The Yearbook Of Books (And Characters)

I stole this from Book Revels! To participate, nominate a book or character for each place!

Characters

Most Likely To Change The World

Gregor from Suzanne Collins’ Underland Chronicles is not likely to change his birth world much, unless of course he shows them the Underland. But I don’t think he would, because the Overlanders would surely exploit it and mess it up. He would, however, change his adopted world of the Underland. Gregor already did in the series canon, but I imagine that as an adult he’d play even more of a role as a diplomat and peacekeeper.

Cutest Couple

Probably Puck and Sean from The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Their romance is really sweet, and I love that they didn’t realize they were in love with each other until nearly the end of the book. Good love stories need a bit of suspense and that can’t happen if one sets the characters up together within just a few pages. (I’m looking at you, Stephenie Meyer!)

Class Clown

Jess Jordan’s escapades include putting on a comedy show where she mocked her least favorite teacher, so I think she counts. She is from Girl, 15, Charming But Insane by Sue Limb. Everyone should read that book.

Most Likely To Become Famous For Their Athletic/Musical/Artistic Abilities

I’m going to cheat here and nominate Betty Bent from the Kiki Strike series by Kirsten Miller. She’s really good at disguising people through the use of make-up, wigs, clothes, etc. It’s not what most would consider art, but I do. I think that takes a lot of talent and I could imagine her working in theater or on film sets. (That’s what her parents do anyway, I believe.)

All Around Good Person

If hobbits count as people, I’d pick Samwise Gamgee from the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien. He’s a great guy without being an insufferable goody-two-shoes. He’s hardworking, reasonably intelligent, and a great best friend to Frodo.

Biggest Flirt

Finnick Odair from Suzanne Collin’s Hunger Games trilogy. “Want a sugar cube?” As an aside – I couldn’t think of any flirty female characters, although that may be because my brain is fried by now.

Most Likely To Be Fought Over

I think Ella from Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine would have many admirers. She’s funny, sweet, smart, and mischievous. And pretty, at least in my head.

Mostly Likely To Be Friends Forever

Bilbo Baggins and Gandalf from The Hobbit have had too many adventures together to forget one another.

Most Likely To Have Their Own Reality Show

I could definitely see the Raven Boys (from the titular book by Maggie Stiefvater) filming themselves as they search across America for the ley line. Gansey would do enthusiastic commentary, Ronan would be the show’s chief provider of drama since he argues with basically everyone but Gansey, and since Adam’s a bit shy he would probably do camera work. Oh, and Noah would do something, I’m sure of it. I just haven’t figured out what yet.

Most Unique

Miss Marple from Agatha Christie’s mysteries looks like a harmless old lady – and she is, in some respects. She wouldn’t hurt a fly, but she’s not as inconsequential as she seems. She notices every detail and is perfectly willing to believe the worst about even the best-seeming people, having found some proof. For that she is unique. I kind of wish she were my grandmother.

Most Likely To Survive An Apocalypse

Katniss Everdeen, duh.

Most Likely To Be A Villain

I don’t want Oona Wong (from Kiki Strike) to become a villain, but I could see how she might go down that path. Only in her early teens, she’s already an expert forger and lockpicker.

Biggest Wallflower

Harry Potter is known by the entire Wizarding world but I still think he deserves this award. He doesn’t have close friendships with more than a few people, and is uncomfortable having conversations with people he doesn’t know. (Partially as a result of being famous and being bombarded with questions, I think, but it still counts.)

Most Likely To Break Your Heart

Bella Swan because she had so much potential and she wasted it all on a sparkly vampire. I’m sorry, I was feeling sarcastic there.

Most Changed

Jonas from The Giver by Lois Lowry has been through so much. He grew up in a place where there was no poverty, illness, sadness, love, or even history. He left it for a better place and had to deal with a far more complicated world.

Most Likely To Get Arrested

I adore Frankie Landau-Banks from The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, but she is one of the worst role models ever. She gets involved in a looooooot of trouble-making while still in high school.

