An Unexpected Blog Party

I didn’t mean to have two posts with such similar titles published back-to-back, but I can’t think of anything better to call this post. I was tickled to find a meme all about my favorite thing in the world – J.R.R. Tolkien’s books! The questions come from The Edge of the Precipice, where they are hosting a blog party complete with a link-up and giveaway in honor of Frodo and Bilbo’s birthdays.

1. Have you read The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit? If so, how many times?

Well, yes. Otherwise, I wouldn’t be taking part in this blog party! I’ve read The Hobbit, The Fellowship of the Ring, and The Two Towers once each and The Return of the King several times because it’s my favorite book ever.

2. Have you seen any movies based on them?

I have seen the first Hobbit movie once (on opening day!) and the trilogy several times. I don’t think I could ever tire of rewatching them. Everything about them is beautiful: the cinematography, the score, the scenery, the way the characters look as they should.

3. Who first introduced you to Middle Earth?

I’m not sure. My parents have multiple copies of The Hobbit and the trilogy but they aren’t fans – they haven’t read most of the books. I guess I can’t list myself here, so I’d have to say it was other bloggers. Miriam Joy, Charley R, and Liam post quite often about the series and that made me want to see what was so awesome about those books. It was fun to tell them, “Hey, I got up [insert chapter here] and it was awesome!” and then we’d discuss it.

4. Who are your three favorite characters? (Feel free to elaborate on why.)

  • Faramir is one of my favorite character from any book ever. He is very much like his father and brother (listed below) but he is more thoughtful. For example, he doesn’t like fighting for the sake of fighting. That saves him in the end – he’s the only one in the family who gets a happy ending.
  • Denethor is hated by much of the fandom but I can’t understand why. He fascinates me because – in the books – he is a truly gray character, morally-speaking. Denethor is equally split between good and evil. The movies show him as cruel instead of the insane, sad guy that he really is.
  • Boromir is another gray character. I wish I’d written him because he has a fantastic character arc.

5. What’s your favorite Middle Earth location?

I want to visit Minas Tirith more than any other place, real or fictional. It’s gorgeous. Who wouldn’t love a city built into the side of a mountain?

As you can tell from my answer to this question and the one before it, I am in love with Gondor.

6. If you could belong to one of the races of Free Folk (Men, Elves, Dwarves, Hobbits, Ents), which would you choose?

Oh, I don’t know. Men or hobbits. Gondor and Rohan are neat places but I also think I’d like the peaceful life of a hobbit. And their little houses.

7. Would you rather eat lembas or taters?

Although I loooooove potatoes in any form, taters are just taters. I’d rather have lembas, which I imagine to be a flaky pastry shaped kind of like a Pop-Tart and filled with creamy lemon pudding. A quick Internet search showed me that lembas isn’t like that at all but I don’t care. You’re supposed to be able to live on them for weeks and I would glad eat lemony pastry for that long.

8. If you lived in Middle Earth, what weapon would you prefer wielding?

If I were any good at archery I’d choose a bow and arrow but I’m not, so I’d use a sword. I think swinging it around and whacking things would be a great stress reliever! That said, if I had to actually use one in battle it would make me feel sick because I hate to see blood.

9. What draws you to Tolkien’s stories (the characters, the quests, the themes, the worlds, etc)?

Of course I love the characters, quests, themes, and worlds. But more than anything, I love Tolkien’s stories because they give me a sense of wonder. I don’t love their world so much as I love the scope of it. Epic is an often-misused word, but Middle-earth is truly epic. Tolkien’s stories give me the same feeling of awe that I got when my parents read Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia, and other fantasy stories aloud to me when I was little. I like feeling that way again.

10. List up to five of your favorite lines/quotes from the books or movies.

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end… because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing… this shadow. Even darkness must pass.”

Samwise Gamgee, The Two Towers

“All at once there came a blood-curdling shriek, filled with hatred and despair. Gollum was defeated. He dared go no further. He had lost: lost his prey, and lost, too, the only thing he ever cared for, his precious. The cry brought Bilbo’s heart to his mouth, but still he held on. Now faint as an echo, but menacing, the voice came behind: ‘Thief, thief, thief! Baggins! We hates it, we hates it, we hates it for ever!”

The Hobbit

“He is not as other men of this time…by some chance the blood of Westernesse runs nearly true in him, as it does in his other son, Faramir, and yet did not in Boromir. He has long sight. He can perceive, if he bends his will thither, much of what is passing in the minds of men, even of those that dwell far off. It is difficult to deceive him, and dangerous to try.”

– Gandalf on Denethor, The Return of the King

“Riddles were all he could think of. Asking them, and sometimes guessing them, had been the only game he had ever played with other funny creatures sitting in their holes in the long, long ago, before he lost all his friends and was driven away, alone, and crept down, down into the dark under the mountains.”

The Hobbit on Gollum

“And she answered: ‘All your words are but to say: you are a woman, and your part is in the house. But when the men have died in battle and honor, you have leave to be burned in the house, for the men will need it no more. But I am of the House of Eorl and not a serving-woman. I can ride and wield blade, and I do not fear either pain or death.’

‘What do you fear, lady?’ he asked.

‘A cage,’ she said. “To stay behind bars, until use and old age accept them, and all chance of doing great deeds is gone beyond recall or desire.'”

– Éowyn and Aragorn, The Return of the King

What is your opinion of Tolkien’s books?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Unexpected Blog Party

  1. I love pretty much any quote from The Lord of the Rings because they’re all so good! 😀 I wish I’d thought of them first, but that’s how I feel with every amazing book I read (sigh).

  2. I love Tolkien’s works, especially The Hobbit, but I do think he’s got a small problem; he focuses too much on the details. He spends a lot of time describing the environment, backstories, and smaller things in genera, and though some people like that he takes so much time to form a real world, it’s kind of wordy for me. But yeah, Bilbo rocks!

  3. Hamlette says:

    Ohhhh, Boromir. Grey and conflicted and wonderful Boromir. It’s always nice to meet someone else who appreciates him 🙂

    And thanks for joining the party!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

