Third Time’s A Charm

Change over time may be observed in a number of ways. Obvious examples include birthdays and anniversaries. To me, though, writing is the best method by which to see how far I’ve come.

Three years ago today, I began writing Musings From Neville’s Navel.

(Hey, wait, I started my blog on 10/10/10? That’s cool.)

I don’t often look at my past posts but when I do, it’s always diverting. Reading my old posts shows me what I was like at a given time – how I wrote, what I was thinking about, what I enjoyed. It’s fascinating to see how I’ve changed.

When I began this blog in October 2010, I was still very much in my let’s-use-lots-of-exclamation-points-and-emoticons phase. I didn’t write long thinky posts analyzing my favorite fandoms, let alone serious stuff about my life. I love my blog’s title because it’s nonsensical but at first I took it more seriously – pretty much all I wrote were musings about Neville and, occasionally, his navel. Wow, I haven’t even mentioned Neville in ages. I can’t even remember the last time I wrote a post centered on him. Over a year ago, maybe?

I moved on to other things. I discovered that I loved blogging about books, especially Harry Potter. Now I’ve moved past that too. (Mostly. I can’t just forget the books I grew up with.) Book posts, and fandom posts in general, are often my favorite to reread here because they’re such good records of my thoughts. I can’t remember everything, after all, and I love alternately cringing and giggling over my remarks that I’d long forgotten. I mean, I have posts where I despair over ever being able to finish Lord of the Rings and now I have exactly forty posts tagged under that title. Funny how that happens.

When I started blogging, it was agonizing to write posts longer than three hundred words. Now I find it almost impossible to post anything shorter than that. When I started blogging, I worried about college because it was approaching so quickly. Now I still worry a bit, but I’ve also take several classes written posts about realizing that if one works hard, college assignments aren’t really that difficult. (Getting accepted by my ideal college, however, still freaks me out.) When I started blogging, I was like “Coming out? Me? Ha ha ha no never”. Now I can finally write posts about LGBTQ+ stuff without feeling awkward. When I started blogging, I didn’t yet know what I wanted to do with my life. Now I know that I want to devote my time to writing, that I want to be an author.

I’m still not the greatest at transitions between subjects, though. (I mean, just look at this following bit.) I didn’t want this post to be completely serious so let’s move on. Here is a list of what I consider my top ten posts, along with some thoughts on them. They represent my best work for a variety of reasons – they’ve had a lot of views and comments, I worked hard on them, I just plain like them. Oh, and they’re in no particular order.

Of course, that list doesn’t even include my absolute favorite post! I had so much fun writing The Rights Of Wrong as a guest post for This Page Intentionally Left Blank, plus it led to the creation of the Good-Sinful Alliance.

And now it’s time for Silly Songs With Larry, the part of the show where Larry comes out and sings a silly song thank-yous. I would like to thank all my readers. You know who you are and you’re awesome, all of you. Thanks for following and/or commenting. Even if you don’t follow or comment and just lurk, thanks. And I won’t bite, so don’t worry – go ahead and comment, I’ll be delighted.

I love looking at any of my past writing – not just what’s on my blog – even if I sometimes shake my head and wonder why I wrote that. It shows my changes, big and small, so well. My writing is such a good record of me.

Whether you’ve been reading Musings From Neville’s Navel from the very beginning or only recently found it, what has been your favorite part?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Third Time’s A Charm

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I like “Gaaaaaay” as a summary. Apt.
    I don’t comment as often as I should … typing is really freaking painful and using Dragon just for a comment seems spectacularly pointless. But I’m here. I read your posts by email. 🙂

  2. My favorite part was definitely your guest post for my blog, as well as the part where you start quoting Veggietales… Oh, is that this post? Hey, what do you know.

    But really, you’ve had some spectacular posts on here. I haven’t been around all the time, nor complimentary, but honestly, you’re a great blogger and I’m glad you’ve progressed from that exclamation-point-emoticon faze. Here’s to another few years before we have to go to college.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

