Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Sequels

Official-DH-Chapter-Art-harry-potter--26-the-deathly-hallows-200227_400_358[1]The idea for this post has been floating around in my head for a while, but I wasn’t planning to publish it anytime soon because I feel that I need to post about something other than books. However, for reasons I will discuss at the end of this post, it now seems appropriate.

I should get this out of the way – if J.K. Rowling never writes another book set in Harry’s world, I would be fine with that. Really. I’m quite satisfied to reread the currently existing stories. That said, if she writes more about his universe and those books are great, then I’ll be very happy.

Out of many things Rowling could write about, I think there are three main possibilities. Sure, she could write about the founding of Hogwarts but I don’t think that would be as thrilling as the ideas that follow. I’m going to write about them in order from that which I am only mildly interested in to that which I would love.

Let’s call the first option HP2.0. It takes place after Deathly Hallows, telling the story of either the next generation or Harry’s adult life. It seems like many fans want this; after all, the logical question is, “What happens next?” However, I don’t particularly want to read about The Trio’s kids or Harry’s midlife crisis. While I would likely read those books at some point just to see if they were good, I would be in no hurry to get them on their date of publication. I don’t care what happens afterwards – I’m more interested in knowing the history of the Wizarding world. I want to know what occurred before Harry. I want to know what happened to make his world the way it is by the time he attends Hogwarts.

Therefore, I would love to read a prequel! Two possibilities immediately spring to my mind. Because my brain is fried, I cannot think of a catchy title so I’ll call the first one For The Greater Good because it’s about Albus and Gellert. According to the Harry Potter Wiki page for Dumbledore, he was born in the early 1880s so these books would probably begin sometime around the turn of the century. Ideally, they would cover far more years than the original series ever did. See, the difference between prequels and sequels for Harry Potter is that we don’t have an established history of what happened afterwards. I do know the history of what came before, though, and I know that I would enjoy reading about everything from Dumbledore’s later years at Hogwarts through to just before either Voldemort’s rise to power or the Potters’ deaths.

I want to know more about how difficult it was to live with Ariana. I want to read about Aberforth and his goats. I want to read about searching for and fighting over the Hallows; Rowling said that Dumbledore was in love with Grindelwald so that made it hard for him to give up the Hallows when he realized what Grindelwald was willing to do. I want to read about the Wizarding world circa World War II because it’s implied that Grindelwald was behind it – he was defeated in 1945. Basically, I want to read about Dumbledore changing from the young dude who thought he could take on the world to the man who realized that it was his duty to stop others from going too far with their power. Dumbledore’s character was developed a great deal more in the final book, but his story wasn’t explained as in much detail as I wanted.

As for my favorite prequel option, I would love to read about Harry’s parents and their generation. I’ll call this Marauder Era. Because there are concrete dates for these years, I’m going to say that these books would cover the years from 1969 to 1981. They could begin slightly before the kids attend Hogwarts (in order to give some background) and end when the Potters died.

Sirius, James, Snape, and Lily are each fascinating characters but I want Marauder Era for other reasons. Rowling needs to write more about Lupin because he is the Bestest Werewolf Ever and also my favorite character (and that’s not just in Harry Potter – it’s in probably all books). Peter Pettigrew deserves more pagetime as well. I think many people wrote him off as either a creepy guy or a pathetic follower – I want to know why. Why does he always need a leader, whether in the form of teenage pranksters to evil overlords? Finally, there needs to be more stories about Bellatrix, Andromeda, and Narcissa Black. As kids, were they nearly the same people they are as adults or did something happen that made them change?

For a while it seemed that J.K. Rowling wasn’t up to much, but lately she’s been in the news again for The Cuckoo’s Calling and a new movie. Two days ago, Rowling announced that she is writing a screenplay based on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Those sequels I dreamed of are a reality now, but not in the form I expected. I never considered her Harry Potter supplements like Fantastic Beasts, Quidditch Through the Ages, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard as options for films because I thought she would create new material. I’m excited for this new movie, though. First, it has made fans talk about other possible adaptations – Fantastic Beasts is apparently a series but I’m not sure if that book will be split into multiple films or whether each of her supplements gets a film – like Hogwarts, A History. Secondly, it’s to be set in nineteen-twenties America. Roaring twenties Wizarding world, ooh! As I wrote earlier, the history of Harry Potter intrigues me and there is so much new information Rowling can give us.

Which Harry Potter follow-up would you be most interested in – HP2.0, For The Greater Good, or Marauder Era? And what do you think about the upcoming Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them film?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Sequels

  1. Well, good post. I think you know my feelings on the subject– no more Harry Potter. But not for the reason you think. I dislike prequels, sequels to wrapped-up series’. It’s like adding an unnecessary sequel to a stand-alone, but worse. This was a seven-book series, for heaven’s sake. There’s enough material there to keep a fast reader going for a month. Yes, the world was well constructed, but ask yourself: was it well-constructed in that everything was awesome and every subplot should get its own novel, or was it well-constructed in that saying less about these histories and concepts makes them more interesting? Ask yourself, if they did make a prequel, or a sequel, would it add to the series or just explain all the gorillas in the phone booths she left along the way?

    This is my continual problem with adding to series’. The readers just want the same thing, but the same thing in a new book is just going to be boring. I suggest Rowling write new, original books in new, original worlds, pretending she’s Robert Galbraith if she likes, but publishing as herself. That’s the only way you fanatical readers are going to get what you want, whether you like it or not.