Self Proclaimed God/Goddess

…I’m going to take the easy way out and say Zeus. Of course.

Best Person To Bring Home To Mom & Dad

My mom told me a while ago that she didn’t care whether I dated girls or boys, just that I should find someone who’s really awesome and not just settle for anyone. I should find someone who’s worth me. Well, my parents are really picky. I can just imagine bringing home Ginny Weasley* and them saying something like, “Well, hasn’t she done anything besides fight You-Know-Who? She hasn’t done much with her life, has she?”

*I wouldn’t date her anyway. She’s not that interesting to me but I couldn’t think of any other examples off the top of my head.

So I choose Daenerys Stormborm of House Targaryen, First of Her Name, Queen of the Andals and the First Men, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains, and Mother of Dragons. She’s a kick-butt queen and she’s conquered lots of cities. You can’t deny that the girl is just bursting with Career Ambition. (And cuteness!)

Books

Most Likely To Make You Cry

The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien – so many characters die!

Dares To Be Different (in world, plot, storytelling, etc.)

Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse is different because it’s told in free-verse poetry and still managed to win the Newbery Medal. I’m not saying that poetic novels aren’t good, but it probably didn’t have a great chance of winning because more books are told in prose.

Best Dressed (pretty cover!)

Cover-HalfBlood[1]The series certainly had some foreboding covers before the sixth book, but this is the one that really made me go, “Whoa, things are darker now. Watch out, Harry!” The green mist against the black background is so sinister…

Most Likely To Make You Swoon

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. It wasn’t the perfect romance, but it definitely had some “Aw!” moments.

Loveliest Prose

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine has the feeling of an old, old fairy tale. As far as I know, she made it up, but the words work so well together that it feels like this story has been told for ages.

Most Likely To Be A Favorite Of 2013

I’m unsure whether this is supposed to be a book that was published in 2013 or that I read in 2013, so I’m going to pick the latter. I doubt I will find anything better than A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. If I do, I will feel like an idiot.

Most Likely To Change The World (or change your life)

Down the Rabbit Hole by Peter Abrahams changed my life because it made me realize that I wanted to write YA. And mysteries.

Book You Are Most Likely To Keep Putting Off

I keep hearing that J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Silmarillion is good but I’ve taken a look at it and it seems so dense! There’s Elvish name after Elvish name, with lots of death and destruction thrown in.

Most Likely To End Up As Christmas Gifts For Everyone You Know

Hmm. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle because it is one of the best classics I have ever read.

Most Likely To Be Thrown

I didn’t finish Allie Condie’s Crossed (sequel to Matched). I chucked it in the “Don’t bother finishing” pile because while the first book was decent, the second dragged on with Cassia mooning over her two love interests every other sentence. Look here, girl. It’s perfectly OK to have crushes, but you are so much more than your possible love interests. Don’t you want anything else in your life besides Xander/Ky? Like maybe a career?

Most Likely To Be Reread More Than Once

Mythology by Edith Hamilton simply has too many great stories to ever be set aside on a shelf.

Most Likely To Make You Read Through An Earthquake Because It’s THAT Engrossing

It doesn’t matter that I knew what was going to happen in Bram Stoker’s Dracula; it was still suspenseful. I kept mentally shouting at the characters, “WHY THE HECK ARE YOU GOING IN THAT ROOM/GRAVEYARD/WHEREVER WHEN YOU KNOW SOMETHING CREEPY IS IN THERE? YOU IDIOTS!”

Most Likely To Be Passed On To Your Children

James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl for its whimsicality.

Most Likely To Break Your Heart Into A Million Pieces

I cried so much at the end of Scorpia Rising by Anthony Horowitz. His Alex Rider series started out quite innocently. Oh, bad things occasionally happened to the hero, but you always knew he’d wriggle out in the end without losing too much. I never thought Horowitz would kill one of my favorite characters.

