Marry, Kiss, Cliff

I hereby declare November fifteenth to be International Nevillegirl-Doesn’t-Write-A-Serious-Post Day and as such, I will take part in this meme found at The Little Engine That Couldn’t. It’s called “Marry, Kiss, Cliff” – maybe you’ve heard of it before? I’ve played it before as “Marry, Kiss, Kill” so I suppose this is the slightly less gruesomely named version.

Rules of Awesomeness

  • Link back to the person who tagged you.
  • Take three books, pick three main characters of the gender(s) you’re attracted to, and decide which one you’d rather kiss, which one you’d rather marry, and which one you’d rather throw off a cliff. (Aren’t we bookworms lovely people?)
  • Tag a couple of other people to join in.

Onwards, book lovers!

RO_Return[1]

This is my favorite book and it has exactly three female characters. (Not counting Rosie Cotton, which I don’t – she’s not much more than a name.) So I don’t have much choice in the first place.

Marry: …oh drat, this is hard. Éowyn, I guess. I’d get to kiss her if we were married, right? She’s certainly snogworthy. (I’m sorry, that sounded weird.) She’s smart, brave, loyal, et cetera and she kicks butt with a sword. Also, she is no man and that is perfect for me. What more could I ask for?

Kiss: Galadriel? I guess? She’s pretty. Her intelligence and power are cool, but I’d be afraid to marry her. I’d keep worrying that she’d suspect me of having the One Ring, and she’d get angry and spew green light like she did with Frodo.

Cliff: Well, duh. Arwen. I actually don’t have anything against her – I get irritated by the portion of the fandom that disses her for being pretty and smooching Aragorn – but she’s the only one left. Bye, Arwen!

AGAMEOFTHRONESnewHC[1]

This was picked at random from my humongous stack of library books. To select characters I closed my eyes and flipped to various chapters, choosing whoever narrated it. I ended up with Daenerys, Arya, and Catelyn.

Marry: Arya. Definitely Arya. Not now – she’s, like, at most twelve in the latest book of this series – but yeah. She’s like Éowyn, only better. We could rule the Seven Kingdoms together. It would be awesome.

Kiss: Daenerys, because she’s hot but rather violent so I’d worry about being in a long-term relationship with her.

Cliff: As with Arwen, I don’t have a problem with Catelyn. (Why do I keep choosing character from these two books for such similar reasons? I’m going to go pick something that isn’t high fantasy now.)

kiki[1]I looked at my Shelf Of Favorite Books and what I actually picked was James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl but to get enough female characters you have to count the Glowworm, so yeah. I picked again. This book, and in fact the entire series, is the opposite – it has no main/secondary male characters because it’s about delinquent Girl Scouts running around New York City and kicking butt. The three girls most important to the story are Ananka, Kiki, and Oona.

Marry: Oona, because I’ve had a crush on her since I was about thirteen. I’m hopeless. Fiction is so much better than the real world, isn’t it?

Kiss: Kiki, because she’s adorable but I’m not quite as interested in her as I am in Oona. Possibly because Oona is more sarcastic and I want someone who makes me laugh.

Cliff: I think I should like Ananka more because she narrates the books, but she’s a bit dull. Actually, that’s kind of the point – she’s the only ordinary one in the group.

Now, I know the rules said to tag people but I’m not going to. I follow/have as followers a lot of queer bloggers and I don’t want to make anyone feel like they have to answer these if they’d rather not talk about it yet, so I’m going to make this an open-tag-thing. If you want to join, ta-da! You’ve been tagged! Go forth and hurl characters off cliffs!

P.S. Leave me names of three female characters (from books / movies / TV shows) in the comments and I’ll choose between them!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Marry, Kiss, Cliff

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    See, I’m tempted to do this but I’m not even 100% sure which gender I’d choose to write about and that would be far too much stress to decide that. I think I’d probably throw Galadriel off the cliff, btw. Not sure why. I just like Arwen better; her and Aragorn’s story in the Appendices is really cute.

  2. Artgirl says:

    Martha Jones, Rose Tyler, and Amy Pond.

  3. This was so much fun to read! 😀 Though I probably won’t be participating (kind of weird for me, since I haven’t thought about real life people I’d kiss or marry) I’m happy to present you with three characters for you to choose from! 😀 (Ta-da)!:

    Hermione
    Luna
    Ginny

    (Hope you’ve watched “The Big Bang Theory”):

    Penny
    Bernadette
    Amy

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks on both counts!

