NaNoWriMo 2013: One Cannot Live On Writing Alone

When not masquerading as A Writer Who Actually Knows What She Is Doing, I have many other responsibilities. Here are some of the things I’m currently doing that keep me from my beloved writing:

  • Homeschooling. My most important schoolwork is done at/for college now, but I still have math and American history. I have to say that at this point, I like math better than history because the former doesn’t require nearly as much reading. I love reading, but it takes a long time to read a chapter in my history book because there’s so much information.
  • College. In English, I have three major papers (with a short one at the end), plenty of short-reponse essays online, and out-of-class reading. In chemistry, every week I have to do homework problems, write a prelab for the coming experiment, and finish the lab report for the previous one. Oh, and then there’s the lab session itself, which takes up most of my Thursday afternoons. It’s crazily busy, but I wouldn’t change it for anything. While I’ll likely drop down to one college class next semester, I’m glad for the experience of this one. It’s taught me that I need to work on time-management. I’m also more grateful for homeschooling because it’s so much more flexible than college. 
  • Working at a restaurant. OK, so it’s only one day a week and because I make lunch stuff, I don’t even have to be social like the waitresses do. But it’s still tiring and I come home every Sunday smelling like food. Ick. I need to look into getting a job at a bookstore.
  • 4-H. Even in the “off-season” when I’m not frantically finishing my gazillion and one projects, I’m still busy with this club – and now even more so. This summer, I was elected president of my club so I have to attend meetings every other month with the other officers, as well as the normal monthly club meetings. (I have one tonight. Ugh, responsibility!) I’m also a council representative for Junior Leaders, so I go to council meetings and inform the adult leaders what we’ve been working on lately. That’s in addition to monthly JL meetings and monthly planning sessions. I’m happy to be doing all this during my junior year because next year there probably won’t be time to hold an office in both clubs, or even in one. 

That’s basically it right now. I shudder to think how busy I would be if I were also playing sports, taking music lessons, doing college improv, et cetera. Although I only listed four things and that may not seem like much, the hours spent on them really add up over time and I need to put those activities before my writing.

Basically, this is an excuse for any times when I fall behind on my wordcount.

Are you finding it difficult to balance NaNoing with the rest of your life? And what’s happening in your novel so far?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2013: One Cannot Live On Writing Alone

  1. Boquinha says:

    Are you finding it difficult to balance NaNoing with the rest of your life?

    YES! And I’m trying to not get discouraged about it. :/

    • nevillegirl says:

      Indeed. 🙂 I’m doing so much more now, schoolwork-wise, than I did during my first NaNo. But knowing that I’ve won before (and with higher wordcount goals! :D) makes it a little easier.

      *pats* I hope you finish!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