    I hope this didn’t sound too antagonistic. It’s a common problem for many authors, and it’s always sad to see an author succumb to the wishes of her fangirls. (No offense, again.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you. But let’s be honest, Liam, you just don’t want follow-up books because it’s HP. That’s fine – I mean, I disagree with you on that – but your reasons don’t make sense considering the other authors you like.

      First of all, you like Tolkien. His books (The Hobbit, LotR, LotR’s appendices, The Silmarillion, The Children of Hurin, etc) have subplot after subplot of history upon most history. I definitely don’t think that (were Rowling to write follow-ups) she should explore EVERY subplot but there are a few I adore and wish to read more about.

      Secondly, I don’t understand how you can say that Rick Riordan is your favorite YA author and then criticize Rowling for capitulating to the fanbase. Riordan is King Of The Adding To Series With Books In The Same World. :/

      • It’s not just because it’s HP. Personally, I think I would like Rowling if she just chose a different main character for a while.

        Tolkien didn’t explore every subplot of his. In fact, by writing the Silmarillion, he threw more subplots into the background than he described. Any one of those could have been another trilogy, but he didn’t write it.

        Now, I agree with you on Riordan. He’s getting a little out of hand with all this demigod stuff. However, each time he does something like this, he takes a new idea and builds upon that. With HoO, it was the Roman-Grecian antagonism, and that paved the way for the entire series. However, when he ran out of new stuff to do and simply built on old subplots (mentioning Hercules in the first few books then meeting him in Mark of Athena), it got really boring. Mark of Athena was an unnecessary sequel, it felt like, because half of it was useless.

        So perhaps if Rowling simply used the same world and made up an entirely new story, that would be fine. However, if she decides to publish a new series of “The Adventures of Hagrid and Buckbeak”, I don’t think I’ll go for it.

  2. Lydia says:

    I agree with you. I would rather read a prequel to the series than a sequel. The idea of a sequel almost bothers me, because the idea of “after” makes me sad for some reason.

    I’m really curious about her new film series. Should be interesting!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I prefer prequels becuase… well, I already gave the history reason earlier, but also because it’s stated what came before but not so much what happened later. I can make up what happens! And if there’s a sequel, it’s not QUITE as easy to do.

  3. Heather says:

    I think your idea for the Albus series would be amazing! And, it could be YA, or Adult, depending on how she chose to write it. I’ve seen Ally Carter write novellas to tie her stories together, and I think she could do a series of those too, mythologies of the dragons would be neat, and even some of the elf-lore.

  4. Oh, God. Can I say all of them? I mean, the Maraudering Era would be so cool, because you would get a glimpse of what life was like when Voldy was first reigning. Also, James and Sirius and Remus and Peter and Lily and Severus and everyone being all tiny little babies awww…

    I’d also really love a look at the wizarding world pre-Voldy. I mean, he certainly changed a lot of the wizarding world, custom-wise. Also, Grindlewald and Albus’s relationship is really, really interesting. And also I want more Ariana, Kendra, and young Aberforth. (ps. I want to know what JK mean by ‘inappropriate charming of goats’ so yeah)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh awwww so cutesy eensy-weensy little Voldy baby! *feels like puking from all the cuteness, especially since it’s directed at Voldemort*
      Anyway. Yes, yes, and yes. I want to read about villains who came before Voldemort! I’m sure there were some.
      As to the inappropriate charming of goats, there’s probably fanfiction for that. Apparently there’s fanfiction for everything… *cough* Blue’s Clues…

  5. Taylor Lynn says:

    I think I’m probably most interested in the Marauder’s Era. To be honest, the bits about Lily, James and their generation–plus the snippets of fanfic I’ve read about them, haha!–have made me rather nostalgic for those characters, and I’d seriously LOVE to read a saga about them and their adventures. On the other hand, a book about Dumbledore would certainly pique my interest as well… 😉

    As for the Fantastic Beasts movie, I’m very intrigued about the whole thing. For instance, I’m not exactly sure what the plot would be, since the book is an encyclopedia…? However, I will definitely be seeing the movie (assuming it makes it to theaters) because HELLO, Harry Potter! ;D (And the Roaring Twenties in the Wizarding World is just a RECIPE for AWESOME.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay! I applaud you for your excellent taste in sequels.

      Yeah, I don’t know either. I guess he’d just go around finding fantastic beasts, but every story needs a conflict and I’m not sure what this one would be. A particularly elusive creature? A Voldemort-ish villain? Another fantastic-beast-expert trying to steal his discoveries?

      • Taylor Lynn says:

        Thank you very much, dear. *takes a bow*

        I agree with you on the necessity of a conflict, and I’m curious to see where they go with that for the movie. All of your ideas sound plausible and they could probably do something pretty whimsical with the whole thing…kind of capture the lighthearted side of the Wizarding World that we all know is there. 🙂 We’ve already seen the growing darkness and rising evil and decisive battles with the Harry Potter series–now give us something that’s simply fun to watch! Ooh, it could be almost a documentary-type thing–for the documentary-lovers of the Wizarding World! Ideas, so many ideas… 😉

  6. Pingback: The Life & Times of Teddy Lupin Chapter 3 | FanFiction Fridays

  7. Pingback: The Life & Times of Teddy Lupin Chapter 2 | FanFiction Fridays

  8. Pingback: Ten Past Posts About “Harry Potter” + One About J.K. Rowling | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

