree with you on the Mockingjay cover. It’s so peaceful while the book itself is anything but.

  9. Pingback: Semptember Sequels! | Sanity? Optional. Writing? Required.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