      Hmmm. This is hard, because I’m not really attracted to anyone in HP. It’s like, they’re nice as characters and we’d probably get along well as friends but we’d drive each other insane if we dated.
      Marry – Hermione
      Kiss – Ginny
      Cliff – Luna

      *thinks* Honestly, I’d Cliff all three, but…
      Marry – ????????????????? I was going to put Penny because Bernadette and Amy irritate me so much. But Penny would drive me crazy. Hmm. I guess Penny.
      Kiss – No.
      Cliff – Amy and Bernadette. 😛

  4. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, this is nice. I’m conflicted about doing it myself, so I’ll content myself with playing the game with the books you did/characters you’re given.
    And in the meantime, let’s see …
    Violet
    Miriam
    Cecily

    (Probably ridiculously predictable to choose AMoG, but if I start thinking about this too much I’ll never be able to pick characters from a single book.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *sighs* Why must you hurt me in this way? They’re all lovely ladies. Hmm, let’s see…
      Marry – MIRIAM. 😀
      Kiss – Uh, uh- yes, let’s do both. Violet and Cecily. But not simultaneously and at the same time.
      Cliff – I’m pretending this option doesn’t exist. Pfft.

      • orphu44 says:

        Pfft. Cliff option? What cliff option?
        This is another instance in which Skulduggery knowledge would come in handy, because I think Tanith, Valkyrie, and China would be a good one…
        All right, how about Foxface, Katniss, and … Clove, instead?

        • Bookworm445 says:

          Marry – Tanith
          Kiss – Valkyrie/Stephanie depending on what you call her
          Cliff – China no question….

    • nevillegirl says:

      What’s the first Skulduggery book called? Or is it just “Skulduggery”? And is it even a series or am I just being weird?

      *ponders*
      Marry – FOXFACE!
      Kiss – Ergh. Katniss and Clove are about equal in prettiness. Katniss?
      Cliff – Clove.

      • orphu44 says:

        The copy that I first read was called ‘Skulduggery Pleasant,’ but I think its name has since been changed to differentiate it from the series at large (yes, it is indeed a series). I think it’s now called ‘Sceptre of the Ancients.’
        All right, let’s see …
        Deryn
        Dr. Barlowe
        Lilit

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK. (And for a second there, I was confused and thought we were talking about Ilium. Too many books!)

      Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay I like that book!
      Marry – Deryn. 🙂
      Kiss – Lilit.
      Cliff – Dr. Barlowe.

      • orphu44 says:

        (You thought Leviathan was Ilium, or you thought Skulduggery was Ilium?)
        All right, I’ll try to make this one the last … hmm … Holly Short, Minerva Paradizo, and Opal Koboi? (Wow, so many of these books seem to have only about three female characters to choose from.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      (I thought Skulduggery was Ilium. You’re so enthusiastic about both. :D)

      Marry – Holly Short. ❤
      Kiss – Minerva Paradizo. (I am not actually sure who she is, but seeing as my other choice is Opal…)
      Cliff – Opal Koboi.

      • orphu44 says:

        Pfft, fair enough. They’re my tiny-fandom loves. (“Tiny” being pretty much a euphemism for “nonexistent” in Ilium’s case.)
        Minerva Paradizo is a genius child who discovers fairies and almost defeats Artemis when she’s only twelve. (I’m imagining this being later in her life, though – much like Arya. Though technically Minerva’s about sixteen by the end of The Lost Colony.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Rather like AMoG, then? xD

      OK. I don’t remember The Lost Colony too well, I didn’t like it.

  5. MOHE says:

    *smirks* Cam, Corey, and Lindsey. I have guesses as to who you’ll choose, but we’ll see.

  6. Awesome!

    One question, how do I tag people?

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2013 – Music, Maggie Stiefvater, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  8. matttblack42 says:

    Now that I’m halfway through A Clash of Kings (which I love even more than the first one, thanks to the increased amount of Tyrion and Arya chapters) I finally feel like I know the characters enough the decide which ones I’d like to throw off a cliff.

    Marry: I’d go with Catelyn, who seems to be the most stable out of all the adult female characters. I sure hope she doesn’t die in the third book or anything.

    Kiss: Daenerys. Apart from burning that maegi alive, she hasn’t been that violent yet. But I’m afraid her dragons are going to end up killing me if I stay with her too long.

    Cliff: Cersei. There’s no point in marrying her if she’s just going to cheat on me with her brother, and kissing her might make Jaime jealous, which won’t end well for me.

    Now, for you, I choose (and i know this is cheating):

    Amy Pond,
    Opal Kaboi.
    Clove.

    I went through the comments and picked all the girls you chose to throw off a cliff that I knew of. Enjoy.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

