NaNoWriMo 2013: My Soundtrack

Hello, hello. I meant to review Catching Fire today and talk about, among other things, its film score. Then I realized that the score won’t be released until the 25th, so I shall have to wait.

Instead, I’m writing about my NaNoWriMo soundtrack. I haven’t done a post like this in ages – since around this time last year, in fact. Each NaNoWriMo, I like to talk about what music I’ve been listening to as I write, simply because it’s fun. So here it is!

“This Is Gallifrey” / “Doomsday” from Doctor Who At The Proms 2008 – Murray Gold

Doctor Who has wonderful music in the first place, but the Proms arrangements are often even better than the originals. I mean, they put electric guitars in “This Is Gallifrey” – and it works, somehow. And this performance of “Doomsday” is even better than the one from the episode of the same name. It’s lovely music for writing sad scenes.

“The Name of the Doctor” (suite) from Doctor Who At The Proms 2013 – Murray Gold

I don’t know how I didn’t notice the music from the series seven finale, because this just might be my favorite arrangement from the 2013 Proms. It’s very episodic but I don’t mind because they stuffed so many great little pieces into one that it becomes a gigantic ball of musical awesomeness.

“Main Theme” from Torchwood – Ben Foster and Murray Gold

I can’t listen to this one too frequently or it gives me a headache (too much electronic stuff?), but it’s nice for short spurts – fast music makes me write quickly.

“Many Meetings” from The Fellowship of the Ring – Howard Shore

This song, especially the beginning, is like falling into a dream. Perfect for writing fantasy.

“Main Theme” from Doctor Who At The Proms 2013 – Ron Grainer and Murray Gold

I’m sorry, I really am! I promise there will be no more Doctor Who music in this post. Like I said, I just really like the Proms arrangements and this one is much more orchestral than usual.

“Muttations” from The Hunger Games – James Newton Howard

Ooh, this one I love for the same reason as the Torchwood theme. It’s exhilarating, so I write frantically. It works really well in the film, too – I think it made that scene so much more terrifying.

“Forbidden Friendship” from How To Train Your Dragon – John Powell

If you can find a song that more perfectly embodies the fantasy genre, I’ll give you lots of money. (Not really, because I don’t have any. Evidently I have a habit of lying, though.) It has quiet, thinky parts and look-at-me majestic parts and sounds so happy all the way through. I should watch this movie again. Who cares if I’m not a little kid?

“Flame Turns Blue” – David Gray

Come closer and I’ll whisper a secret in your ear: Sometimes I listen to things that are not film scores. Shh, don’t tell anyone! Anyway. I love listening to David Gray because sometimes I start to miss lyrics, but I still want something mellow.

What do you think of my selections? And what have you listened to so far during NaNoWriMo?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2013: My Soundtrack

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I like your selections, particularly The Name of the Doctor, although my favorite Doctor Who tracks all seem to be from the series 6 opener. (I See You Silence, The Majestic Tale (of a Madman in a Box), The Day of the Moon.)

    My writing soundtrack started off as mostly The Dark Knight, then Inception, then Doctor Who. Now I mostly listen to Adagio (D minor), The Game of Thrones theme, and the Dark Knight Rises.

    • nevillegirl says:

      The Majestic Tale is from the beginning? I thought it was towards the end. Hmmm.
      I love “1969” and “I Am The Doctor In Utah” too. 🙂

      Ooh, The Dark Knight. Lovely, lovely music. I haven’t really listened to The Dark Knight Rises, though, probably because I haven’t seen the movie yet.

      • matttblack42 says:

        The majestic tale played near the end of Day of the Moon where the video of the Silent saying “You should kill us all on sight” was inserted into the moon landing clip. It was used a bunch if other times after that though, like when Clara first entered the Tardis in The Snowmen.

    • nevillegirl says:

      OK, for some reason I thought it played during “The Wedding of River Song.” It seemed like a triumphant whee-look-we-saved-the-day song. *should watch the beginning of series six again because it was good*

      Yep! I like picking out all the times they use my favorite themes, plus I saw “The Snowmen” just the other day again because I really like Vastra and Jenny… also the memory worm. xD

  2. Alise (Readers in Wonderland) says:

    Ooh, thanks for sharing. This is the one year I decided not to do nanawrimo but I am always looking for inspiration, and I use music to do that 🙂 Love many meetings!

  3. Pingback: Saturday Songs – November 30, 2013 | My Two Cents

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

