I Never Noticed That Until Now

The other day, I was daydreaming about fairy tales instead of doing my schoolwork. Hey, life is short. And should not be wasted with math homework.

Anyway. It dawned on me that the story didn’t make sense. Why had I not seen that sooner?

The fairy tale in question was “Cinderella,” one of the primary stories I’m writing about this month for NaNoWriMo. I’ll recap it quickly for anyone who somehow forgot this staple of little-kid life: Cinderella is treated like a house slave by her evil stepmother and stepsisters, but one day her fairy godmother appears to give her beautiful clothes and stuff so she can go to the ball and meet the prince. Leaving the ball, Cinderella loses a shoe and the prince (who is enamored of her) goes all throughout his kingdom fitting the lost shoe on any women he can find.

That doesn’t really make sense, does it? If the prince met another charming woman whilst on his shoe-fitting journeys, would he marry her or ignore her because her feet aren’t right? Is Cinderella really the only one in the kingdom with feet that size? Why does he equate love with shoe size?

This story could give small children very strange ideas on How To Choose A Life Partner.

The oddness isn’t limited to fairy tales, though. Later, I was thinking about the merits of various couples in the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series when I realized something strange.

Annabeth & Percy, Thalia & Luke, Percy & Nico, et cetera – all are demigods, which means they have one parent who is a Greek god or goddess. So they’re related. They’re cousins.

Then why are they dating?

Finally, Harry Potter. Ron has a pet rat named Scabbers. In the third book, Scabbers is revealed to be escaped Death Eater Peter Pettigrew hiding as an Animagus. Ron’s twin brothers, Gred and Forge, have the Marauders’ Map (which, incidentally, Pettigrew had a hand in creating) and it allows them to see the location of anyone in Hogwarts.

One would think they’d have noticed a little dot marked “Peter Pettigrew” . Major Authorial Mistake there, Jo.

I could go on and on. In fact, I think I will:

  • When Sam said “And I’m coming with you!” after Frodo told him he must go to Mordor alone and Frodo agreed to that, were they both really stupid?
  • When Ned told Cersei – one of his greatest enemies – that he knew what she was up to, was he trying to get stabbed in the back, or what?
  • Why can’t Narnians leave Narnia, but the Pevensies can?
  • What’s the point of putting River Song in prison when the Doctor TARDISes into her cell every night and smuggles her out?

What other nonsensical things have you noticed in stories?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Never Noticed That Until Now

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I think there’s a reason for the Narnia thing but I’ve forgotten what it was. I’ll let you know if I remember. (Also, doesn’t Caspian leave it? Or is he dead when that happens? I forget.)

    As for Harry Potter, I think Fred and George did notice, and were just way too tactful to ask Ron why there was a guy called Peter sleeping in his bed for two years.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I thought there was too, but didn’t bother to check. I suspect the reason is “because Aslan said so” anyway.
      I don’t think Caspian leaves – but the Telormenes (sp?) do in Prince Caspian (the book, not the person).

      I’ve heard that explanation. 😀 Hey, it’s possible. It seems weird that they wouldn’t have investigated, though. They’re always into everything.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ah. OK. I don’t remember much at all from the final two books. I didn’t like them and haven’t read them since. The only thing I really know is about the train accident…

  2. orphu44 says:

    I think it says somewhere in the Percy Jackson books that godly DNA works differently, so you’re only /really/ related to someone who’s from your own cabin. Which seemed like a bit of an afterthought, but there you go.
    And Fred and George aren’t the only ones who should have noticed something. How did Harry not notice that Peter Pettigrew was in his dorm/accompanying his best friend when he looked at it? (I know Harry had it for a far shorter time than the twins, but still. It was HIS dorm.)
    And I’ve got so many scads of little glitches like that, I could fill a blog post.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *crosses arms* It seems like Riordan went, “OH WHOOPS INCEST IS KIND OF CREEPY FOR A MIDDLE-GRADE BOOK LEMME CHANGE THAT.” 😛

      I wonder if anyone’s asked Rowling. If she has an explanation. I mean, yeah, Harry’s not always the most observant guy, but he’s not that stupid either. And there’s Gred and Forge.

      I had to stop my post at some point, ’cause Doctor Who is basically one big “what the heck?”

  3. matttblack42 says:

    About the Percy Jackson series: I remember Percy explaining that greek gods didn’t have DNA, so that made it okay, I guess (I don’t completely remember what he said).

    And about Ron’s pet Scabbers, I remember seeing a meme online pointing the same thing out: http://static.fjcdn.com/pictures/Good+guys+Fred+And+George.+I+REGRET+NOTHING_076934_3528414.jpg

    • nevillegirl says:

      *raises eyebrows* Meh. I think that’s a ridiculous explanation. (I’m not being mad at you for telling me so… it’s just like really, Riordan?)

      Haha, yes, I’ve seen that too.

      • Erin says:

        I think the whole thing with Percy Jackson was that the demigods, despite being cousins, are so distantly related that it’s okay to date and whatnot. It’s similar to the relationships in the Fruits Basket manga (don’t know if you’ve read those or not…). I might be wrong though.

    • nevillegirl says:

      @Erin: I’ve never read Fruits Basket, but I’ve heard it’s good. What’s it about?

  4. Twelve and Four Left Behind says:

    The things that really bothered me with Cinderella was that – if the shoe fit perfectly, then why did it fall off in the first place? Just had to point it out.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

