A “To Be Read” Alphabet

IMG_0052_zpsc86d3992The Book Chewers’ latest prompt is,

“Remember Cait’s ABC Challenge? Today we’re doing the alphabet again. List twenty-six books on your TBR (to be read) list, from A to Z.”

My list is always ridiculously huge. I love talking about books and it seems like every time I discuss them with someone, I end up with at least three more recommendations.

A – American Gods by Neil Gaiman
B – Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
C – Cinder by Marissa Meyer
D – Danny, The Champion of the World by Roald Dahl
E – Eva by Peter Dickinson
F – Fairest by Gail Carson Levine
G – Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
H – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I – I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith
J – Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson
K – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
L – Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
M – The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
N – Night by Elie Wiesel
O – On Writing by Stephen King
P – Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince) by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Q – A Queer and Pleasant Danger by Kate Bornstein
R – Russian Roulette by Anthony Horowitz
S – The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
T – The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
U – Unwind by Neal Shusterman
V – V For Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd
W – Watership Down by Richard Adams
X – Far From Xanudu by Julie Anne Peters
Y – You Come Too: Favorite Poems for Readers of All Ages by Robert Frost
Z – Z For Zachariah by Robert C. O’Brien

Not bad, methinks. OK, that may have been an understatement – I found one for every letter. Except X, but I only cheated a little bit.

By the time this is posted, I’ll be on fall break (yippee!) and probably won’t be online very much (darn!) because of Enforced Family Time. On the plus side, though, I hope to get lots of reading done! There are at least five books I’m really excited about, like How To Lead a Life of Crime and Defy the Dark. I might even review some of them – I haven’t done that in a while.

Have you read anything from my “to be read” list? What’s on yours?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A “To Be Read” Alphabet

  1. Lydia says:

    Fabulous list. I Capture the Castle is one of my favorites.

  2. You need to read The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy. Definitely. Yes.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