Most Likely To Brighten Up Your Day

I have… issues… with John Green’s most popular book, The Fault in Our Stars, but I grinned the whole way through An Abundance of Katherines. Colin, the main character, and his friend Hassan go on a road-trip. Silly geekery ensues. Actually, I think my main problem with The Fault in Our Stars is that its main characters are geeky but more serious. I didn’t expect that.

Have a lovely evening! Read a book!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Yearbook Of Books (And Characters)

  1. matttblack42 says:

    Gregor the Overlander is going to be running for president one day. And I’d vote for him.

    Also, if you liked “An Abundance of Katherines,” you’ll probably like Looking for Alaska. The characters aren’t as geeky as they were in AAoK (they still are, like all main John Green characters tend to be) but it’s still hilarious. It’s one of the first few books that made me burst into laughter multiple times while reading it—with most books I just blow more air out of my mouth/nose than usual.

  2. Artgirl says:

    Awww…James and the Giant Peach was probably one of the first chapter books my mom ever read aloud to me. If I have kids I’d definitely pass it on to them.
    For all the books/characters I’ve read in the list, I agree with you very much.

    TFIOS was the first John Green book I ever read, and I got it for my birthday before I’d ever heard of it before or heard of John Green. It’s not my usual type of book, but I actually really liked it, although that could just be because I read it before the hype.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I love the bugs inside the Peach. 😀 It’s weird – a lot of the characters I liked when I was little weren’t even human!

      Isn’t there going to be a movie of it now? Do you know when it’ll come out?

      • Artgirl says:

        I haven’t read the book in at least six or seven years, but I remember liking the bugs as well.
        There is going to be a movie, although I don’t know when it’s coming out. The filming has already started and the script has John Green approval, so it should be a decent movie. I will sob. If I sobbed on multiple occasions reading the book I’ll probably be a wreck watching the film.

  3. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, this is nice. I may have to/want to use it sometime.
    I still think Ginny’s interesting, but she admittedly seemed a lot more interesting to me when I was younger, when I didn’t think too much beyond what the narrator was telling me. (Actually … that makes it sound it like I shared Harry’s crush on her. Which wasn’t quite what I meant.)
    But Khaleesi! (Ack. I meant Daenerys there. This could be confusing.) I love Dany. I just clicked through a few pictures after the one you linked to, and came across one in which I think she’s just eaten the heart. Her face is all smeared with blood, but she’s still got this sweet little expression, which I think is a pretty good representation of her.
    (Also the only female flirt I can think of offhand is from Game of Thrones and I still don’t really consider her flirty – much as I was amused by “Esgred’s” flirting with Theon, she isn’t actually a flirty person.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!
      Ginny is… I dunno. She’s a nice person but there’s nothing about her looks and/or personality that is super-interesting to me. There aren’t really any female characters in all of HP who are like that for me.
      *giggles* Shhh, don’t mention eating the heart! If my parents read this they’ll get creeped out. 😛

      (Yeah, Esgred was just having a good time making fun of her brother. Otherwise, she’s not really interested in mushy stuff.)

  4. I love so many of the characters on this list. Good post! (although I have a hard time imagining Frankie being sloppy enough to get arrested. that girl could be the head of a major crime syndicate and no one would be the wiser.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!
      I don’t think someone would catch Frankie – I think she would give herself away, like she did by burning her arm and telling Matthew. She’d tell someone and they’d freak out.

  5. Taylor Lynn says:

    This is so much fun–I wasn’t thinking I’d be doing many (if any) memes on my blog, but I may have to do this one at some point! Maybe as an end-of-the-year roundup? Anyway, I totally agree that Puck and Sean make an adorable couple (I LOVE their romance! <3), Sam is pretty much the best choice for All-Around Good Person, and Finnick Odair is THE biggest flirt, definitely. 😉 Also, I've officially added the first Kiki Strike book to my Goodreads to-read list, so there's that. Great list!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

